We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

If you wish to stay in the perfect location at Times Square at a great hotel then this is the place. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the availability of tea and coffee with nibbles all day then a nice glass of wine at night was great after a day out. Because of the small number of guests it feels more like staying with family. The rooms are nice and clean and of good size. I would recommend the Casablanca to everyone. Not a hotel for children.

Room Tip: Check their website for special deals
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,758)
There are newer reviews for Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,214 - 3,218 of 5,758 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

What a great decision to stay here...so central to everything..Broadway..all the tour pick up points...and to walk straight off the street from the hustle and bustle and glitz of Time Square to this quiet little casual boutique retreat to sip complimentary champagne and cheese and biscuits or just a nice hot cup of tea was fantastic after a full day of the NYC experience. Rick's cafe breakfast had the basics covered as well, always fresh fruit and pastries to tempt you.They catered for my special dietary requirements as well after a request when booking.
We stayed 5 nights and wish to compliment and thank the staff for excellent service from the doorman to house keeping. The rooms were very clean, the beds very comfortable.They assisted us with dinner reservations at popular restaurants and public transport tips and even umbrellas when it rained.
We were fortunate to have a room on the 6th floor so no noise or bright light problems at night.
We would be back tomorrow if possible!! Will definately stay again.
Be sure to dine at Tony's Restaurant next door, great food and service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

As first time visitors to NYC we wanted to be in the heart of the city. The hotel is certainly that.
The hotel is on a rather messy street, very close to Times Square. The service was good, our room was a good (city hotel) size and the wine evenings etc. are a great way to start an evening out. Unfortunately this nice hotel has some issues. Our room was at the front and at night the bright lights of Times Square also lit our room, as there are only blinds at the windows and the blackout blind did not cover the whole window. The room had an air con unit fitted in the window which meant the window can not be fully closed and as Times Square is very noisy from early until late it meant that a good nights sleep was not possible. The breakfast room is pleasant but too small to allow all guests to eat there at peak times, meaning that you had to share a small table with other guests most days. We enjoyed the overall atmosphere of the Casablanca and loved NYC but would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coachmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Everyone seems to love the Casablanca. It was rated the very bestest on Trip Advisor, so we, first time New York goer-toerers, thought “hey; why not?”

We booked months and months in advance, and we saved a bit by doing this. We also treated friends to a cuppla nights, and this was arranged with no fuss and a good deal of understanding. Thank YOU, Monika.

The Casablanca really is very central. The nearest cross street is Broadway. The New Years Eve ball is literally 20 metres away. To walk out of the hotel, particularly at night, is 'wow!

We booked the Premium room, and it was fine. It looked exactly like the piccie. Beds as comfy as could be (we do like a comfy bed) and the shower worked a treat. Although the tub was difficult to empty. We never discovered whether this was because it was a feature, or whether it was broke.

Because of the location, we didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyway, but we were very happy with it.

Rick's Cafe is an absolute treat. It's open 24 hours with self-serve coffee (and tea) and tasty pastry. A continental breakfast (included) is served every morning, and went OK too. There is also wine and cheese (also complimentary) served every evening. It really is an oasis.

The Parrot Courtyard is just off Rick's cafe. It's open air, and very relaxing. A good place to sip a refreshing beer (although you'll need to bring your own beer).

The staff are friendly, and helpful. ALL the staff, including the staff in Rick's and the ones who do the rooms. Not just the desk folk.

If we go back to New York, we will stay again at the Casablanca.

One word of warning. You are in the middle of Times Square. We had a room facing W43rd. It can be very noisy at night, specifically early morning when the worker-bees are about.

Room Tip: The reason I have only rated the sleep quality as average, is because of early morning noise. Ask f...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Serene_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I stayed 4 nights. First I was not so impressed because of high expectations (and quite high price). But gradually I appreciated beauty of this small and quiet hotel. It is stylish and non-obtrusive, without posh. Included- complimentary breakfast and afternoon wine in beautiful 2nd floor room, high speed wi-fi. Not included many unnecessary extras. Everything clean, almost invisible service.

Room Tip: Possibly facade rooms are lighter, but more noisy
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ezis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 468 in New York City
1,404 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 468 in New York City
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 468 in New York City
784 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 17,200 - ₹ 30,765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing