We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located and very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #302 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nicely located and very good hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

To book this hotel by mail was a kind of an experience but as soon s we checked in all that was forgotten. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is a rather small hotel. The room we got was extremely small compared with what you can get in the country for similar prizes but after we got the puzzle together we stayed for 8 days. From this place, in the heart of New York you can easily get around to explore the big apple. The rooms are clean and he staff is very helpful. The neighborhood is quiet and it was even possible to sleep with the window open.Although small I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barlin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Gem Chelsea on your recent stay to NYC. We appreciate your warm and insightful review. On your next stay we plan to have a star studded list of places and attractions that you might have missed on your first visit to the GEM.

Best regards,

Julio Acosta
Front Office Manager
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011
212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
thegemhotel.com

Your corner of the world
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    484
    177
    67
    46
See reviews for
118
433
154
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Parsonsfield
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here for one night after seeing Oprah at Radio City. This was a great location away from the craziness of Times Square. The rooms are small, but very well put together with a kind of upscale feel. They do seem to cater to the gay crowd or business crowd, rather than families. The area is chock full of great restaurants and stores and you a a couple of blocks form the High line park. The bathrooms were very nice with a walkin shower with a rainfall shower head. The sink area did leave little room for toiletries. The service was GREAT!!! Everyone we encountered was very welcoming and warm. On the roof there is an open air deck with lounge chairs & tables to have your morning coffee or justt relax with a stunning view of the Empire State Bldg. I highly recommend the Gem Chelsea if you are looking for a laid back, upscale, quiet hotel in a great neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertwcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for you comments. We at the gem use your truthful insights to make your experience and every guest that walk thru our doors comforting and unique. We hope that you chose the Gem as your home away from home while staying in NYC.

Chelsea Concierge

The GEM Hotel – Chelsea
300 West 22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

thegemhotel.com

Your Corner of the World

Closest Subways
A C E @ 23rd & 8th Avenue (Chelsea)
1 @ 23rd & 7th Avenue (Chelsea)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlyrtle Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The GEM in Chelsa is a very nice hotel with rooms that are small if you have a single queen bed. The location is fanastic, close to the Highline Park and walking distance to Chelsa Market. Quite street location is very nice. The room had a small wardrobe that one door would hit the air conditioner so you could not open it all the way. The bathroom sink is very small with little room to set down any toiletry items. The staff were very cordial and helpful. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are smaller than middle rooms on the floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoeyeswild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric K, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Greetings twoeyeswild,

Thank you so much for your mindful review, and we always strive to use our guests' valuable comments to reflect on further improvement. We regret to hear that your stay wasn't perfect with us due to the room size, but we can always assure you that our service will top off that missing piece.

Should you plan to stay with us again, please feel free to contact us back at chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com and mention that you've provided us a review at our TripAdvisor page.

I wish you the best, and hope to be of your service once again.

Warm regards,

Eric Kwon
The GEM Hotel - Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Had another great stay at the GEM hotel in Chelsea. Well appointed and efficient clean room with a great bathroom! Staff was always friendly and assisted with everything. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaTravelTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric K, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Greeting SeaTravelTime,

We are so glad to hear that your repeat visits were a repeat success. We are glad to hear that you've had a wonderful time and that our staff's efforts to be of your service turned to a good result.

Should you plan to stay with us again in the future, please feel free to contact us back at chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com and mention that you've reviewed us at TripAdvisor page.

I wish you the best and I hope to be of your service again.

Warm regards,

Eric Kwon
The GEM Hotel - Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Its true that the price of this hotel makes it very attractive. For that reason I chose it for a recent business trip and it was indeed perfectly located for my needs. The hotel has a wonderful New York charm about it which initially endeared me to the place, but after a few days the charm wore off. The room was small but by no means was that a concern for me, it had everything I needed so it worked out great. I had a great room with a view, positioned right on the corner of w22nd Street and 8th Avenue on the fourth floor. The only problem is that in the 'city that never sleeps' with that room it meant that you will never sleep too. Fire engines, police cars, crowds of people, street sweepers, all going throughout the night right passed your head. The bathroom was great, again, wonderful new york charm and had everything I needed. The only 'complaint' I have was that the room was always cold. It was like the walls and windows were there just for display rather than function. I'd imagine that would be great but I was there during some particularly chilly nights. The heater was adequate however, its just a shame the room was so cold. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Chelsea, and with no breakfast on offer you have the most amazing bagel bakery right across the block to indulge in. Overall nothing really wrong with the place and I would probably tell people about it, along with my views of the 'charm'. A good average hotel

Room Tip: There are plenty of rooms without a street view. As unexciting as it sounds, if you're a light s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russco2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for your informative review of the hotel. We value your input because it gives everyone at the Gem a foundation to build upon to make your next visit more comfortable and smooth. On your next visit I would recommended staying in one of your Business class room that has a view of 22nd st which is much more calm and quite compared to 8th avenue. The road to excellence would never be reached without guest such as yourself to guide us in the right direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,470 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The GEM Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Property: The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Address: 300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011-2602 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,857 - ₹ 29,129
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Chelsea is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide an intimate, boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities. This New York City boutique hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhood of Chelsea. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to Penn Station and world-famous Midtown Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, the campus of New York University (NYU) and the Empire State Building. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. Surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, the Flatiron District, Union Square, Midtown and the Meat Packing District.The GEM Hotel Chelsea offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast LCD televisions with HD channels,iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The GEM Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing