We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“the staff is amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #258 of 463 Hotels in New York City
panama
1 review
“the staff is amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

the service is great, specially the supervisor of the cafeteria, Ivet... they exceeded our expectatives, we travel very often to NY and we always stay in this hotel, is cozy, clean comfortable and the most important thing the people...they are the best!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yosi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for the great review! We are honored to be your hotel of choice in NYC and we will always do our best to keep it that way. Thank you so much for mentioning our staff, especially Ivet. We all work around the clock to ensure our guests receive only the best service and value for their money and we are glad to see we have created a relationship with yet another regular guest. Thanks again for the generous feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    866
    318
    74
    53
See reviews for
650
550
94
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

1. Choose a high floor.......we did...not noisy!! and had excellent views.
2. Yes elevator is busy.but.if you want a good view & no noise from street it's worth it !!
3. Yes breakfast is busy.. but ok.. & gd choice of food, had everything we wanted.
4. You are in New York every where is busy!! enjoy it !!
5. Staff very helpful. fresh baked cookies in the afternoon! nice touch !!
6. Room...Clean.... i stayed with my two teenage daughters. its not huge..but we did it without any arguing !!! lol !!!
7. Fab little restaurant on the corner, turn right out of hotel, it's on the left on the corner " the sandwich planet" good food very reasonable.
8. 5 mins walk to times square. gd location... enjoy ur stay.... WE DID !!!!!

Room Tip: high floor, don't have ice machine on your floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheinmyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Hello and thank you for the kind review of our hotel! Your notes were very fun to read and we are glad that you had such a pleasant experience finding your answers! We hope that you and your family had a terrific time in NYC and that we exceeded your expectations. If this was your first time staying with us, we hope it was not your last. We look forward to having you back again soon! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We live on the West coast, so we took a red eye in and arrived at the hotel at about 11:00 am. The hotel did not have our room available yet (check in is not until 4), but were able to offer us a room with the same bedding, but a different view. They offered to put us in this room for the night so that we could get some sleep before our show that evening, but said they would switch us to the room we had booked in the morning. What a blessing! I was traveling with my daughter and we were both worn out. The ladies at the front desk were also happy to help us navigate the subway system. Even the maintenance man was friendly! The employees at this hotel were the nicest people we met in New York, in fact! The rooms are very large for New York and the hotel is only about 3 years old. Times square is only 3 blocks away and there are tons of places to eat nearby. The subway is also 3 blocks away. Any concerns we had were addressed right away. In fact, they were more helpful than any hotel I can remember staying at in recent history. The free breakfast in the morning is more than enough and includes both hot and cold dishes. It does get busy around 7:45, but even with tour groups during spring break we never had a problem finding a table. I can't say enough about this hotel... definitely glad we stayed here! Also a good thing to know: I am a young woman who was traveling alone with my elementary school age daughter and we never felt unsafe on the streets surrounding the hotel. Very safe area!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3204 and had a view of the Hudson River, the New Yorker, and the Empire State Buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caanjl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Wow! Thank you for the amazing review of our hotel! We are so humbled by your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed reading your review and appreciate your mention of our staff. We definitely strive to contradict the perception that New Yorkers are rude. Our entire staff works around the clock to ensure our guests feel at home and receive the best service around. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we can’t wait to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My Wife and 2 daughters stayed for 5 nights in early April 2012 and had booked a Family room with 2 double beds. The room turned out to be much smaller than expected (after staying in many family rooms in UK) .The beds were 3/4 size at best and with one small wardrobe and 4 hangers (1 each) we decided to book another room. To be fair the staff (whilst they could do little about the extortionate rate we had to pay for the additional room) were very helpful and understanding and this continued during the stay. There are 6 rooms on each floor of the hotel and with 36 floors and just 2 lifts there can sometimes be a wait. Breakfast was included and was basic and the breakfast room a bit to small for the number of guests the food was always hot and fresh (Omelets , Sausage patties , bagels Etc) and the staff were helpful. Even though the address is Times square you are probably a good 10 - 15 minuet walk to the centre (Red Steps) which is not really an issue as you are located about the same walk from the "Hells Kitchen" area which is famed for it diverse restaurants. We took out the 3 day New York pass which we found to be good vale (approx $130 pp) and gets you into all the main attractions and also includes the Water Taxi and Manhattan Cruise (Well recommended). Whilst there we saw Sister Act after buying the tickets at the TKTS booth (located under the red steps in times square). The booth opens at 10am most days for matinee shows and 3pm for evening performances. Best advice is get there early as queues can be large but in fairness do move quickly one box office opens. We paid $66 each which was much cheaper than cost of pre booking in UK. All in all I can not say it was an unpleasant stay at the hotel as New York is more about the city than the room , however I would look for something else if you are after a larger family type room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andybev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Hi Andybev123! We really appreciate your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to see you enjoyed your time here in NYC, but are disappointed that we failed to give you a “Perfect” stay. Although we are limited by our room sizes and breakfast congestion, we strive to overcome these deficiencies with excellent guest service and memorable experiences. We understand and respect your needs when traveling but hope you will consider staying with us again so we can prove to you that our service far outweighs our flaws. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My daughter and I spent two nights/three days at this hotel, and I can't say enough great things about the staff and attention to detail! We were there to celebrate her birthday, and when we went to our room (which they upgraded in honor of the occasion!) there were birthday balloons and a box of mini-cupcakes waiting for us. We arrived at noon, and the staff ticketed our bags and held them until check-in time so we could go about our day. The front desk always spoke to us by name as we came and left, and asked if there was anything they could do to make our stay more comfortable. One night, I called down for an extra blanket, and two minutes later, we had not only a blanket, but two extra pillows as well. The complimentary breakfast was very good and replenished often. It was very crowded, but the staff did all they could to help us find a seat or carry our food to our room. The only complaint I had was the elevator wait, but I feel certain that this is the norm in high-rise hotels all over the city. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend this property to anyone staying near Times Square. It was within walking distance of most of the things we wanted to see, and very close to the hop-on, hop-off bus stop. A special thank you to Alex, who was especially attentive!

Room Tip: Let the staff know why you are traveling and ask them for room recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Hello and thank you for the great review! We’re so happy to see you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make your daughter’s birthday a special one! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we hope that everything exceeded your expectations. We apologize for the delays you experienced with our elevator service, but please know that it is an issue we are working on improving as we speak! We are humbled that you recommended us to other travelers and we sincerely hope to have you stay with us again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#193 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#164 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#191 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#230 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#265 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#138 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,738 - ₹ 32,221
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing