We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“friendly staff, small rooms and beds” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Ranked #383 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“friendly staff, small rooms and beds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel during the Holidays end 2011. The staff is very friendly but the rooms are a little worn out and the beds are really small. We did not sleep well. The hotel is not expensive so it is probably good value for the money you pay.
When we came we did not like the room which was offered and we were given another room whic was good service. With the metro just outside you can reach the centre in just 10 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    534
    418
    183
    195
See reviews for
271
609
110
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I wasn't going to write a review so didn't take many photos but now I feel obliged to warn any potential guests.
We stayed at the hotel last week & now deeply regret not choosing a different one closer to the centre. However there is a subway outside Marrakech with line 1, 2 & 3 taking you to the centre in about 15-20mins but add another 15mins for walking in the subway maze. It is a waste of time AND money as the transport in NYC isn't cheap. One ride is $2.50 but on a Metro card is $2.25

Now the hotel itself.
The check-in was fairly quick as there were no other guests at the time but the attitude of the receptionist wasn't what we expected. After checking our room I politely asked if it was possible to change the room but I was refused & told all rooms looked the same. Really?!
We paid $645 for 2 people, 4 nights. Overpriced for what we had.
Our room was extremely hot as there's no aircon, very small & there was NO wardrobe to hang the clothes!! just 2 hangers on the door. Barely any place to move around. The view from the window was... a dirty yard & a brick wall.

The bed was reasonably comfortable but our sleep was disturbed by the annoying noise of some machinery sounding like an ancient air conditioning wannabe from the outside. We had to sleep with an open window as it was unbearably hot. Also the staff seem to make A LOT of noise at 6am waking us up every morning.
The bed was made everyday but the sheets were changed only once in 4 nights we stayed there.

The bathroom was small but fairly clean however I would recommend wearing flip flops in the shower as the floor looked dated & cracked. The towels were changed daily but there was only 1 face towel for two people on the first night.
The lighting in the room is very dark so forget about reading a book in the evening.
The room seemed to be cleaned (?) everyday but definitely not hoovered as we kept finding the same rubbish on the carpet every night and we also found A DIRTY SOCK from a previous guest under the bed!

The only place in the hotel we liked was its lobby - it had a nice Moroccan interior, 2 small TVs, no bar. Wifi was available only in the lobby but we seemed to have a connection in our room too.
A very important information - there is no lift meaning you have to drag your heavy suitcases to the 4 floor!! The stairs are narrow & if not careful you can fall easily.

The hotel offers no breakfast but there are plenty places to eat around & a Starbuck downstairs. We recommend Broadway Bagels 3 mins walking from the hotel, just turn left, its on the corner of 102nd &101st street or Absolute Bagels on 107th Str. on the right from the hotel. There are few decent restaurants around to eat your dinner at in the evening.

All in all I would never go back there & advice others to think twice before choosing Marrakech as its overpriced, far from the centre & hostel like.

Room Tip: Get a room on the south but don't expect any decent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanshou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Marrakech is on Broadway and 103st. It is a small, clean hotel with a friendly staff. Don't expect frills like a room thermostat, reliable hot water or an elevator. If you can live with those conditions and IF the price is right, try it. The #1 subway stops right outside the hotel, so the fact that you are quite far from the fun parts of the city, you are 10 minutes from the fun parts of central park, lincoln center, times square, herald square, Greenwich Village, Soho, Tribeca or South Ferry.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingProfsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here 6 nights and the service we received was very professional and very friendly at the same time not very big rooms but you don't spend long in your room when in the vibrant city of New York! Ideal location to the subway just minutes away from times square from where everything is happening!

Free wifi here but very very slow for America anyway. It's also in a very safe location there is also new York tax ontop of your bill which is stated when booking but every hotel had this so nothing new there!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chefreviewingchefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

the rooms are small but clean
the hallways are dark
the hotel is mostly filled with students who are obviously looking for a cheap place to stay.
I would recommend paying the few extra dollars and getting a nicer hotel however I can't say we were disappointed by this hotel. We got what we paid for. Also across the street from a subway stop which was great. We spent allot of time at the starbucks under the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#391 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#298 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#303 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#431 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#427 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#390 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Property: Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,855 - ₹ 20,566
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel on Broadway 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City,all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Marrakech Hotel on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing