We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - Amazing Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location - Amazing Staff!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from our stay at the Casablanca and are already talking about our next trip! There is a reason this place is so highly rated. The Casablanca is a sweet retreat within the busy city.

Breakfast runs until 10 AM and a daily Happy Hour from 5-8 PM. There is 24 hour concierge and the on-site manager even provides you with their cell number! Just ask and you shall receive.

It was great to take advantage of the Happy Hour and rest our feet after a long day of walking before heading back out into the city.

The staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful stay. From refilling our ice bucket and the nightly turn-down service we were very well taken care of.

You couldn’t ask for a better location or more accomodating staff. Thank you for the wonderful stay and we cant wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HSimpson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,835
    677
    111
    40
    26
See reviews for
1,215
3,011
207
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Casablanca is in a really covenient location and their amenities cannot be beat. Happy hour 5-8pm, wonderful wines, snacks. Breakfast in the morning. Wonderful ambience not often found in the City. Only 48 rooms, well appoined and comfortable. Great Service. Check it out

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The good: Fantastic location (if you want to be in the tourist zone), friendly and helpful staff, clean reasonably appointed rooms, reasonable pricing, free wine and cheese every evening!!

The not-so-goods: Very small rooms, older hotel (albeit with a lot of class and character), I would not consider this a luxury hotel- more like a very cool four star boutique., walls very thin.

All in all a decent and positive experience. If you are expecting a luxurious modern hotel this is not it. This would be the cool old European style hotel where you want a clean room and some ambiance in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank calemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here for 5 days last week and whilst the hotel had much to recommend it the deal breaker for us was the room.
We travel extensively and always take comments from people who live in the USA about room size with a pinch of salt as their experience of small is usualy pretty palatial when compared with European room sizes so we whilst we saw reviews mentioning small rooms we were not prepared for room 300.
It was very small and had virtually no natural light as the view was directly onto a fire escape and a wall only a few feet from the window.
This coupled with a constant drip from the aircon unit from the room above ours onto our unit was a great dissapointment particulary in view of our high expectations.
Whilst we were at the hotel we did get the opportunity to see other of the "cosy" rooms and those we saw were certainly larger than ours so I guess if you book this room standard then beware of room 300.
Other that that the hotel was pretty good with a fantastic location for Times Square, great staff and a very good buffet breakfast but the room really got to us every time we returned to it.
We were going to give 4 stars as they have really worked hard to make this a great experience but the room spoilt it too much for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steveski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaboadaNYC, General Manager at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear SteveskiBurnley,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. Reviewing your comments, I am glad to see that at least for the areas we can control, such as the service and complimentary breakfast, you were pleased with the experience. Also, I am glad to let you know that we have now tested and ordered wonderful new a/c units that will help make the rooms more serene for guests who are sensitive to noise. Regarding the size of the room, only 8 of our 48 rooms are the Cozy Classic with one full sized bed. I believe the most we can do is to be fully expressive and authentic about how we descibe the room on our website so that travelers can decide for themselves if the Cozy Classic is the right choice for them. We have room dimensions, floor plans and photos on our website. For any future travelers who are wondering whether the cozy classic is right for them, in addition to the images here on TripAdvisor and on our website, we have a facebook photo album dedicated to our smallest room, the cozy clasic which shows room 400, which is identical to 300 but just one floor up. We are even so bold as to show the fire escape view from the window. Many people like this room and request it repeatedly because they like the quiet or the stall shower. For a couple staying 5 nights however, we usually recommend a Queen bedded room or larger. When you mentioned you saw other rooms, they were probably the Deluxe Queen rather than the Cozy Classic. If you or any other TA member wishes to call me to discuss room size options for a future stay, I would love to hear from you. I can promise I will be as forthcoming and authentic as possible because our #1 goal is to have 100% happy guests and to over promise would lead to disappointment, which we truly wish to avoid. We would love to welcome you back and I would personally like to help you choose the room that is the right size for you.

Sincerely,
John Taboada
john@casablancahotel.com
212-201-1150
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Found this hotel on recommendations of other TA uses. From the time we made our reservation, to the time we arrived, we were impressed by the service and ambiance. Although our king room was small , it was spotless, quiet and comfortable. The toiletries arnd linens are excellent, personnel are top-notch. Rick's Cafe where breakfast is served has cold drinks , coffee and cookies available all day, and converts to wine and cheese at 5 pm. On Friday evening there was a piano player. Tony's Restaurant next door is a great Italian restaurant, although it suffers from its popularity resulting it a high noise level. A wonderful stay...thank you Casablanca

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DesertDwellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,377 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 467 in New York City
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
773 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,583 - ₹ 30,739
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing