We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,301)
Filter reviews
6,301 results
Traveller rating
5,395
723
114
43
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,395
723
114
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrick's cafewine and cheesetimes squarenew yorkmini suiteevery eveningcontinental breakfastbagelshard boiled eggssmall hotellounge areaperfect locationwonderful hotelhome away from homebig applethe theater districtstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
3,829 - 3,834 of 6,301 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Exquisite Hotel in the heart of New York City! The staff was fantastic and everything was wonderful from the moment we walked in to the moment we had to check out. First Class service, hospitalable, and absolutely the best! Breakfast was awesome, the ladies that worked each morning served us with a smile and were so kind. They did everything to make sure that we were comfortable and when we came in from the city, it was so nice to come up and have a plate of cheese and crackers, a cold glass of water and a nice place to sit and relax. The other hotel guests were all very friendly as well. When we come back to NY City, we are definitely staying at the Casa Blanca and will refer friends there for sure! Thank you to the staff for an incredible stay and we thank you so much for a making our trip a memorable one! The quality that you have is above the rest for sure! "Hats Off to You" for incredible service, great location, and the best staff ever!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you might choose a room that is off of the main street of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melly46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This really is a great hotel in the middle of New York. Even though you are right next to the hustle and bustle of Times Square, once inside the hotel it is an oasis of calm. Staff are polite, friendly and unobtrusive. No request seems too hard! The rooms are well sized and spotlessly clean. Rick's Cafe is great and it even has a small outdoor terrace, which was quiet and peaceful. Location-wise, Broadway is on your doorstep and a number of subway stations are nearby. Couldn't fault any aspect of our brilliant stay in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pazzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We have just got back from a 5 night stay at this lovely hotel in New York. The staff are polite and very helpful, but not in your face. The free high speed wifi throughout the hotel was brilliant and there is even a computer with a printer that is free to use (perfect for those e-tickets you forget to print off!!).
Our room was on the 6th floor at the back of the hotel as we had requested so although we had no view it was lovely and quiet all night which for its location (practically in the middle of Times Square) is amazing. The room was spacious with plently of useful facilities such as an ironing board and iron, safe, hair dryer, coffee maker, flat screen tv and DVD player, plenty of accessible plugs and i-phone/I-pod docking station. The bathroom was also spacious and stocked with lovely toiletries and fluffy towels.
The hotel provided a nice continental breakfast and a cheese and wine reception too.
On the negative side, the room only window aircon which was noisey so we didn't use it at night, but there was a ceiling fan that helped circulate the air. The corridors and communal spaces were not cooled at all though.
The hotel is perfectly located for sightseeing, we walked everywhere so the central location helped. There is an abundance of restraunts nearby, we ate at Virgils BBQ joint a couple of times, the food was served quickly and the portion sizes were unbelievable. Virgils is on 43rd street practically behind the hotel. We also ate at Cafe Wah down in the Greenwich Village, the house band and casual food is a great way to enjoy an evening when jet lag is nagging at you to go to bed, needs to be booked in advance though! The BXL Belgian cafe/bar which is 2 or 3 doors from the Casablanca is a great place to have a cold refreshing beer after a busy day sightseeing :)
Would we go again..... Absolutely!

Room Tip: Request a room as high up and at the back of the hotel if you want quiet and not fussed about views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

First of all no apologies for the length of this review, this hotel is deservedly #1 in NYC and there’s lots to say.

For us our stay at the Casablanca was absolutely fantastic. We loved the fact that it is so close to Times Square and all that brings, it’s so close that we decided to pace it out, it is literally fifty of my steps from the front door to Times Square just opposite the Hard Rock Cafe. As I’m about 5ft 6in they are short steps as well! Being in Times Square puts you very close to subway stops on many lines.

We stayed in a Premium King Room on the “Kiss is Just a Kiss” package (for 3 or more nights, which has on arrival a rose petal turndown, chilled bubbly, plate of strawberries drizzled with chocolate, a Hershey’s Kisses gift and 10% discount as well). The room was a good size and the bathroom was actually quite large, all towels and toiletries were excellent and in good supply. We were on the third floor at the front of the building. The large Tony’s sign was right outside our window, we used the blackout blind and this cut out the light from the sign, although there can be some noise we slept soundly.

Rick’s Cafe (what else could it be called in Casablanca) is the guest lounge where the daily cheese and wine reception is held and where the first class continental breakfast is served. It is open 24 hrs and has a wide range of complimentary snacks and an excellent bean to cup coffee machine with both decaf and standard coffee.

The daily cheese and wine reception is an excellent way to meet other guests and swop tips about where to go or which shows to see. It says a lot about the Hotel that a major proportion of the guests are American.

The complimentary continental breakfast buffet has a wide selection of goodies and helpful staff ensuring that supplies are kept topped up, toast is made to order and brought over, and that tables are cleared promptly. Their eye for detail is demonstrated by the simple fact that there is a pair of scissors available to cut open the individual cereal packets, no more wrestling to open the packet and sending the contents all over the floor!

Room service was good value and excellent; we ordered a spaghetti and meatballs platter from Tony’s Cafe, they quoted 10 minutes it was there in about 8. Great food and lots of it - be warned a platter can feed a family!

The hotel has good free Wi-Fi and a workstation with printer in Rick’s Cafe, ideal for printing your boarding cards.

The front desk staff are cheery and helpful, ready with a brolly on rainy days. The Hotel is very clean and welcoming. All in all this was a thoroughly enjoyable stay and one that we hope to repeat soon.

The Casablanca is part of a small group of four New York Hotels all in Trip Advisor top 7 at the time of writing. If you don’t want the hustle and bustle of Times Square take a look at their partners in the Library Collection.

Room Tip: Staying 3 or more nights? Look at the Kiss is just A Kiss Promotion
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MercOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is a lovely hotel and such a nice change from the big chains. We stayed here during a week in NYC and it was the pick of all the hotels we stayed in during our time in the US. Staff were friendly and helpful and every member of staff had a "hello" or "good morning" whenever we saw them. Breakfast was included and was a nice selection. It was our wedding anniversary while we were there and on arrival found a card and bottle of wine in our room for us. The hotel has a great location in Times Square and near theatres but even being this central, our room was quiet. Everything about the hotel and our stay there was excellent with just first class service. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in NYC, stay here!

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews