We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
Ranked #14 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

amazing breakfast. Beautiful room. Very friendly, helpful staff. We appreciated the museum passes made available to guests (altho it would have been good to have been told about these beforehand to avoid buying one of the NY passes). Unfortunately we are both allergic to cats and didn't know about the in house cat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MV58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    71
    16
    13
    7
See reviews for
77
129
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

AUGUST 2011-My hubby n I flew in from Cali with no hotel. It was very last minute, we got tickets night before n figured we'll get hotel when we get there, DO NOT DO THAT!! We arrived at 1130 pm it took us an hr to find this crappy comfort inn in flushing, NY (that place smells like all toilets flush to that areA!) anyways, with a roof over our heads n a bite in our belly we sat up for another hr online looking up places closer to the funeral we flew cross country to be at. When I saw the pic under bed n breakfast I showed my hubby n we called immediately, soooooo glad we did! We had room 54, brick walls.. It felt so homey n comfortable to be in.nice ppl beautiful common room. the best thing in our room was the skylight-more like a windowed roof! Couldn't c more than the sky, but the light it let in was wonderful! Everyone was helpful n had a family feel about them.they have wine n cheese tastings,a honor bar n a light breakfast bar of bagels cheese boiled eggs muffins n coffee for a light snack before ur outings for the day.
The bar downstairs was out of sight as well! Very friendly, completely worth ur money. Great cocktails!
This place was right down from the subway to get wherever we needed to go. Also, if u don't mind walking a few blocks to take in the sights, it's about a 15 minute walk to times square. We found our diamond in the rough!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chismchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Our stay at the Inn on 23rd was an thoroughly delightful experience. From our late night arrival with careful instructions left by hotel manager Thomas, to being greeted by Dorothy the resident cat, to sleeping off our jet lag in the wonderfully comfortable king-size bed in our charming and immaculate room - we loved every moment of our nearly two-week stay. The hotel is in a fantastic part of NYC - close to so many attractions but not overly noisy. All of the Inn's staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and there was a sense of generosity in their demeanour, the ambience of the rooms and the breakfasts. Lovely touches that we wish we'd had more time to enjoy were the complimentary Friday night wine and cheese sessions for guests. I would highly recommend the Inn on 23rd to anyone who wants to experience New York with warmth and charm and just a hint of quirky. We very much hope to stay there again one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We loved staying in this small inn in the heart of the Chelsea area. It was conveniently located to all the sights, with subway stops just a block away. Our room was light and airy because of a huge skylight, and it was decorated with style and charm. Probably the best part of the hotel is the lovely library, where you can relax and read or have an afternoon snack. It is also where we had the very nice buffet breakfasts that were included in the price of the room. There were several excellent neighborhood restaurants within walking distance--Txikito for Spanish food, including tapas, and Ovest Pizzoteca for a perfect thin-crust pizza-- and we felt safe walking around the neighborhood (even at night). Definitely a find, and we plan to stay here again on our next trip to New York.

Room Tip: We particularly liked our 5th floor room because of the natural light that came through the large sk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

For my recent trip to NYC, I stayed in Room 53 for two weeks from May 16-30. The Inn on 23rd has an excellent location and great staff. I definitely echo the positive comments already posted. The Inn has firmly placed itself on my list of places to stay in NYC.

The Guilty Goose was a frequent haunt of mine. The burger is delish and beer is of the highest quality.

Phil

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBigMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#153 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,991 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#260 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea

Property: The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
Address: 131 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2431
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,967 - ₹ 22,303
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea is a unique bed and breakfast in one of the most dynamic and convenience neighborhoods in New York City. Walk to restaurants, shopping, entertainment, and sightseeing such as the Flatiron Building, the Empire State Building and The High Line. Fifth Avenue shopping, Grand Central Station, Times Square and the Theater District, Central Park, all are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 23rd Hotel New York City
Inn 23rd Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing