We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, highly recommended”

Real New York Tours
Ranked #2 of 619 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: The Original NYC Walking & Subway Tour Celebrating our 10th Year! Lets face it, New York tours are only as good as their tour guides. Real New York Tours gives people the opportunity to see the city through the eyes of real New Yorkers. Real New York Tours explores the history, the cracks and crevices, the side streets, and culture of real New York neighborhoods. We’ll ride the New York subway, pound the pavement, and meet the people who have become the fabric of this great city. Together we will feel the electricity that drives everyday New Yorkers. This is real New York!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, highly recommended”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We hired Fabrice for the big 6 hour personal tour of NYC recently and were not disappointed. Bring good walking shoes, water and a bit of food as well. We hit all the major spots in the city, used the subway, took lots of pictures and asked loads of questions which were answered intelligently and with a lot of background knowledge. A+ for Fabrice!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank canuckrs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,118
    192
    28
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Day w/Greg B.”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We booked tour via internet/email, w/ quick response from Amber & Kristy. We did the Big Apple (6 hr) tour with Greg B. We had special interest in all things music along with the history. Greg was on time and immediately asked what we've already done & where we'd like to focus, since we had already done Central Park on our own, it gave us time for him to customize our tour to spend a little more time with the history of RocknRoll, East Village, Chelsea, Greenwich Village, etc. He made sure we got a great cup of 'Joe's' coffee, and showed us some great local eats along the way. We had two 16 yr old teens and they were thouroughly entertained not only in the history but the pop culture that they were interested in. All I can say is this tour was AMAZING!!! We actually were quite exhausted after 6 hrs but Greg was ready to keep going if we wanted. We definitely plan to book another tour with Greg the next time we are in NYC. Maybe do something off the beaten path, i.e. Brooklyn and Queens. We have to go back just to spend time eating, lol. Thanks!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Extrememomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Private 40th Birthday Tour: Best Guide, Best Gift”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Friends and I came to NYC to celebrate our 40th and our guide, Ben & Real New York Tours, were THE BEST gift. We did the Half-Dozen Tour (4 hours)--and it was perfect! They were easy to work with and very responsive--it's hard to know if an online company will live-up to expectations, but they exceeded them.

Ben, our guide, met our group at our hotel--and was so accommodating, kind and knowledgable. Everyone loved him! Thanks for making our Big 40 in The Big Apple wishes come true.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank artshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dozen Apples (6hr) tour of New York”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Myself and my wife booked the 6hr walking tour of New York as it was our 1st visit to the city and wanted to get a concentrated crash course in all things New York. Have to say i wasn't disappointed. We had Nathan as our guide and from the 1st moment we felt at ease. Nathan is obviously a proud New Yorker and it shone through during the 6 hours we spent in his company. I don't really have anything negative to say about this tour. If you want to get a feel for what New York is all about and your time is precious then I recommend this tour. You will feel absolutely knackered by the end but you'll feel good for it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDouglasClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Private Night Tour 24th March”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Hi Luke, I'm finally getting to write about our specially arranged night time tour of NYC. Our tour guide Greg could not have been any better. I was with a party of nine and we'd travelled in from Boston by car on the Saturday for a three day stay. We had arranged for a 5:00pm-11:00pm tour but were running late on the day and kept Greg waiting a bit as we checked into the hotel. We set off at 6:00pm at a steady pace because one of our party had walking difficulties. Greg could not have been more helpful or informative on our tour and managed to squeeze in all the places we wanted to see. Even though we were late he still gave us the full six hours of the tour and being a massive John Lennon fan I was pleased to finally get to see The Dakota building in real life. That alone made the tour worth the money for me as I fulfilled a promise made many years ago to myself. He gave us the confidence for the rest of our stay to get around on the subway system and had the patience to show us how to plan our trips. Believe me he'll probably remember our party obtaining tickets to bemusement of his fellow New Yorkers! My only regret is we didn't give ourselves enough time in your wonderful city and will return again one day. I hope then to book another of your tours and soak up more of NYC. If you do one thing in New York make sure you go on a Real New York Tour, you won't regret it!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Real New York Tours also viewed

 

Been to Real New York Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing