We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #197 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ione, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I found the Milburn through TripAdvisor and chose it because of the reviews and the location near my son's college graduation. What I didn't realize was how close to West Central Park and the Riverside Walk we were. Pleasant surprise. There are a number of restaurants and a really good market, Citarella's, nearby along with subway stops. The room we had was small (apparently normal for NYC). It was clean and pleasantly quiet except for the bathroom fan. There was no way to shut it off as it was on the same switch as the light. I was disappointed that we didn't get a king size bed which I was pretty sure I had made the reservations for. We stayed three nights and never quite made it to the continental breakfast as it was always crowded. All in all, IF we ever return to NYC, I think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan_Sea777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    498
    132
    39
    48
See reviews for
437
303
69
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Our family of three stayed at the Milburn hotel for four nights last week. Overall I think this hotel is a good value for New York city and we would stay again.

Pros: great location near subway stops, markets, wine store and restaurants; very friendly and helpful staff; the breakfast has a small number of choices (cereal, bagels, apples, waffles on weekends) but its fast and free and staff was very welcoming; clean rooms that are a decent size.
Cons: elevators were being upgraded so we spent a fair bit of time waiting for elevators; skimpy on the dishes in the kitchen (only 2 of everything - bowls, spoons, glasses etc) so we were always rinsing dishes; saggy uncomfortable mattresses; very inconsistent internet access which was frustrating; tv reception was also not great.

I think with a few upgrades to the kitchen, wi-fi and mattresses, this hotel would go from good to great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rexy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I picked this hotel based on the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and was not sorry. It is difficult to find a room with a king size bed in NYC so that was my first consideration at booking. I realized after I booked that it included a breakfast which I have not had in my previous visits to NYC (at other hotels) so that was a welcome surprise. The staff are fantastic - friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, tastefully decorated and well kept. The bathroom was very small but considering all of the other positives, was not a concern. We had a small kitchen area in our room which worked out well. And the location...I loved it. If you want to be in the middle of the hustle & bustle of Times Square this is not for you but if you want to be in a area with lots of great restaurants, cool little food markets, bakeries, real New Yorkers - don't even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I have been staying at the Milburn for over 25 years. It is my NY home away from home. I love the neighborhood, a curious mixture of working class and gentrified population, lots of good eateries, and above all, a cozy corner to sleep. Over the last years I have found the beds a bit uncomfortable (they could use changing) and some of the rooms a bit run down, but the hotel's location and warm staff balance this out. Prices are average for NY, still not in-expensive. Also you will undoubtedly meet interesting people here. Good for families, as well as solos and duos.

Room Tip: room overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed for two nights during the first week in April. We were pleased with the accomodations. We are a family of four, and we booked a standard suite which consisted of a bedroom with king sized bed, and a sitting room with a pull out sleeper sofa. There was also a small kitchenette (closet-sized with microwave and sink) and an even tinier bathroom. Rooms had nice decor, and the access to wifi was a bonus. My only complaint was the bathroom size. The bathroom consisted of a shower/tub, a toilet, and a pedestal sink. There was no counter space whatsoever, so using things like a hair dryer and curling iron proved difficult, and there was no place to put a toiletry bag. The toilet itself was also so close to the shower, that your elbows would hit the sliding door of the shower. However, since we were to spend most of our time outside the hotel, we were fine with the cramped bathroom quarters. The staff was very attentive, and provided extra sheets and pillows when necessary. They also stored our luggage on our last day there, since we had a late night train out of the city, and we wanted to tour til the last minute.

The breakfast in the morning was a nice addition. Saving money on food is always a plus. The selections included bagels, pastries, cold cereal, yogurt, and some fruit. The gentleman running the breakfast room was efficient, and patient with children.

The location is great...........right on the #1 subway line. This provided easy access to wherever we needed to be. The area is interesting -- a mix of residential and commercial, but it was nice not to be right in the middle of the hub-bub of Times Square. We enjoyed walking through the quiet neighborhoods, and the hotel is located just blocks from Central Park. Definately go to Beard Papa's for a cream puff if you are in the area! We never felt unsafe, and we were often coming back to the hotel during the dusk hours.

We would stay here again, but we would definately ask for a suite with a bigger bathroom. Clean, comfortable, and all you really need for a quick trip in and out.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank chapopote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 468 in New York City
2,349 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 468 in New York City
3,478 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 468 in New York City
3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 468 in New York City
2,048 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 468 in New York City
4,833 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#378 of 468 in New York City
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Property: The Milburn Hotel
Address: 242 W 76th St, New York City, NY 10023-8232
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,486 - ₹ 24,131
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing