We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Marmara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marmara Manhattan
Ranked #160 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This was the second time we have stayed at the Marmara and it was as clean and friendly and convenient as the first time. The views are great and the apartment is very clean, bright and spacious with all the basics. . THe beds are very comfortable - as are the pillows. We had our 1 year old and they provided a crib with VERY clean bedding - and the doorman was so helpful and patient helping us unload and load all our gear in and out of the car when we arrived and left. The front desk staff are always friendly and the location is convenient for doing things on the upper east side. It is a great value, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear moac4,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. It especially makes us happy to hear that we got a chance to host you again! Our entire team is always working towards ensuring that all of guests feel at home and that they have everything they need to make their stay more pleasurable.
We look forward to hosting you and your family during your upcoming visit.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 574 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed in apartment 7B for 4 nights / 5 days. It was well equipped with everything that we needed including free wi-fi which helped us to book the various NYC attractions online and thus avoid some queues. We chose the location as a friend recommended that this was a much quieter area to stay, however we did not find this to be an issue as we made good use of the excellent value NYC 7 day travel pass which gives unlimited access on metro and buses for just $27! There is a bus stop 'downtown' just 2 minutes walk from the apartment, whilst 'uptown' buses stop on 1st and 3rd avenue at 96th street - no more than a good 5 minutes walk. The reception staff were very helpful and the apartment cleaned and serviced daily. In summary a very good base.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUSTINATKIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear JUSTINATKIN,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here at The Marmara Manhattan. We are very pleased to hear that you found everything you were looking for. We truly believe that our location provides our guests with a true New York experience, and we see that you took full advantage of that as well!
We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to the Big Apple.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

we had a great time
we asked for a room 14th floor or higher (to have a view) and we were on the 14th floor.
The room was very nice, wide livingroom with flatscreen, little kitchen with everyhting you need. The bedroom was very nice too.
Large bed nice flatscreen tv clean sheets and NO bedbugs!!
The bathroom is a a bit small compared to the rest of the suite but very good.
Toilet, bath/shower , sink and big mirror
If you are very picky you may not like as we did cause there some bad paintwork done in the bathroom but almost not noticable and a curtain in the livingroom was a bit damaged but thats not something that bothers us.
The terrace has a nice view and even there were works going on in the street below we almost didnt hear a thing during our stay
We recommand this place and will go back.
Staff is very friendly.
PS when you order a cab to go back to the airport please mention you wan't a yellow cab ohterwise you'll be charges 65dollars in stead of 45 dollars just to be in a private cab that doesn't offer anything more than the yellow one
Voila i hope you'll enjoy your stay there
im wondering when we'll be able to go back ...soon i hope :-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manouschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear manouschka,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. We believe that the feedback provided by our guests is a vital tool to measure our success. It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you as a guest in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Marmara hotel is a pleasant oddity. It was probably born as a normal NY apartment block, but is now a really very nice apart-hotel.

We booked a premium room on the 11th floor and stayed for four days.

The room – well, not so much a room, more a grown-up apartment. A large light airy sitting room about 200 square feet (more than you get in most hotel rooms) with a balcony, sofas, dining table, kitchen. A large airy light bedroom with a first class proper double bed (not two singles squished together). Good bathroom off, and a second guest loo in the lobby.

The whole room had a very light comfortable feel, with loads of space. I have stayed in suites with less room. Overall, a very good deal indeed, if you don’t mind being in a slightly scruffy part of Manhattan.

While the normal hotel facilities were absent (no restaurant, bar, pool), there are supermarkets and off licences around the corner, and a very good laundry across the street. Metro is a few minutes walk away, and central park less than ten.

The only negative is the ambient noise. Marmara’s neighbourhood is not peaceful. If you sleep with the windows open you will have a pronounced NY background roar, but that is New York! Rooms higher up are probably a lot quieter. Definitely a keeper.

Room Tip: go as high as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Coltbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Coltbridge,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay here at The Marmara Manhattan. We constantly look for ways of improving our service and product therefore the feedback provided by our guests is highly important for us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return to stay with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The brief to find accommodation suitable for 6 women for a week was proving difficult until we stumpbled across Marmara. 3 large bedrooms - we were willing to share with 2 king size beds and 2 singles - 3 bathrooms a great living area and fantastic 27th floor views. There was also a washer and dryer in the apartment which really made us feel at home. Some habits die hard!
The location was fine with a good subway line close and with grocery and grog shops nearby we were set. The staff at reception were extremely helpful to us. They were happy to suggest places to shop, sightsee and eat. They also printed out some travel instructions to help us get to Brooklyn which made it easy and in general were accommodating of any request we made - thanks to all the staff who looked after us. It was great to have free WiFi although the connection was a little tempremental while we were there - not sure if this is usual. Would recommend Marmara to anyone who wanted to feel more at home than a hotel room can provide.
Would also recommend Nicks Italian across the road - great food, great friendly service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cash01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Dear cash01,

We would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at The Marmara Manhattan. It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time and felt like it was exactly what you were after. We are sorry that you experienced some difficulties with the internet. Unfortunately during the dates you were staying with us, we were applying upgrades to our systems to provide better and faster connection. We hope to welcome you again soon in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#295 of 469 in New York City
894 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#191 of 469 in New York City
795 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#402 of 469 in New York City
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#143 of 469 in New York City
213 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#34 of 469 in New York City
270 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#139 of 469 in New York City
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128-4718
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#139 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 9,358 - ₹ 28,529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing