We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Trip But Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peninsula New York
Ranked #47 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

It has been well over two years since my last review. I have been to NYC multiple times with family and have stayed at the Ritz Carlton Central Park and Battery Park, The Viceroy, The Sofitel, The Surrey, The Waldorf but have had mixed experiences with each. I have been in search of the best five star hotel with service that matches up to its ranking and so far, I must say, it's the Peninsula NYC here in NY. What I loved:

1) Five star service with no evidence of pretentiousness. I HATE staying at hotels where the staff treat people differently because they are in an "upscale" hotel. Thank you to the staff for being kind to everyone. That goes a LONG way.

2) Convenient location: on corner of 55th and 5th Avenue. Super easy to walk up and down and shop without having to take transportation to other areas.

3) ESPA spa. Yes, it's expensive but I love the ESPA brand as the service is generally impeccable. I didn't take advantage this time but at least I know the option is there for next time.

4) Rooms: we received an upgrade to a deluxe King. The rooms were well equipped and beds were CRAZY COMFORTABLE! Bathrooms were huge and for NYC, that's hard to find. The ONLY negative I would suggest to the hotel is to equip each room with an expresso machine. We were told that it would be a$50 additional charge to have the machine with ten capsules in our room. Please note to the management that in all other luxury hotels, this should be a part of the service you pay for in a five star accommodation - NOT an additional charge. This should definitely be changed.

Other than the expresso machine, we loved our stay. Shout out to Christian at the front desk who was kind and sweet when we got to the hotel after a long day of travel. Overall, exceptional and I will likely be back end of the year to stay here during the holidays!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank dallasprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear dallasprincess,

We appreciate the detailing of your experience on TripAdvisor.com and thank you for pointing our the pros and cons of your visit. We are happy to be considered as one of the top hotels you have visited in New York. We are counting on you to visit us again during the holidays as promised.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,095)
There are newer reviews for The Peninsula New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

Took family two boys 19 and 17 and daughter 12, happy birthday to city for weekend. Stayed in suite. We were greeted by Jason at the door, great guy and very professional, helpful, friendly, and got us off to a great start. Beautifully appointed hotel with great and friendly staff. Beautiful pool with an equally great terrace sun deck that overlooks central park and seventh avenue. Outstanding in every way. We had five in our suite which was perfect for our quick hit stay. Can't beat the location with the entrance door on 55th street tucked away from the madness. Hotel car brought us all the way down to the 9/11 memorial and waited for us to complete our two hour visit and then brought us back to hotel. Service like this hotel offers is rear. Would not stay anywhere else. Thanks Jason and entire staff..

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Brian G,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your daughter's 12th birthday at The Peninsula New York. There is nothing more delightful than to know that we were responsible for making your family's holiday in New York so memorable and special. We also appreciate your special mention of our doorman Jason Seda, our Ambassador to The Peninsula New York. He will be delighted to read your special comments. Please do come and stay with us again.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

After staying at the Peninsula in Chicago last year my expectations for New York were very high. Other than the doormen who were wonderful, I never felt the warmth of any staff member which is so genuinely apparent at the Chicago property. The room could use a little refreshing (carpet) and we blew circuit breakers twice. Overall it was good but not the wow I wanted on this short trip to New York.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank msk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear msk19,

We are sorry to read that your visit to The Peninsula New York was not as seamless as it should have been. Thank you for taking the time however to discuss your stay and issues with us directly. We look forward to demonstrating the warmth and service standards that our hotels are known for.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Definitely a NY Peninsula property

Great location on fifth ave

Amenities first rate

Service can be spotty

Confirm details or preferences

Fine dining in neighborhood

Mid town with a continental style

Staff turn over an issue

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank RMJ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear RMJ11,

We appreciate you taking a moment to review your stay at The Peninsula New York on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

This is the best Hotel in New York City and not every body knows it.

My Father, who loved Luxury and only bought the best he could afford his whole life, always stayed
Here and took me out to Lunch here.

He owned a home on Rowes Wharf in Boston overlooking the Harbor. And Luxury and service were tremendously important to him, as they were to my
Grandfather,Harry.

At the Peninsula Hotel in New York they offer a 15 percent discount if they can help you out.

Often because they are so excellent at what they, they can not accommodate you unless you make a reservation well in advance.

My Father, had a small business and traveled all over the United States. He was licensed in every state. He always made me make his reservation on the phone. He was very funny. He would say" Get me a room at
The Peninsula that I won't hear the garbage trucks in all night." And they always gave him a fine room, sometimes
Upping the room to a Suite if It was available.

This hotel is beautifully furnished.
The food is exquisite.
The service World Class.

The attitude is Formal but friendly. My Dad was completely loyal to them, because of it.

Across the street on Fifth Avenue at 53 Street,
Is the New ,Harry Winston's, a jeweler, who served my parents in the original store.

I was in there looking today.
What a lot of people don't realize about Harry Winston's is they also have a line of Jewelry that is under $2500.

People associate them with priceless Jewels, but they like to be of service to anyone who has an interest in fine Jewelry.
They are interested in selling quality.

Ate lunch at a Greek Restaurant at 55 East 54street named Nerai. Excellent food, not crazy expensive. We usually go for dinner
Around 9. Glamorous place.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear Lisa S,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your wonderful experience at The Peninsula New York. We are happy to have made your stay more luxurious and memorable.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#42 of 468 in New York City
727 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#26 of 468 in New York City
407 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#53 of 468 in New York City
1,473 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 468 in New York City
1,465 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#66 of 468 in New York City
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#42 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 40,831 - ₹ 1,07,012 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This magnificently restored 23-story, 1905 landmark building is ideally located, just steps away from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. ACCOMMODATION: Each of the 185 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites at The Peninsula New York meet The Peninsula Hotels standards for luxury, guest comfort and technology. Rooms are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, luxurious goose down duvets, flat screen televisions, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and signature Peninsula bathtub televisions. For the ultimate convenience, bedside electronic control panels regulate temperature, lighting and entertainment systems. WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. This sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and "experience" shower, men's and women's private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience. DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing