We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!”
Review of Marrakech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel
Ranked #391 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
269 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“OMG!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I have been staying in NYC a half dozen times a year for the last few years. We have visited several budget hotels and enjoyed all of them for different reasons. We like the East Village and we like the Upper West Side. Problem is, once the weather gets nicer, many hotels only accept multiple night bookings, and the prices also go up. So what's a couple on a budget to do?

I took advantage of a special online, and sight unseen, booked a night at the Marrakech Hotel on 103rd Street and Broadway. In the heart of the Jazz district, where The Upper West Side dances with Harlem. What was probably a scary area years ago, is now one of the hip places to be in NYC. With Columbia University nearby, there is a student influence, and the Hotel itself was once a shelter back in the scary days. You would not know that by looking at the place today. It looks like a college dorm with a spectacular makeover. Once you get past the lovely lobby, the hotel looks more and more like a college dorm, which had me flashing back to my days of staying out late, partying, and having loud fun.

We are fairly fit people, and we walk all over the city, but we saw some out of shape folks carrying big suitcases and having a little trouble getting up the stairs. We had no problem, as we travel light, but others who need an elevator will be saddened. The lobby is on the second floor. There appeared a gentleman who could help others, but the hotel gets busy on check in. The staff was friendly.

The rooms are small and sparse, but pretty and efficient. We had two windows and not much of a view from either, but we were in the back of the building, so that meant less street noise. Other noises could be heard, however (more on that later). The bathroom was decent and the shower was great. Takes a little bit to get the hot water going but it had great pressure and I had no complaints. The room was reasonably clean, but you could tell they did a quick job of it, and missed things around the edges. The carpets are getting a little old, but nothing unacceptable. The bed was very comfortable. Could have used more than just the two bath towels left for us. Can't recall the last time a hotel had no face cloths, but we decided to let it slide.

The 103rd Street station is right on the corner, and you can take the #1 train to get anywhere in minutes. The immediate area around the hotel was very nice, with dozens of restaurants and delis to choose from. Also a few Jazz clubs and bars for entertainment. Central Park is all of three blocks away. Best accessed on 105th or 96th street.

Older people staying here might find certain things off-putting, like the amorous couple that woke us up at 5:45AM with their loud and passionate lovemaking. I'm actually surprised this has not happened before, since we have stayed in so many hotels in NYC. But with the young lady yelling "oh gawd oh gawd oh gawd!" So many times, we started laughing. Lucky for us, we have a good sense of humor.

We enjoyed our stay at the Marrakech, although it was a leap of faith. Next time, I will probably try another place on Broadway a little closer to downtown, like the Hotel Newton, just to see the difference, and add to my NYC experience, but for one night, if the price is right, I would certainly recommend it to a younger couple, or even a small group of friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PFandtheFlyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    548
    438
    187
    202
See reviews for
284
632
113
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This hotel is about 100 years' old and it shows! We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who assisted us by carrying our luggage up the four flights of narrow stairs as there are no lifts.

Our room was very dark and poorly lit. On our first night we encountered an extremely soft mattress which sagged in the middle, therefore we had a very poor night's sleep. We were moved to another room where the mattress was not that much better. However the worst feature of this new room was the tiny bathroom. It was actually smaller than the bathroom we had in our recent cruise-ship cabin. We had to dry off in the bedroom!

The tap in the shower was very hard to turn on and also hard to adjust the temperature.

The housekeeping lacked attention to detail, such as omitting to leave hand towels, face cloths and bathroom mats over the three nights we stayed.

There were no room safes, tea/coffee-making facilities or refrigerators and the lobby was very basic. There was also no restaurant to provide breakfast. Luckily there were some reasonable diners within walking distance. The carpeted and tiled areas of the rooms seemed to require a good steam clean.

The best features of this hotel were the helpful, friendly staff and the close location to the subway entrance.

To sum up ... a forgettable experience and we were very happy to check out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giraaroundarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel during the Holidays end 2011. The staff is very friendly but the rooms are a little worn out and the beds are really small. We did not sleep well. The hotel is not expensive so it is probably good value for the money you pay.
When we came we did not like the room which was offered and we were given another room whic was good service. With the metro just outside you can reach the centre in just 10 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I wasn't going to write a review so didn't take many photos but now I feel obliged to warn any potential guests.
We stayed at the hotel last week & now deeply regret not choosing a different one closer to the centre. However there is a subway outside Marrakech with line 1, 2 & 3 taking you to the centre in about 15-20mins but add another 15mins for walking in the subway maze. It is a waste of time AND money as the transport in NYC isn't cheap. One ride is $2.50 but on a Metro card is $2.25

Now the hotel itself.
The check-in was fairly quick as there were no other guests at the time but the attitude of the receptionist wasn't what we expected. After checking our room I politely asked if it was possible to change the room but I was refused & told all rooms looked the same. Really?!
We paid $645 for 2 people, 4 nights. Overpriced for what we had.
Our room was extremely hot as there's no aircon, very small & there was NO wardrobe to hang the clothes!! just 2 hangers on the door. Barely any place to move around. The view from the window was... a dirty yard & a brick wall.

The bed was reasonably comfortable but our sleep was disturbed by the annoying noise of some machinery sounding like an ancient air conditioning wannabe from the outside. We had to sleep with an open window as it was unbearably hot. Also the staff seem to make A LOT of noise at 6am waking us up every morning.
The bed was made everyday but the sheets were changed only once in 4 nights we stayed there.

The bathroom was small but fairly clean however I would recommend wearing flip flops in the shower as the floor looked dated & cracked. The towels were changed daily but there was only 1 face towel for two people on the first night.
The lighting in the room is very dark so forget about reading a book in the evening.
The room seemed to be cleaned (?) everyday but definitely not hoovered as we kept finding the same rubbish on the carpet every night and we also found A DIRTY SOCK from a previous guest under the bed!

The only place in the hotel we liked was its lobby - it had a nice Moroccan interior, 2 small TVs, no bar. Wifi was available only in the lobby but we seemed to have a connection in our room too.
A very important information - there is no lift meaning you have to drag your heavy suitcases to the 4 floor!! The stairs are narrow & if not careful you can fall easily.

The hotel offers no breakfast but there are plenty places to eat around & a Starbuck downstairs. We recommend Broadway Bagels 3 mins walking from the hotel, just turn left, its on the corner of 102nd &101st street or Absolute Bagels on 107th Str. on the right from the hotel. There are few decent restaurants around to eat your dinner at in the evening.

All in all I would never go back there & advice others to think twice before choosing Marrakech as its overpriced, far from the centre & hostel like.

Room Tip: Get a room on the south but don't expect any decent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanshou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Marrakech is on Broadway and 103st. It is a small, clean hotel with a friendly staff. Don't expect frills like a room thermostat, reliable hot water or an elevator. If you can live with those conditions and IF the price is right, try it. The #1 subway stops right outside the hotel, so the fact that you are quite far from the fun parts of the city, you are 10 minutes from the fun parts of central park, lincoln center, times square, herald square, Greenwich Village, Soho, Tribeca or South Ferry.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingProfsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#390 of 468 in New York City
627 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#314 of 468 in New York City
1,507 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#393 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 468 in New York City
1,282 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 468 in New York City
834 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#430 of 468 in New York City
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel

Property: Marrakech Hotel
Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025-4411
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,366 - ₹ 21,961
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City, all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marrakech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing