We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, comfortable, great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #289 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good location, comfortable, great view”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just spent 3 nights here. Loved the location for sight-seeing both uptown and downtown. With Candlewood Suites located right next door there are lots of cabs on W. 39th in front of the hotel. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful, stored our luggage upon our early arrival and arranged for Priority Club 1:00PM check-in. Auxillary staff were equally friendly, always said hello or good morning when encountered in halls or on elevators.

We had a King bed room on 36th floor (Rm 3606) with a fantastic view looking downtown. The Empire State Building was visible on our left, the new Freedom Tower downtown could be clearly seen - already all lit up at night, by the way - and the Hudson Riverwas over to our right. Wish I had brought binoculars and next time I will, for sure.

The room was basically clean and nicely decorated. It was not huge, but it certainly was adequate for two. A few small negatives - the mirrors in the room were not clean upon arrival (hand/fingerprints visible) and these smudges were not removed during our stay. The mattress and the pillows were VERY comfortable. On one of our days there was no top sheet put onto the bed. (Not the "top, top" sheet, I'm talking about the upper sheet right above the fitted bottom sheet.)However, a fresh sheet was provided within 5 minutes of our call to the front desk.

Bathroom: Very clean. Small with tub, toilet and a very small vanity. A negative: The white cast iron bathtub has a large chip on the floor surface of the tub. A simple paint-on repair needs to be done.

On an evening we felt like eating in, friendly front desk personnel provided us with menus for 5 different local restaurants that deliver to the hotel. We chose Fat Sal's Pizza - but ordered full dinners. Delicious food and a lot of it, for a reasonable price! A delicious veal parmesan dinner with salad and bread for $12.95 in Manhattan? Wow!

The elevator situation is the same as in many tall buildings I have stayed in or worked in. At certain very busy times of day, it can take a while. You need to allow for this when figuring the time to leave your room for a scheduled event. Just leave 10 minutes earlier than you normally would at peak hours - which would be breakfast time, checkout time, check in time, etc.

Tip: When staying on an upper floor, keep pressing the call button from time to time as you wait. Thus, in case your call was cancelled by another person on a lower floor, you will send another call into the system.

Breakfast: I thought it was outstanding for choices. A much wider choice of breakfast foods than I have seen at many other Holiday Inn Expresses. Four different juice choices. Pancakes, sausage patties, bacon, omelettes. Watch out - the coffee is hot, hot, hot!

For smokers: Non-smoking building. There's a park bench located outside of the entrance on W. 39th St. where you can chat with other guests and even some locals from time to time.


Yes, I would definitely stay here again. The only reason I gave 4 stars rather than 5 stars was the few minor problems - which I would be willing to bet will be corrected promptly.

Room Tip: I would wait for an elevator any old time in order to have the fantastic view of the city one gets f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaPittsburgh94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Hello BellaPittsburgh94! Thank you for writing such a thorough, objective review of your stay. We have to admit, we were surprised to see such a well written review pointing out important aspects of our hotel. We have already shared your review with each department head in our hotel and will definitely take advantage of your comments in order to improve our hotel and services. We sincerely appreciate your review and would love to have you stay with us again so we can make sure we do everything we can to earn those 5 stars! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    914
    350
    82
    61
See reviews for
697
585
98
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It was our first trip to New York, The location wasn't bad, fairly close to Times Square. The room was small but very clean. We were only in the room to sleep so it didn't matter that much. All the staff were were friendly and polite. We stayed with our two teenage sons. We had a great time and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Hi there! Thank you for choosing our hotel for you first trip to New York! We really hope you enjoyed your time here and that we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for sharing your comments with the Trip Advisor community. We hope others will benefit from your review. Please come back and visit us again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

I donot know what came into me taking my family to this place. A gay strip club is on the way to Times Square and I had my wife, two under 6 kids, my younger sister and my mother with me. Moreover, it is four rooms or so per floor over more than 25 or so floor being served with only one elevator! Thus, it is not suitable at all for families. Otherwise, if you are travelling alone or just a couple on a limited budget, this is good enough. Very short walk to Times Square, NY Times building and the Grand Station. Given it is an express, the deli next door is great help but closes early. Also Hertz is very close by and so many exits from the island for drivers. The breakfast is very limited in a very small room but decent.

Stayed September 2011
Helpful?
Thank FahadDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share you experience with other travelers. We really appreciate you choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs while in NYC. We would like to apologize for failing to meet all of your expectations. We realize that there are some businesses in NYC that are not exactly family friendly, but unfortunately we cannot control their right to operate. We counter this with a warm, safe and friendly environment to return to after a long day in the city. We also apologize that you experienced delays with our elevators. Both of our elevators are up and running great now, so we hope you get a chance to come back and try them out! We understand that our hotel may not have been ideal for your needs, but rest assured, we do whatever we can to make sure our guests are happy and comfortable while they are with us. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 6 nights on our trip to New York, after reading other reviews we were worried the rooms would be too small for an extended stay but it was perfect for our needs. The rooms were clean and comfortable the bed was awesome a full king size and the pillows were really comfortable, there was a big flat screen TV as well as an amazing heating system. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well. Breakfast was busy in the morning but we were there at the same time as a large school group, this also made the elevators very busy as well, all in all it was a wonderful stay.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Hello BioC! Thanks so much for the kind review of our hotel! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your needs. Apologies for the congestion in our breakfast area during your stay, but we greatly appreciate your understanding. We hope you get a chance to stay with us again in the near future. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a great place to stay near Times Square, this is the place for you! We arrived before just hoping to drop our bags somewhere, and they had our room ready!!! The ladies at the front desk were extremely nice and helpful so that left a great impression right off the bat. Sure the rooms are a little tight on space but nothing you can't manage...what do you expect in the heart of the city? The freebie breakfast was great and the complaints in previous reviews about long waits with only 2 elevators in a 36 story hotel have not materialized for us so it's been a great stay. The heart of Times Square is literally an easy 5-10 minute walk so if you want to stay somewhere close to the action that is nice, new, folks are friendly, and it won't break your budget...then check out Holiday Inn Express on West 39th Street. This place rocks!!!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TGS634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Your review rocks! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really enjoyed reading your review and we hope others will too. It’s great to see you enjoyed your time in NYC and we were happy to be a part of that. We sincerely hope to have you stay with us again soon! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#188 of 468 in New York City
560 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#182 of 468 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#216 of 468 in New York City
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#239 of 468 in New York City
2,355 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#273 of 468 in New York City
1,985 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#133 of 468 in New York City
5,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,710 - ₹ 26,913
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing