We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great oasis in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2012

It is not fancy but still comfortable and clean. The staff is amazing. They solved all our problems with efficiency and politeness. It was scorching hot in NY and returning to the hotel was a relief. We enjoyed staying in the "salon" to cool off with all the other guests . A great hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Apamoniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,447 - 3,451 of 5,956 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed in the Casablanca on 7th August for 6 nights and we couldn't fault it. The room and hotel itself were spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful. The cheese and wine every night were a lovely touch and a great start to the evening. Breakfast and unlimited tea and coffee were great and much needed after a days shopping!
Will be staying here again on our next trip to NYC, wouldn't even look to stay anywhere else!
5 Stars!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We selected the Casablanca mostly on TripAdvisor rankings, I can understand why the venue is so highly ranked. The location is fantastic, it's literally a few metres from the heart of Times Square, which means there are options for dining, pubs right at your doorstep.

What we didn't expect was that the breakfast is complimentary, I don't recall reading a thing about that. And, the common area is stocked with pastries, biscuits, juice etc. 24 hours a day. PLUS, a wine and cheese tasting between 5-8 every night of the week.

Dinner wise, suggest you may also give their own restaurant 'Tony's' a go. Very good Italian, and nice bar to go with it.

A few small negatives. If you do stay at the front of the hotel, bring some earplugs as there is a lot of truck activity outside all night. Also, the wine and cheese nights are a great idea, we did find that one of the staff was a little too accommodating in trying to entertain a young girl. Letting a child who can't play a piano, bang on the keys constantly isn't the relaxing start to an evening.

Other than that, highly recommend it, I would find it hard to pick another venue!

Room Tip: Our first stay, so in hindsight the back of the hotel would probably be a good bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ElCraigo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We began our holiday with 4 nights in New York staying at the Casablanca. Room was comfortable and cosy with a good sized bathroom, surprising for a big city hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We received a card and a bottle of wine for our anniversary which was a nice personal touch. Complimentary wine and snacks are served each evening which we felt added to the good value of this hotel. The location is perfect, a few short steps away from Times Square and an underground station. We used their hotel pick up to and from the airport which was a little expensive but we felt worth it for the door to door service. We will definitely stay here again if we are ever in New York.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ojarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Like most of the other reviewers here - we chose this hotel purely based on reviews in Trip Advisor. Our experiences are very similar to what these other reviewers had advised.

We stayed for 5 nights in a Deluxe Room with a Queen Bed - the room was very nice & clean. We were on the 4th floor at the back of the hotel - so no noise at all.

The staff were excellent during our stay - nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was good in Rick's Cafe & we also took use of the 24 hour snacks they had here.

As other have mentioned the central location is great - we were first times visitors to NYC so it was good to have everything we needed within walking distance.

If we come back in the future, I think we would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 473 in New York City
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 473 in New York City
693 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 473 in New York City
3,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 14,744 - ₹ 28,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing