We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found it: OUR hotel in NYC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #4 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
reston, va
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Found it: OUR hotel in NYC!”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Had our first stay at The Casablanca for three nights last week on our semi-annual theater trip to NYC. It will now be OUR hotel for these jaunts to NYC. It is a fabulous boutique hotel on 43rd street just around the corner from 7th Ave/Broadway which is the corner of Times Square with the Hard Rock Cafe, an unbeatable location and less noisy and crowded than the big hotels.

The rooms are a bit small but the service is the best in NYC--e.g., on the blistering hot days last week, the doorman was handing everyone cold bottles of water (free) on the way out and telling them to take care. The hotel called a few days ahead of our stay to see if there was anything they could do for us; I casually mentioned that we were celebrating 'no more college tuition bills' and when we arrived, we had lovely special treats in our room.

The cost (varies by season & room size) INCLUDES a nice big breakfast--cereal, pastries & bagels, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, juice, fruit, yogurt) AND a 5-8 pm wine and cheese time AND coffee/tea/cookies at all other times. We ate a big breakfast, would return to the hotel for wine/cheese and then have dinner after our Broadway shows, saving money.

The hotel/rooms are decorated in Moroccan style and the lounge is called Rick's Cafe, of course. The room ammenties are really nice, including slippers. I love hotels that give you slippers--Why don't more American hotels give you slippers?!?

A real find amid all the indistinguishable chains in that area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vakamalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,793
    672
    109
    40
    26
See reviews for
1,201
2,986
201
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the Casablanca at the end of June, this was our first trip to NYC so don’t really have anything to compare against, we chose the Casablanca due to it’s location given as close to Time Square and all the positive feedback left on Trip Advisor.

The hotel is a small boutique hotel and is definitely very close to Time Square, they are not joking when they say just steps away, we stayed in a cosy classic room, 503 I think, which I believe is their smallest room type, it was beautifully presented and available early on our arrival (bonus). The room size was good, similar to a Premier Inn back in the uk, the bathroom however was very small (knees touching the wall in front when on w.c.) but very clean and had everything you need. Our room overlooked a courtyard with the fire escapes in so no view but was very quite, didn’t hear a thing, considering the location that was excellent.

The Hotel has an area on the first floor called Rick’s Café which has complimentary tea, coffee, water and snacks available 24hrs, this is also where the complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary wine and cheese daily session happens and was a great place to take a pit stop after a hard days sightseeing and before preparing for the nights activities ahead.

All the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful, the hotel was well maintained, clean and excellently presented. You can tell the Hotel is very proud of its #1 status and you can also tell by the service you receive that they are very determined to keep it.

As I said at the beginning this was our first trip to NYC so couldn’t comment on whether it is #1 or not, but I would certainly recommend it to friends & family and I think that tells its own storey.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1_Mike_H_789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Very quaint and wonderfully decorated boutique hotel in the heart of Times Square.

They also own the Library hotel which is one of my all time favorite hotels -just found that out afterwards!

First room we got was a room with a double bed that was so small that even the bathroom door could not close and had to remain totally open. I called and told them I loved my bed but wondered where my husband would sleep! This room had a wonderful remodeled bathroom.

They were very gracious and we received another room, this time with a queen bedroom and the bathroom was not remodeled. Very comfortable beds.

Coffee bar open all the time, free wifi - and strong signal!! Afternoon and evening snacks, wine and nice breakfast included.

Would we go back - YES.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crunchberry327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I stayed here with my wife, her parents and my brother- sister in laws for 6 nights. Ten of us. We each had our own rooms. Rooms are small but very clean and very pretty. Air conditioning kicks cold air, awesome. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The breakfast and snacks all day in the eating area was great. It was big enough for us to meet each morning and evening together to sit and talk and the food was plenty and very good. Location can not be beat. Literally 20 steps from Times Square. Two great restaurants next door. Theatres are very close.
Called down to ask where ice machine was located and front desk said no worries we will bring you up a bucket of ice. It was delivered in less than 5 minutes. And we were on the 6th floor. At 10:30pm. So this is a must stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbethea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillette, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I stayed at the Casablanca last June and this year provided the same great experience and service. Since the property changed ownership (now part of the Library group) it seems they are trying harder than ever to keep up their reputation and high standards. Yes, the rooms are a bit small, but the common area is more than comfortable and really, you don't spend much time in the room...it's New York!! Such a convenient location. Bryant Park is a gem and only a short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razorcityrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 466 in New York City
1,365 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 466 in New York City
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,594 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#1 of 466 in New York City
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,349 - ₹ 31,087
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing