We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Great Way to Spend and Afternoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foods of New York Tours

Foods of New York Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted BEST CITY TOUR by CitySearch & praised by TIme Out New York Magazine with the phrase: "There is delicious justification for their popularity." We offer food tours 7 days a week and we tour in 5 different NYC neighborhoods. Check out our page with over 19,000 reviews. We are NEW YORK'S FIRST & BEST. Since 1999 we've been giving Food Tasting & Cultural Walking Tours through New York City's most delicious and historic neighborhoods. We provide a "Non-Touristy" experience so you feel like a Native New Yorker! And even if you are a native NYer, we'll show you some secret gems in downtown NYC that you may have missed. Each tour includes food tastings from specialty food shops, ethnic eateries, and local restaurants, as well as an "off the beaten path" glimpse of life in New York City -the history, culture, architecture, and entertainment offerings. We're New York's best Food Tasting & Cultural Walking tour! We can't wait to show you our favorite spots - and feed you all along the way. Come see us soon.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Great Way to Spend and Afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Four friends recently did this tour of SoHo and it was wonderful. Our host Susan, had a vast knowldge of local lore and we tasted some excellent food while walking around. I wasn't aware that most of the tour is outside, regardless of the weather so be prepared just in case.

Although we had small samples, by the end of the tour we were stuffed and the variety of food was really good. The overall group was quite small - I think around 15, so we had a chance to talk to the other participants and socialize.

This was our first time in New York City and this tour was a terrific way to get to know a small area of the city well.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank allayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,121
    177
    28
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My sister and I recently went on a Food Tour in NYC for her birthday. We go into the city often and wanted to do something different. We decided on a food tour since I had taken one in Chicago and loved it. We took the tour of Greenwich Village. Our guide was Bert and he was great! He gave some fun facts about the area that we were walking through. The food was great and the different selections were great. The company has a few different tours. I can't wait to go back and do one of the other tours!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahhma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost too delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The tour was sensational and the food was nearly as good.

Arriving in a rush, we were immediately put at ease by our guide Kerrianne who got the whole group together and excited for the upcoming tour. Sampling more than enough on our trip (including three different bits of pizza!) the value for money is unquestionable and the quality of food and knowledge which is imparted is also great.

I think everyone on the tour appreciated the first half being mainly about food, and the second half being more walking around historic West Village and Greenwich. We got details about the building processes, rental rates, previous tenants, off, off broadway definitions and many other off the cuff questions that Kerrianne answered in great detail.

Would happily do it again, and will recommend to everyone on their way o NYC.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Will K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a delectable, informative treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is the original, and by far the best culinary, gourmet tour you'll find in New York. There are a lot of copy cats, but nothing beats the quality and route of these tours.
We took the Greenwich Village tour on a lovely, sunny day. Our guide had water bottles for all of us, which was very thoughtful. She was enthusiastic and incredibly engaging and knowledgeable. The group size was small and she knew everyone's name and involved everyone in the narrative over the course of those 3 hours.
The tour wasn't just about the food and it's provenance. It included a history of the neighbourhoods we walked through, the restaurants and their owners (some of whom we got to meet) and little nuggets like a glimpse into the dames Cherry Lane Theatre theatre where Barbara Streisand was an usher. Our guide was also very knowledgeable about the neighbourhood's architecture and the history of its built form. Something of great interest to me.
What is unique about this tour is the number of great restaurants you get too see and taste food from. On a trip to New York, I would have neither the time, nor budget (nor knowledge) to find these myself. I'm going to make a tour with these folks a fixture of every trip I make. they book up quickly, so make sure you reserve your tickets soon.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ezelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greenwich Village Foodie Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Last week some friends treated me to the above walking tour for my birthday (they came along too!). We were the only “locals” on this fun and yummy trip through the Village and we had a great time. I just want to give a “shout out” to Marie who really made the neighborhood, past and present, come to life and is very passionate about the locale and her guests. She managed to learn people’s names and where they were from, in such a short time, very impressive. Also, the places we stopped to eat were well thought out, and very accommodating not to mention great food choices. Thanks!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foods of New York Tours also viewed

 

Been to Foods of New York Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing