We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“6 Night Stay in April 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #207 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“6 Night Stay in April 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I picked this hotel based on the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and was not sorry. It is difficult to find a room with a king size bed in NYC so that was my first consideration at booking. I realized after I booked that it included a breakfast which I have not had in my previous visits to NYC (at other hotels) so that was a welcome surprise. The staff are fantastic - friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, tastefully decorated and well kept. The bathroom was very small but considering all of the other positives, was not a concern. We had a small kitchen area in our room which worked out well. And the location...I loved it. If you want to be in the middle of the hustle & bustle of Times Square this is not for you but if you want to be in a area with lots of great restaurants, cool little food markets, bakeries, real New Yorkers - don't even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    491
    130
    38
    48
See reviews for
430
292
67
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I have been staying at the Milburn for over 25 years. It is my NY home away from home. I love the neighborhood, a curious mixture of working class and gentrified population, lots of good eateries, and above all, a cozy corner to sleep. Over the last years I have found the beds a bit uncomfortable (they could use changing) and some of the rooms a bit run down, but the hotel's location and warm staff balance this out. Prices are average for NY, still not in-expensive. Also you will undoubtedly meet interesting people here. Good for families, as well as solos and duos.

Room Tip: room overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed for two nights during the first week in April. We were pleased with the accomodations. We are a family of four, and we booked a standard suite which consisted of a bedroom with king sized bed, and a sitting room with a pull out sleeper sofa. There was also a small kitchenette (closet-sized with microwave and sink) and an even tinier bathroom. Rooms had nice decor, and the access to wifi was a bonus. My only complaint was the bathroom size. The bathroom consisted of a shower/tub, a toilet, and a pedestal sink. There was no counter space whatsoever, so using things like a hair dryer and curling iron proved difficult, and there was no place to put a toiletry bag. The toilet itself was also so close to the shower, that your elbows would hit the sliding door of the shower. However, since we were to spend most of our time outside the hotel, we were fine with the cramped bathroom quarters. The staff was very attentive, and provided extra sheets and pillows when necessary. They also stored our luggage on our last day there, since we had a late night train out of the city, and we wanted to tour til the last minute.

The breakfast in the morning was a nice addition. Saving money on food is always a plus. The selections included bagels, pastries, cold cereal, yogurt, and some fruit. The gentleman running the breakfast room was efficient, and patient with children.

The location is great...........right on the #1 subway line. This provided easy access to wherever we needed to be. The area is interesting -- a mix of residential and commercial, but it was nice not to be right in the middle of the hub-bub of Times Square. We enjoyed walking through the quiet neighborhoods, and the hotel is located just blocks from Central Park. Definately go to Beard Papa's for a cream puff if you are in the area! We never felt unsafe, and we were often coming back to the hotel during the dusk hours.

We would stay here again, but we would definately ask for a suite with a bigger bathroom. Clean, comfortable, and all you really need for a quick trip in and out.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank chapopote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed here in a double room for one night this week. It had a small kitchenette. The beds were very comfortable. No view out of the window...an ugly courtyard. The bathroom was clean. Felt safe walking in the area. The room itself was clean just not spotless. The air conditioning was hard to regulate but it did work. The room could use a really thorough cleaning but it was not "dirty". Continental breakfast was bagels, juice, coffee(no cream-just milk), cereal, yogurt and some fruit. Nothing fancy but fine. The staff was very helpful and nice.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Vacation209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Germain en Laye
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed a week at the Milburn and enjoyed the large, well kept rooms, the huge bath room, the excellent location, the good and nourishing breakfast, and last but not least the friendly, welcoming and very helpfull staff. The Milburn definitely contributed to the success of our vacation and we warmly recommend the place!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,463 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,391 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#256 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#302 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Property: The Milburn Hotel
Address: 242 West 76th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
#144 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,005 - ₹ 28,726
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing