We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Ranked #3 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed at Mount Morris for 9 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the property and its location. Met on arrival by very pleasant host Vasili and shown to a capacious street-facing bedroom with a large dressing room and excellent bathroom. The lovely brownstone building is in a quiet location but is just around the corner from the heart of Harlem with its vibrant shopping centre, including some interesting cafes and restaurants. The subway was a short walk from the house and we enjoyed travelling into the city everyday but were always pleased to return to our pleasant retreat at night. Would definitely recommend this property as a great alternative to the 'impersonal' hotel-type accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 151 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

Mount Morris House is one of the few hotels where the real-life appearance of the rooms surpasses the website photos. My room, "Sage", was huge, charmingly decorated, and very comfortable. The bathroom has a huge bathtub and a separate large shower unit. The front lounge is breathtaking, with vintage lamps and shelves full of books.
Location is very convenient--lots of good restaurants nearby, walk to Central Park, just a few stops on the subway from all the attractions. And Harlem itself is amazing.
But what made my stay the most memorable was the kindness of Vasili, the owner, who found a room for me when I arrived 1 day earlier than my reservation--I had forgotten that I was going back over the International Date Line. Not many hoteliers would have gone to such lengths to help a guest rectify her own mistake.
Don't have my photos on this computer, but will be adding some of my own. Can't say enough good things about Mount Morris House.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyDiazepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Mount Morris House B&B quiet immaculately clean and private. Not a bad word to say and will definitely be returning when back in New York. Location was convenient and host very pleasant gentleman. We loved staying in the loft!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HighStandards2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

not happy at all. no breakfast provided and told about this until after we had booked. our room looked out onto a brick wall. and what ever you dont complain as the owners then dont speak to you for two days. rooms arent all they are cracked up to be. photos can be very deceiving. would not stay there again tatty air con unit wedged into a window with gaffa tape.

Room Tip: dont beleive every thing you read and see in the photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louisehaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

"We very much regret that you felt this way about your stay in our house. We treat all our guests with the same courtesy and respect and you were not an exception. For the quality of our hospitality and the appearance of our rooms we will let the opinion of hundreds of guests who have stayed in our house before you, much of it expressed in this site, stand as our response and testament. As for the claim that you were not informed of our breakfast policy before you booked the room, you know as well as we do that this is simply not true and there is the correspondence to prove it. We very much wish you pleasanter and happier experiences in your future travels."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Last November we travelled to New York by liner on the QM2. It was a treat from my wife to mark my 70th birthday as I had often said that I would love to approach New York from the sea. What a fantastic sight it proved to be.

We had decided to avoid the big hotels around Times Square and we discovered Mount Morris House on the internet. Quite a find! We were warmly welcomed by Vasili and Dimitri and shown to our beautiful room. The breakfasts are to die for! Many other reviewers have recorded their friendly hospitality and the excellent facilities Mount Morris House offers. We immediately felt at home and thoroughly enjoyed our few days stay.

On our last evening, having been unsuccessful in obtaining tickets for the Met, Vassili and Dimitri told us that Lauren Flanigan, a well known Diva from the Met who was part of their local community, was giving a recital at their nearby church. My wife and I enjoyed the most fantastic evening. Lauren Flanigan was joined by a group of opera singers and it was an evening we shall never forget. So If you stay at the Mount Morris look out for similar events as I believe that Lauren Flanigan arranges them from time to time for the benefit of the local community.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelt0nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#409 of 469 in New York City
550 reviews
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#237 of 469 in New York City
718 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 469 in New York City
11,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#67 of 469 in New York City
3,640 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 469 in New York City
7,247 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#235 of 469 in New York City
4,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Address: 12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027-6316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 8,109 - ₹ 21,083 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing