We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, pleasant atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Very friendly staff, great location (two steps from Times Square, but we couldn't hear the noise from the street), nicely decorated room, WiFi works well. On second floor there's a beautiful and spacious area for a good and fairly rich continental breakfast. Hotel also offers happy hour: in the late afternoon complementary wine and cheese, if you like. I would definitely recommend this hotel - for us it has been a sort of a peaceful oasis in the mess of NYC! :)
Only two (minor) negative point: Queen size bed was quite small for an average-sized couple like us... and our room was quite dark, we were facing a wall. I confess we weren't really delighted at the beginning, but after all my wife and I spent 90% of the time around, we were in the hotel only at night, it didn't matter much. If you're in New York to visit the city, Casablanca is a good choice!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,736
    668
    108
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,179
2,951
200
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I wanted to go to NYC for a very long time and September is a very hard month for my sister and I so we decided that that was what we where going to do this year.
We stayed at Casablanca for 3 nights and we LOVED it. Everyone there is so nice and helpful. If you need soy milk they will have it for you. They go out of their way to make your stay great and they sure did for us. I don't think there has been anywhere that I have traveled that has been so great. My sister says that I ruined it for her because now her standards are so high from staying here.
You will be right outside from where the ball drops for New Years Eve, it is safe, and walking distance to so many things. Our room was great, they leave chocolate's for you :) , robes and slippers, the breakfast is great along with the espresso maker.
I would say that the price is well worth it and when we go again this will be the place we stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveNYC962012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The casablanca is a lovely small hotel in the heart of times square.this was my 9th visit to new York in ten years and the Casablanca did not disappoint.the hotel is small (only 40 rooms I think).the decor Is very nice.rooms are very cosy.there is tea,coffee,biscuits ect available 24 hours which I think is a great touch.the location is just fantastic,as sombody has posted before you are 20 steps away from the centre of times square.last but by far means least let's not forget the staff they are so friendly and helpful nothing is to much bother for them.

A special thank you to Richard who works on nights who took the time to show me some new York city on his day off,thank you Richard you really made my trip to NY a memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Recent trip to America stayed at the Casablanca again. Two visits this time with a stay at Washington inbetween. At San Francisco and Washington stayed at two top hotels which were nice, polished and very presentable. However nothing beats the homely feeling and comfortability factor that is always present at the Casablanca. Right from the moment you get to the front door, the whole staff are personally friendly and cannot do enough for you. They really mean it when they say "you are welcome". The front office staff, the housekeeping staff through to the 2nd floor staff, they were just so welcoming it was not funny. The rooms are first class, clean, fresh with chocolates and water left out each night. This establishment really suits those who appreciate comfort and service and know the value of a dollar. I do not think it would suit "posers" (two bob snobs) who want to laud their pretend wealth over others. The Casablanca reminds me of an old Duchess, royal, regal, little wrinkles here and there, but great company to be with. Comfortability is the word to sum the facility up. Food was great with coffee etc available 24 hours a day. You do not need a room bar fridge. The evening "happy hours" (which go for 3 hours) saw many visitors have their evenings in, not bothering to go out for tea.
And the location. 30 metres from Times Square. Restraurants on both sides. A 5 minute walk to Bryant Park and its lovely environment. 30 minute walk to Central Park along the famous 5th Avenue. For the adventurous it is a 60 minute walk to the Town Hall where the TV show "Law & Order" is sometimes filmed. Also only a 10 minute walk from "Restaurant Row" and Broadway. Taxis are a breeze from the hotel, just step to the nearest Avenue, stick out your finger and away you go. 5 minutes walk to the Subway and nearest Supermarket. With 90 Starbuck coffee houses in New York (most have toilets), there is one on the corner just down from the Hotel, and another on the way to Bryant Park.
Take our advice, if you want value for money, comfort and convenience, do not think of staying anywhere else but at the Casablanca. It is well worth it.

Bruce, Val and Ree

Room Tip: Corner suits are larger and suit couple who want thier individual beds. If occupying more than one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bruce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Everything about this hotel was about perfect. We arrived early, they stored our bags while we went to nearby Bryant Park where there was a free show of songs from five Broadway shows featuring the actual cast members. Meanwhile, they offered us drinks and snacks in the lounge, which is available 24/7. The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout. Our room was decent size (we had an upgraded room), cool, clean and comfortable.

We stayed three nights and found the hotel to be perfectly located, a half block from Times Square (but far enough off to be quieter), and a block in either direction from the different subway lines. Getting to the 9-11 memorial and Yankee Stadium were both a breeze, as was walking shows and good non-chain restaurants. We will stay again....and again.

Room Tip: Ask for or reserve an upgraded room, as we heard some of the regular rooms were a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klextra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,355 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
931 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,700 - ₹ 31,331
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing