We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved this hotel.. very very convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
Ranked #215 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“loved this hotel.. very very convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

loved the buzz of the hotel, loved the quaintness of the furnishings, loved the view (of empire state building), loved the location (if you really must know, i actually took the metro to and from the airport - with a cabin bag, a backpack and a tote bag).. too bad, i probably won't be able to get the fantastic price i got through a friend's friend. otherwise, this would be my number 1 choice the next time i'm in nyc.

only thing though - there wasn't a safe in the room, though that's what they said they had.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portugal2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    603
    182
    79
    39
See reviews for
185
531
205
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Totally friendly and fun place, as per all the other reviews. Also liked late lunch and dinner, which we had at associated restaurants, Breslin, and John Dory. The location is central, though not special. Being an architect interested in sustainability, I found the lighting- small incandescent lights and very dark wall coverings to be gloomy and expensive to run. Had trouble reading the morning paper in the lobby, which suffered from same problem. Am too old to be a hipster - but they will someday need reading glasses and more light themselves. Otherwise, did enjoy the Karma and creative touches.

Room Tip: We had requested a quiet room, and were given one on 8th floor in back, overlooking the back side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel really surprised me - something very different from the mainstream NYC hotel you usually get. Funny and quirky touches everywhere. Rooms are small but have everything you need.

The ground floor area is always buzzing. Full of students/academic types on lap tops and ipads who looked like they spent the whole day drinking one latte - but it adds to the style of the place.

Staff were all very helpful. Location was OK, but plenty of cabs pass the front door.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel was really funky and reminded me of Urban Outfitters/Starbucks. The staff were really nice and extremely helpful and the location for everything was great. The only downside was we booked a bunk-bed room so was extremely cramped with all the shopping bags :( But could not fault the hotel, top notch!

Room Tip: Be prepared if booking a bunk-bed room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidaysAreBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY/NJ
Level Contributor
422 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Only spend a few hours here, arriving after work, chekcing in, out to dinner and drinks, getting back and hitting the hay. However, the room was comfy and clean, which is most important. I wish the AC worked a little better, but it wasn't that it was even too warm, I just like to sleep cold. The decor is outstanding and very different than anything you've experienced before, totally awesome, from the stenciling on the walls to the crate my frig was in. I wish I had time to enjoy the ammenities further but I know I'll be back if I get the chance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#289 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Property: Ace Hotel New York
Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-4502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#156 Family Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,777 - ₹ 32,855
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing