We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenwich Village Habitue

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenwich Village Habitue
Ranked #17 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Our two week stay at GVHabitue was perfect for us - the apartment was spacious, spotlessly clean, perfectly positioned in a quiet street and located in what was to become our favourite part of NYC. Kevin was most hospitable on our arrival and allowed us to treat the apartment as our own home during our stay. The conveniently located subway enabled us to travel with ease to all areas of Manhattan and beyond. Thank you to our hosts - we will return!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Calooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    14
    4
    1
    7
See reviews for
11
84
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We have recently returned after a fantastic 13 night stay at GV Habitue. This is a wonderful place and an excellent base to explore fantastic New York City The apartment was so spacious and absolutely spotless, and was cleaned every 1-2 days.
The street is so typical NY and the area fantastic to absorb the New York ambience. There are a multitude of wonderful restaurants to choose from in the area (Meat packing/West Village/Greenwich Village) and the subway stations are close by.
Our hosts were very helpful, kind and provided us with all sorts of information that we might need whilst in NY.
We absolutely loved the apartment, loved the area, and will defintely stay here again when we return to New York!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sus_El_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

This review has been long due but I got so busy that..well never mind!
We came back 3 weeks ago from a 12 days stay at the Habitue....
EVERYTHING worked fine and smooth there. A great price considering location and how big the flat actualy is: for the same price you get a "small" room in a standard hotel, while here we found a good sized studio with a separate kitchen and dining area. It is lovely to have room for all our luggage and being able to relax and unwind without feeling "claustrophobic"
The decor is antique and tastefull, (some reviewers should be informed about ancient greek art..lol), the neutral brown colour scheme helps you relax, the slightly uneven floor adds character to the place in complete accordance with the furniture - The building is kinda old and the "uneven " floor is just part of it.
More mportant is that we found the flat clean and it was cleaned almost every day: we loved the leather couch very confortable as the bed was. We were given plenty of towels sheets blankets etc. good pressure in the shower.air conditioning that worked fine even if we pretty much used the fan.huge fridge in the kitchen coffe making facilities and a stove that we never used: I guess on vacation no one wanna cook and in nyc you have such a choice of good restaurants...
In the flat we found a considerable collection of AD: I spent quite a time reading those mags; in a drawer there was also plenty of maps and useful info on manhattan.
Location is perfect for me...away from overcrowed times square,
at gv habitue you are in the village but on the edge with meatpacking and if u into clubbing, fancy restaurants and designer boutiques(for women) you are in the right place.
The street were the flat is located is very quite and from our window we had a nice view of the owners garden which is lovely.
although quite you are 5 8 minutes walking to 8th av/14th street underground station which means you can travel across manhattan with the L line and take ACE to go uptown or downtown so location really is unbeatable!
some advice: eat at pastis and fig and olive which i will review separately.the spotted pig really deserve its first michelin star.another god restaurant (this one in chelsea) is eolo: you will be surprised by the homemade pasta and the dessert sicilian cannoli.
as for broadway show, don´t miss the addams family and spider man!

all in all we cant complain of anything was reaaly an AMAZING stay.
let me just add something: what the website nor the pictures can´t show you is how gentle polite and kind the owners are. Kevin gave us a lot of useful info on what to do there and as a nice touch during our departure he helped us with luggage and catching a cab.

I no doubt advice anyone to go and stay there.You won´t be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexolympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We had a great stay at GV Habitue, one week in september. The perfect location, nearby restaurants, subway, deli, all the cosy neigborhoods in Manhattan. What more can we ask for(?) The apartment was also very nice, cleaned almost everyday, very comfortable bed, spacious. The hosts are amazing, Kevin was telling us the most important info when we arrived, and there were maps, books and brochures to look at if you want. Last day we where leaving late and where suppose to check out normal time, but I got sick the night before and we asked if we could stay until we had to leave for the airport if we paid more. Because we knew noone where arriving until next day. We were offered to stay until the next day for free if I was not able to travel home!! How nice of them! I decided to try even though I was really sick, but it was extremely nice of Kevin to let us stay until we had to leave for the airport.
I would definately recommend this place if you want to live in a cosy neigborhood and have "everything" close. And if you do not need the fancy hotel style accomodation. i preffer this apartment instead of a busy hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathrine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF>CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We loved this place. The apartments are nicely done. The bed was firm which we liked immensely.
The hosts are charming and afford one with an orientation to the Village and the Meat Packing district. The location could not be better. We did not take the subway for two days because we were walking all over the Village. We go to NYC every Fall and will return to GV Habitue as often as possible. It is a bargain and an absolute delight.

Room Tip: We loved our front facing apartment. We did look at some of the accomodations on the garden side whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#321 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#203 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#28 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#157 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#96 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,391 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#121 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Village Habitue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Village Habitue

Property: Greenwich Village Habitue
Address: 80 Horatio Street, The West Village, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,576
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenwich Village Habitue 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Completely private apartments in 1830's Federal style brownstone for rent. Owner occupied, self-contained, fully appointed apartments - single or double occupancy ONLY - 5 night minimum stay. Located in West Greenwich Village / Meatpacking District. Close to subways, Highline Park, brand new Whitney Museum of American Art, Hudson River Park, great restaurants, shopping and all attractions. Quiet, charming building, beautiful street and great West Village neighborhood. Air conditioning, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, tea kettle,toaster, iron/board. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Greenwich Village Habitue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing