We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place you NEED to stay in New York!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Morgans New York Hotel
Ranked #192 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
thessaloniki
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The place you NEED to stay in New York!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We chose this hotel for 2 reasons:
1) it was the only one which offered included breakfast in the price, and
2) it had the least negative comments on tripadvisor... And there is a reason for that!

Let me start first with its location: it is located in midtown yes, but it's not full of tourists (we were tourists ourselves, but we didn't want anything "touristic"). Madison avenue is a very classy avenue, very quiet, but yet only a minute away from 5th avenue and all the fuss! Plus it has an incredible view of the Empire state building, which is really really close to the hotel.

Now, the hotel itself is excellent. Very elegant, with an artistic touch, it gives you the idea that every single detail is well taken care of. The room was absolutely perfect! What striked me the most was the sofa near the window.. So NYC!! And of course the bed........ It was one of the MOST comfortable beds I've ever slept in! And the pillows? Paradise!

Plus, the staff is really polite and smart: I had mentioned that by the time of the arrival we would be newlly weds and they moved us to a bigger room and offered us some champaign for free!

Other than that, a nice lady cleaned our room every day and we had clean towels every single day (we stayed there 7 nights).
The amenities in the bathroom were from the label Malin&Goetz which are fantastic!!

The breakfast was rich: there were bagels, croissants, different kind of pastries, coffee and tea.

And the staff in general was really polite: they would greet us with a smile, open the door for us and ready to assist us.

I am already missing it... If you stay in New York, you should definitely stay there!

Room Tip: You should ask for a room with a view at the Empire State building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Wow! Your review made me so proud to run Morgans! Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It is a Monday morning and it really made me happy reading this. You have really described the hotel well.

Hope to see you again for another special occasion!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    674
    185
    53
    30
See reviews for
301
959
151
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My mother and I stayed for almost a week in July and we loved our time at Morgans. Its location is convenient, with several major bus routes on its doorstep, plus Grand Central station nearby. We snapped up a Superior Room at an excellent price through Expedia, and the room was definitely spacious by NYC standards. The design made good use of the available space, and it was nice to have a built-in couch by the window. The bathroom was on the small side, but we loved the decor and the rain shower. The toiletries were good quality.

The complimentary breakfast was served in the penthouse. The views upstairs are better, however seating downstairs is more comfortable. We were glad to be able to catch some tennis (Wimbledon was on) on one of the several TVs available while enjoying the excellent pastries on offer, as well as the yoghurt, juice, tea and coffee. Don't expect a European-style full buffet, but it is a good continental breakfast which certainly kept us full until dinnertime each day.

Staff were always friendly and welcoming and took care of the little details.

I can best describe the hotel as being like having our own chic NYC apartment to come home to each day, rather than staying at a "normal" hotel, which is a great way to experience NYC.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geigerin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
It is so wonderful that you felt like a 'New Yorker' at Morgans which is exactly the feeling we are going for! The idea is to get away from the cookie cutter experience of just any hotel and really feel like part of the city. It is so nice that you took the time to write and we truly appreciate your feedback!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I booked this hotel for my family to stay at and it was perfect. Location was fantastic, as it put us right in the middle of the island. The rooms were way bigger than the photos showed on the website (we booked a standard room). They had flat screen televisions, a couch, rainfall showers, a comfortable bed (which was kind of like sleeping in a giant pillow). There was a complementary breakfast and a wonderful lounge to eat it in, but who wants hotel food with all the deliciousness that New York has to offer! My NYC breakfast tip is the Fat Raddish (http://thefatradishnyc.com). Yum! The staff at the hotel were very nice and were totally on top of all our small requests. If you come to NYC stay here, as it is well priced, clean and in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunkDoc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
I absolutely love that you call Morgans a 'Gem'. Thank you for your kind review and for all of the great information you've given other travelers. I am delighted that we were able to create a good travel experience for you and hope that you will return with your family.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Made a trip from Philadelphia for an overnight stay at Morgans. The staff was excellent. They allowed us an early check in and the room was clean and inviting. The bed was very comfortable and my husband and I really enjoyed our stay. The location is great for getting around the city. I would definitely stay there again. They also served a nice continental breakfast in the penthouse on the 19th floor. An overall wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pammijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and hope you return for another wonderful stay soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel whilst on business. Initial impressions were a little disappointing - it doesn't look much like a hotel and there was no restaurant or bar to speak of. As it was pouring outside, I resorted to ordering off the in-house dining menu - which extended about as far as a toasted panini. To be fair to the hotel however there is some refurbishment being undertaken with a restaurant/lounge to be opened in a couple of months. Staff seemed very friendly and attentive and whilst the complimentary continental breakfast might not suit all, I found it pretty good. It was served in there penthouse room which is very nice on sunny morning. My room was clean and modern however the bathroom was pretty small and without a bath (fine for me but don't think the wife would have been too impressed by it!). However what can't be overlooked is the price, which given its location is very good value - especially compared to some of the other luxury hotels in the area. This hotel might not be everyone's cup of tea however, depending on circumstance it is somewhere I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review.

Not sure exactly what you mean by 'quirky' but to be honest, I do not mind being called that! I take it that you found Morgans to be a bit different from other properties and we like that!

You are right that our Lounge is being re-designed and will open in a couple of months. It will be spectacular! For now, our Guests are enjoying the complimentary breakfast up in the Penthouse - we call it 'Breakfast with a view'! You can get a glass of wine or beer up there in the evenings.

We also have rooms with bathtubs if you prefer. Just ask and we would be happy to assign one to you.

We are delighted that you would stay with us again and hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Property: Morgans New York Hotel
Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2818
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#138 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,902 - ₹ 33,290
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing