We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel best position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula New York
Ranked #56 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Once inside you don't feel like you are on buzzing fifth ave. hotel fantastic. Staff look after your every need. Gotham lounge great to visit for a snack and people watching. Can't recommend more highly

Room Tip: Ask for high up view facing 5 th ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjk852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear BJK852,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our location on Fifth Avenue and that you were able to experience Gotham Lounge. We truly appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 673 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012

Trips to NYC can be complicated at times. But my trip to The Peninsula was not. Excellent location...convenient.....professional staff.......delicious food.....not inexpensive, but what in the City is.... Wouldn't want to live there, but when I have to travel, this is the type of experience that makies it all worthwhile.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveler55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear WorldTraveler55711,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula New York during your recent business trip to New York. I am delighted that you enjoyed the convenience of staying in Midtown and that our staff had such a positive role in your overall experience. Thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Overall first class, except one problem after we had checked out.
The doorman was 'unable' to get us a cab for 40 minutes and my wife was left standing shivering with our bags on the hotel steps while I went down to 5th Avenue to flag down a cab.
On a Friday night these are not easy to get, but the doorman & his staff really did not put themselves out!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyrieParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear Ryrie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. While I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit, I am very sorry about your disappointing experience with our doormen. While hailing a taxi on a Friday night can be very difficult, the level of service you experienced is not what we strive to achieve on a daily basis. We work very hard to provide a level of service that Peninsula guests have come to expect and we regret that we did not exceed your expectations. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon and restore your faith in The Peninsula.

Yours sincerely,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Perfect location, impeccable service and beautiful rooms. The rooms are huge, which is not typical in NYC. The pool was great, as well as the gym huge and well equipped. The breakfast at the restaurant is very good but extremely pricey. The rooftop terrasse is simply amazing. All the employees we dealt with were extremely helpful and pleasant. We found a great deal on hotwire for this hotel and I wish we will come across such a deal during our next stays in NYC!! If you have the budget to stay there, do so, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenLag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear GenLag,

Thank you for providing such kind feedback about your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our guestrooms, breakfast in Fives and our lovely rooftop bar Salon de Ning. I am particularly pleased that members of our staff played such an instrumental role in your stay as we pride ourselves in the standard of service we provide for all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon during your next visit to New York.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This is a fantastic hotel in one of the best locations in New York! The service is second to none from the door staff through to the spa staff on the 22nd floor!! The swimming pool offers terrific views over towardes Central Park.
the bedroms have everything you might need and the room service is prompt and efficient.
Every member of staff is courteous and nothing seems too much troule. you walk in through the doors and immediately feel calmed from the hustle and bustle of New York! Highly recommended in every way!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking 5th avenue for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthYorkshireJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#64 of 473 in New York City
819 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#73 of 473 in New York City
1,539 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#32 of 473 in New York City
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#16 of 473 in New York City
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 39,423 - ₹ 83,141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This 1905 landmark building is ideally located in midtown, just steps from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. Each of the 181 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. The award-winning Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city and includes a glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting-edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes. The signature restaurant Clement and adjoining bar offer notable American fare, hand-crafted cocktails, extensive wine menu and seasonal events. The elegant Gotham Lounge is the perfect spot to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, while the rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, offers panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing