We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #77 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My two daughters and I stayed here for 4 nights over Easter weekend (2 double beds). Location can't be beat. Public transportation (subway) access steps away from front door of hotel. Numerous subway lines converge at Herald Square. Tons of shopping in area, Macy's around the corner. Check in was quick, although room wasn't ready at time of arrival, we were able to store luggage. Room was clean, not fancy, beds comfortable. We had a room on upper floor with view of Empire State Building. Water pressure great, limited amenities, fast secure elevator. Enjoyed coffee and lemonade in lobby each day. Lobby is small, limited seating, but we were out all day and didn't return till late night. Didn't utilize services (concierge or dining). Would stay again because of location and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with Empire Sate Building view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggydill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,186)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,236 - 3,240 of 5,186 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

After reading the reviews, I decided on the Hilton Garden Inn on 35th. I was not disappointed. Check-in was easy and quick. Staff all very friendly. I reserved a king city view and got a nice room on the 25th floor with a great view of the Empire State Building. Very clean room with all of the amenities, and really like having a small fridge and microwave oven. The bed was heavenly, slept like a baby. The free WiFi one of the fastest I have ever had at a hotel. I ended up having most of my breakfasts' in the breakfast room, a really great buffet. The location is fantastic, as there is a subway entrance located literally steps away. Another one is located just a few blocks away. Great market/deli's nearby. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: If having a view of the surroundings is important, simply ask for a city view room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, we had an early morning flight and arrived at the hotel at 1pm 2 hours before check in, Ali checked us in straight away and we had a 2 double city view room, when we got to our room it was lovely and big full bathroom with a city view we was a bit dissapointed because when we booked we had requested an empire state building view which we didn't have, we went back to reception and saw Ali again who then changed our room with no fuss to a slightly smaller room still with two doubles but with a fantastic view of the empire state building, perfect couldn't of asked for better service thanks to Ali. Room was lovely with bath and a powerfully shower and being on the 27th floor was very quiet. Location is great with herald square subway just a few steps from the hotel. Tony di Napoli is a great Italian restaurant just off times square and top of the strand is a good rooftop bar with great views of the ESB and lovely cocktails. Overall we had a fantastic time again, love this city can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skippy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Clean, comfortable room. Great staff. Windows that actually open! My only complaint is the fact that the restaurant is only open for breakfast. I know it's New York and there are restauranys everywhere, but when I arrived, it was pouring and the last thing that I wanted to do was go outin the rain.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiltongirl357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at the property many times before I was looking forward to a quiet room and a restful stay. Unfortunately the concept of service has left this hotel, and after this stay I will not be back. The front desk staff didn't know how to check someone in, and after being shuffled from person to person I was finally assisted by perhaps the rudest front desk person ever. She informed me that even though I had a guaranteed reservation for a city view (upper floor) all she had was a room on the 2nd floor. Change in rate for a different class of room? No chance. Discuss any other room possibilities? No, here are your room keys, please go away. The front desk is their first impression, and they need to fix it. I will not be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DJinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear DJ in CR,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th. I am so sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. It is our aim to at least meet if not exceed all of our guest's expectation. I apologize that you did not have a good experience. Unfortunately I do not have the full details to follow up with an internal investigation on your particular reservation. However, I do extend my apologies for such an inconvenience.

I will certainly address this issue with my team. Thank you for sharing.

Regards
Hilda Garvey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,183 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 468 in New York City
11,496 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#163 of 468 in New York City
5,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 468 in New York City
6,855 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#106 of 468 in New York City
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 12,993 - ₹ 33,652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing