We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Small but great view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #118 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Small but great view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We booked a deluxe king room so that we could get a view.....and we did. The empire state building was right there! if you take a cab out and around make sure you take the address with you. We had difficutly getting back as no one knew where the Strand was. We had to call the hotel from the cab to get the address!

One of us had trouble sleeping due to noise but I did not notice it - too tired from the flight. The room was clean, bathroom small but quite nice. The frosted glass bathroom door was a litte off putting, privacy wise, if you weren't travelling with close family.It also got stuck so I had to wait until huband came to get me out!

Staff was friendly and helpful. We left too early for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the address so the cab drivers can get you back. All the ones we had did not know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sportsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

I was so pleased that we were able to honor your request for an Empire State building view. We are so thrilled to have so many amazing rooms with this iconic building outside of their window! Sorry for your taxi experience, with so many NY hotels I suppose it can be overwhelming for the drivers to remember where each property is located. I will certainly pass along your kind words about our helpful friendly staff

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,277
    723
    154
    39
    22
See reviews for
463
964
85
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel was great. The location was convient and close to subway and shopping. Short walk to Time Sq and Broadway. You get a fabulous view of the Empire State Builidng from the Roof Top Bar. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help and answer any questions. The room was comfortable for NY standards. The bathroom was tiny but we didn't mind as we didn't spend much time in there. The King size bed was so comfortable and very relaxing. The air con was noisy but we didn't really need to use it much. Overall great place, great location and wonderfull staff. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kixars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

There is so much to truly love about NYC, thank you for selecting the Strand as part of that wonderful experience. We were pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and for mentioning our great location, wonderful staff and comfort of our rooms. We sincerely hope that the Strand can always be part of your NYC experience, hope to have the opportunity of personally welcoming you in the near future.

Have a great summer!

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed in The Strand for 5 nights on a recent city break to NYC. While checking in the front desk staff weren't overly friendly but for the rest of the trip the staff were all very nice and helpful.

The room was small, but I suppose that is standard for NYC. We had to unpack our stuff as there was nowhere to keep our suitcases. The cupboard space was just TINY - once we put our empty suitcase in there, it was pretty much full. The room was reasonably clean but not spotless - the insides of the drawers were extremely dusty and had crumbs and hair in them, and the light switches were a bit grimy. Otherwise it was perfectly fine, bed was comfortable.

VERY annoying not to have a fridge in the room! As others have said, it was basically a vending machine and we were told clearly at check-in not to touch anything unless we wanted to be charged. It was clearly marked on the machine as well. They said they were unable to empty it as they contract this service out to a vending company. I like to keep bottles of water in the room so this was extremely pointless.

The rooftop bar is lovely - really comfy casual sofa seating and friendly bartender and great view of the Empire State Building.

As for location, Times Square and the Macy's/Herald Square shopping area were both within a 5 minute walk, as was access to the subway (a number of lines on 34th street) so it was really easy to get around the city from there. Also the Empire State Building was one street down (although we did not visit it). However the area around the hotel itself wasn't too great - there were a number of sex shops on the street, with mannequins wearing leather costumes in the window. Didn't really bother me but might bother some, made me feel we were in a seedy part of town even though we were not. My main gripe is that we couldn't any decent casual restaurants around, although there was a nice deli across the road. There was construction work going on next door but we did not hear anything.

All in all it was a good stay but I would not stay here again. That is mainly down to the location - I would rather be in a more 'neighbourhood' part of NYC than this touristy area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeymoonhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking to the time to write you’re thorough review. We thank you for your comments regarding our nice helpful staff, comfortable bed, convenient location and great roof top bar We apologize for some of the inconsistency that you experienced during your stay and hope I can further discuss them with you. Although you mention that the location may not be best suited for your future stays please be mindful that although we are so close to all of the major attractions we are also nestled away in the middle of a block just off of 5th avenue with hardly any outside noise. Please feel free to contact me directly, (646 368-6415.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I returned to the Strand for my biz trip to NYC for only one night. The room was lovely and clean. The bathroom was sized small but ok. For me, the bed was not soft enough - but then I'm used to a softer mattress with plenty of support. I understand not all beds will be comfy when I'm traveling. My disappointment - My previous visit provided a complimentary breakfast and I assumed at the rate I paid (over 400.00) I would again have breakfast. Not so. When I went to the cafe to get breakfast I was told the breakfast on the bottom floor was for international travelers and that the complimentary breakfast was discountinued in January 2012 and I was not "on the list for complimentary breakfast". If it was discontinued, why a list? And why are so many here on trip advisor mentioning it? It was disappointing as I had to walk down the street to get an inexpensive breakfast - a bagel - on my way to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaykayHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your experience. We are sincerely disappointed for the unnecessary confusion you encountered with some of our changes with breakfast. I would really appreciation the opportunity to explain them to you as I am truly confident that you will be pleased. We appreciate your wonderful comments about our rooms being lovely and clean and hope that we can continue to have you with us during your future business trips. (646) 368-6415

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle Mountain, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

In a word, Amazing...There is no better hotel in NYC than The Strand, From the moment you check in you are treated with the utmost repsect, Any questions or concerns you have there is an amazing front desk staff that will drop everything to assist you, Need directions somewhere? they will give you a map and take the time to show you what you need to know, Need show tickets? they will drop everything to get you the best price...Amazing views in every room, and the central location is perfect for exploring all of NYC, Most of the top attractions are within a couple of blocks. I honestly can't remember the last time I had customer service this amazing. And it's not just the front desk staff, Every single employee I walked by while we enjoyed our 5 night stay was always smiling, asking if I needed anything and if there is anything they could help with...And I havent even mention the Top of the Strand bar, With the BEST view of the Empire State building you really could not ask for a better hotel experiance in NYC.

Trust me...If your going to NYC, The smartest people stay at The Strand.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room with the Empire State view, If they have one available they will happily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandySnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Strand team, thank you so very much for your most amazing review! We are so truly humbled by your depiction of what we always strive for, a memorable stay at the Strand NYC. We hope that you will forever have an “Empire State of Mind” with the strand being home when in NY.

Enjoy your summer, see you soon.

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#112 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#103 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#151 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,298 - ₹ 36,397
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing