We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 217
US$ 206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$ 208
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$ 223
US$ 203
Triumph Hotels
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
US$ 308
US$ 274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 313
US$ 239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 340
US$ 312
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 515
US$ 415
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 372
US$ 219
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 207
US$ 170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 296
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,298)
Filter reviews
1,298 results
Traveller rating
463
517
191
75
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
517
191
75
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallmurray's bagelsgreat locationrooftop deckthe high linenew yorkthe penthousethe empire state buildingqueen bedhotel roomup to datefront desk staffsubway stopstreet noisefitness centeraround the cornerfew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
995 - 1,000 of 1,298 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here for one night after seeing Oprah at Radio City. This was a great location away from the craziness of Times Square. The rooms are small, but very well put together with a kind of upscale feel. They do seem to cater to the gay crowd or business crowd, rather than families. The area is chock full of great restaurants and stores and you a a couple of blocks form the High line park. The bathrooms were very nice with a walkin shower with a rainfall shower head. The sink area did leave little room for toiletries. The service was GREAT!!! Everyone we encountered was very welcoming and warm. On the roof there is an open air deck with lounge chairs & tables to have your morning coffee or justt relax with a stunning view of the Empire State Bldg. I highly recommend the Gem Chelsea if you are looking for a laid back, upscale, quiet hotel in a great neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertwcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for you comments. We at the gem use your truthful insights to make your experience and every guest that walk thru our doors comforting and unique. We hope that you chose the Gem as your home away from home while staying in NYC.

Chelsea Concierge

The GEM Hotel – Chelsea
300 West 22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

thegemhotel.com

Your Corner of the World

Closest Subways
A C E @ 23rd & 8th Avenue (Chelsea)
1 @ 23rd & 7th Avenue (Chelsea)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The GEM in Chelsa is a very nice hotel with rooms that are small if you have a single queen bed. The location is fanastic, close to the Highline Park and walking distance to Chelsa Market. Quite street location is very nice. The room had a small wardrobe that one door would hit the air conditioner so you could not open it all the way. The bathroom sink is very small with little room to set down any toiletry items. The staff were very cordial and helpful. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are smaller than middle rooms on the floors
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoeyeswild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric K, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Greetings twoeyeswild,

Thank you so much for your mindful review, and we always strive to use our guests' valuable comments to reflect on further improvement. We regret to hear that your stay wasn't perfect with us due to the room size, but we can always assure you that our service will top off that missing piece.

Should you plan to stay with us again, please feel free to contact us back at chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com and mention that you've provided us a review at our TripAdvisor page.

I wish you the best, and hope to be of your service once again.

Warm regards,

Eric Kwon
The GEM Hotel - Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Had another great stay at the GEM hotel in Chelsea. Well appointed and efficient clean room with a great bathroom! Staff was always friendly and assisted with everything. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeaTravelTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric K, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Greeting SeaTravelTime,

We are so glad to hear that your repeat visits were a repeat success. We are glad to hear that you've had a wonderful time and that our staff's efforts to be of your service turned to a good result.

Should you plan to stay with us again in the future, please feel free to contact us back at chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com and mention that you've reviewed us at TripAdvisor page.

I wish you the best and I hope to be of your service again.

Warm regards,

Eric Kwon
The GEM Hotel - Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Its true that the price of this hotel makes it very attractive. For that reason I chose it for a recent business trip and it was indeed perfectly located for my needs. The hotel has a wonderful New York charm about it which initially endeared me to the place, but after a few days the charm wore off. The room was small but by no means was that a concern for me, it had everything I needed so it worked out great. I had a great room with a view, positioned right on the corner of w22nd Street and 8th Avenue on the fourth floor. The only problem is that in the 'city that never sleeps' with that room it meant that you will never sleep too. Fire engines, police cars, crowds of people, street sweepers, all going throughout the night right passed your head. The bathroom was great, again, wonderful new york charm and had everything I needed. The only 'complaint' I have was that the room was always cold. It was like the walls and windows were there just for display rather than function. I'd imagine that would be great but I was there during some particularly chilly nights. The heater was adequate however, its just a shame the room was so cold. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Chelsea, and with no breakfast on offer you have the most amazing bagel bakery right across the block to indulge in. Overall nothing really wrong with the place and I would probably tell people about it, along with my views of the 'charm'. A good average hotel

Room Tip: There are plenty of rooms without a street view. As unexciting as it sounds, if you're a light sleeper you may want to request one of those
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russco2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you for your informative review of the hotel. We value your input because it gives everyone at the Gem a foundation to build upon to make your next visit more comfortable and smooth. On your next visit I would recommended staying in one of your Business class room that has a view of 22nd st which is much more calm and quite compared to 8th avenue. The road to excellence would never be reached without guest such as yourself to guide us in the right direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel is set in a great location, we walked everywhere from here. On our arrival the receptionist was so accommodating, and we were checked in within five minutes. Our room was small but had a great outlook over the street and was very clean - which was our main priority. It had everything we needed including coffee making facilities and free wifi. Nothing was too much for the staff from looking up opening times of various attractions to booking us a car back to the airport, which was cheaper than a taxi. We would definitely not hesitate to book this hotel again on our return to New York

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muffy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric K, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Greetings Muffy1962,

Thank you so much for your kind reviews for our hotel, and we are glad to hear that we were able to make your stay more memorable that it would have been. Our focus is always set to our guests having a wonderful time at our hotel, and seems that we were able to do the same with you as with all guests that plans to stay with us.

Thank you for your encouraging comments and will make sure to share your kind words with my team. We are always hungry to hear these encouraging words from guests like you. Thank you.

Should you plan to give us another visit, please feel free to contact us back at chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com and mention that you've reviewed us at our TripAdvisor page.

I wish you the best in all and hope to hear back from you again.

Warm regards,

Eric Kwon
The GEM Hotel - Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews