We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for exploring New York (Queen Superior Room recommended!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marrakech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel
Ranked #384 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring New York (Queen Superior Room recommended!)”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

After being put in a regular double by mistake (an being rather disappointed) we were moved quickly to what we had paid for - Superior Room. All rooms were very clean and cleaned daily. We had three windows overlooking Broadway, very comfy bed, large room with wardrobe and desk and lovely little bathroom. This was a great find and really enjoyed our stay. The fan and air conditioning were really appreciated.

The subway station Red 1 line - 103st is 2 seconds away, Starbucks underneath you, Subway opposite, plenty of bars, restaurants, cafes and grocery stores in evry direction - you are really spoilt for choice here.

The hotel lobby is deocrated beautifully, a shame that the hotel has no liquor license at the moment as woul have liked to enjoyed a cocktail there but it was a good area to sit and check mail etc before heading out on a day's sightseeing.

The hallways are a little small and yes there is no elevator but it was no hardship to walk them! Just a bit awkward with suitcases.

Staff were very helpful and knowledgable - good find and recommended for travellers looking for a simple base to stay with local places to eat and hang out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JemnTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    543
    426
    184
    199
See reviews for
276
622
111
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

On the internet this hotel looked like a sweet and well maintained boutique place.
It is not.
It is small, the hallways look dangerously cramped and the rooms are smaller than my desk (okay, so I have a large desk). First we had to lug our suitcases up the stairs to the front desk, and when we got to our teeny tiny room we were already done. Booked a stay at Westin online and left after ten minutes. Not staying there then, now or ever.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BizTravel1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Walking through the lobby, my boyfriend and I loved the funky Moroccan look. Wonderful tiles, a really cool sitting area and cool lamps made the place unique and fun.
But the fun ended when we walked up three dark, narrow flights of stairs to our room. (Better lighting would have really helped.)
First of all, don't be fooled by the Website. Our room was tiny, grim, hot, dark, and sparser than a monk's cell. But all of those things would have been OK if it wasn't for the bed. I've never slept on a harder bed in my life, no kidding, it was like a concrete slab. And there's nothing like waking up stiff and sore after being abused all night only to find out that there's not enough hot water for more than one person to take a shower, and a fast one at that.
We solved the bed problem by laying pillows on top of the mattress and tucking a sheet around them. To deal with the shower, I didn't wash my hair for two days, it was just too cold.
Finally, there was no internet in the room and while the lobby did have service, it was way too slow to be usable. I tried to go downstairs and look up movie times, but it took so long we just gave up.
That said, the people at the front desk were nice and the lobby is very cool.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Erika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have really nothing to add to Wynne & Scooby Doo reviews and echo their sentiments. The only additional thing was that the hotel upgraded us as we were on our honeymoon which was awesome.
The hotel is a great little place in a good location at reasonable rates (well, for NYC anyway !!)

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 33Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I spent a week at this hotel with my family and did so in some trepidation having read previous reviews.

There were reports of bedbugs, bad service and worse.

Those who wrote about bedbugs in 2009 should be aware that this problem was rife in 2009 throughout New York. There was no evidence of this in 2012!

We found the hotel to be clean, well run, convenient, in a safe and convenient location and I recommend it for inexpensive accommodation in the Apple.

There are lots of good restaurants, a Starbucks below it, a subway station 103rd on Line One, a few metres away and the area is clean and safe.

The staff are friendly and helpful and unless you want to pay a lot more this is a very good little hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wynne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
617 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
1,253 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#303 of 467 in New York City
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#397 of 467 in New York City
1,478 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#433 of 467 in New York City
816 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#435 of 467 in New York City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel

Property: Marrakech Hotel
Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025-4411
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,105 - ₹ 21,246
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City, all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marrakech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing