We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,052)
Filter reviews
1,052 results
Traveller rating
540
370
86
30
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
540
370
86
30
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen upper east side subway construction one bedroom apartment sinai hospital living room second avenue central park new york washer and dryer museum mile great apartment laundry facilities home away from home front desk staff higher floor the upper floors
Filter
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 1,052 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2011

If you desire space and a home-like feel, come to the Marmara! We stayed in Room 405--a one bedroom suite--for two nights in early December 2011. Although raining the entire time, the suite was bright and clean. There is one full bath in the bedroom and a convenient half-bath in the foyer. Shampoo, conditioner and other bath accessories were abundant. A hairdryer is stashed under the master bath sink. I was pleased with the white kitchen and all utensils/appliances one would need to cook. The coffee maker was welcome, as was the complimentary coffee and tea. The comfortable living room had a large flat-screen tv (Turkish station offered!), a desk, wi-fi, and dining area off to the side aided by a pass-through from the kitchen. The temperature is not themostatically controlled, but the manual switch is easy to use. With a lot of square footage and creature comforts, it truly felt like home. Because it's a suite hotel, it does not offer the usual hotel amenities like a restaurant or porter service. But the lobby staff are personable and helpful. The center lobby table offers guests free NY Times daily and other local magazines and guides. Stepping outside the hotel, SOMEDAY the new subway construction will offer quick rides downtown. However, the present subway stop is not far away (I took #6 Lex & 96th St). There are restaurants, delis, and a great drug store in the hotel vicinity and a good bakery where I ate breakfasts. A suite hotel is the perfect place to order in (especially when tired or inclement weather) and Chef Ho's delivers it's good Peking duck. The suite was very quiet, although we were there in rain with subway construction halted. I will stay here again. What the Marmara Manhattan affords is a break from the intense city frenzy--allowing one to recoup and start fresh the next day--at a very reasonable price. Value for money. Yes, I'd recommend it to a friend!

Room Tip: Room 405 is bright and clean. A comfortable double bed with good pillows.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishHWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Dear TrishHWashington_DC,

We would like to thank you sincerely for taking the time to write a review about your stay. The feedback provided by our guests is highly important for us. We believe that it is the best way to better our service and fully understand your needs. We are looking forward to hosting you during your upcoming stay.

Happy Holidays,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

The Marmara was a disappointment for us... the list of pros and cons is very lopped sided with the cons far outweighing the pros. We stayed there in a suite on the 17th floor in the first week of December 2011 during the new subway construction right out our window. For starters our room was NOT clean as it should be... there were crumbs all on the kitchen bench and the previous vacationers hair on the sheets and in the bathroom. The entire hotel could do with a spruce up and good clean in order to gain the appropriate title of 'luxury'. About the only thing going for this place is the space in the rooms, but they are not the type of rooms you want to spend time in and certainly didn't look like the pictures.
I wouldn't stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanniC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear DanniC84,

We believe that the guest reviews are the most accurate assessment of our services and accommodations therefore we sincerely appreciate your feedback. We would have hoped that you mentioned your concerns regarding your suite and asked for assistance. As guest satisfaction is extremely important, we would have had the chance to address it immediately and provide you with a more pleasurable stay. We hope that you return to The Marmara Manhattan and give us a second chance as your experience does not reflect our standards.

Happy Holidays,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Satyed here for a week at the beginning of November. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, which was much appreciated after a long flight from Ireland. The 1 bedroom suite was fantastic and very spacious. Free wifi and the coffee welcome pack were a nice addition too! Location is pretty good - $10.00 from Times Square in a taxi, and about 10mins to the nearest subway. Nice restaurants, supermarkets and bars are all within 2 minutes walk. Yes, there is ongoing construction work outside, but this did not cause any inconvenience to us. We actually stayed an extra day in New York, but couldn't get another night at the Marmara. Splashed out on a night at the Hilton Hotel, and was not as impressed with their rooms in comparisson!! I will definitely be coming back, and would definitely recommend the Marmara Manhattan to anyone visiting New York .

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Thomtee,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. We are very happy to hear that The Marmara Manhattan was what you were looking for. We are hoping to welcome you again in the near future.

Happy Holidays,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We just got back from a 10 day holiday in New York City. It was our first time staying in the Marmara Manhattan. Being used to luxery hotels in Midtown, but always with tiny rooms - we were thrilled to have a huge 1 bedroom apartment. We had a lovely view, the subway construction noise was not annoying at all. The stuff was always friendly and very helpfull. The walk to the subway was pleasant - and once they finish the works, it will be even easier to get into the subway.
We were very happy with our stay and would definitely choose The Marmara Manhatten on our next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cameliasagisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Dear cameliasagisman,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at The Marmara Manhattan. We truly aspire to provide a "home-away-from-home" experience for our guests. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Happy Holidays,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We spent 5 nights at the Marmara Manhattan, and it was a really good experience. The rooms were lovely, tastefully decorated and have everything we could possibly need to make our stay comfortable! I kept commenting to my boyfriend that it felt like we were real New Yorkers instead of staying at a hotel! We thought we were going to be quite far away from all the main attractions being on 94th street but it was a 5-10 minute walk to the subway station on 96th and from there it was easy to get to places!
We had a lovely room with a very comfy bed, a good bathroom and living area with sofas and arm chairs, as well as a big TV! The kitchen was brilliant with a fridge/freezer, stove, microwave and dishwasher, and it was good to be able to stock up on a few essentials and have somewhere to store them.
The staff were very friendly and efficient and so helpful, we couldn't get our wi-fi working and they sent somebody up to our room right away to look at it and solve the problem!
All in all we were extremely happy with our stay at this hotel and will hopefully make a return trip in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Dear Hannah M,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay. It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time whilst staying with us. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Happy Holidays,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews