We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peninsula New York
Ranked #48 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was our first visit to New York for 10 years .... to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. We decided to travel for a week to see "all the sights" - and have some exceptional meals. We weren't disappointed on either count! We had already e-mailed the hotel to tell them this was a special occasion and when we were shown our room there was a beautiful flower dispaly , a bottle of champagne chilling in an ice bucket , and a selection of chocolate covered strawberries! A wonderful start which only got better.The hotel itself is in a fantastic position and having stayed in 5 star hotels around the world, I can definitely say that this hotel is one of the very best. The concierge, the receptionists , the door staff , in fact all the staff, are so professional and helpful it shows what good training and customer care can achieve. A great shame some other luxury hotels do not follow the Peninsula's example. Our room was huge, wonderfully appointed , and the bathroom had every facility you could ask for. It was obvious that great care is taken throughout the hotel to ensure decor , upkeep , etc are of the very highest standard. The flower dispaly in the entance is amazing.I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a luxury hotel with every comfort and amenity in a great position in New York.

Room Tip: rooms on a high floor overlooking 5th Avenue
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MINDLE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,094)
There are newer reviews for The Peninsula New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 700 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

I just returned from a three day visit to NYC. To be honest, I was so nervous because of all of the horror stories I read that reference bed bugs (or other bugs), cramped bathrooms etc... in many of the other hotels in NYC. I did a lot of research (months) prior to selecting the Peninsula. I found a number of other Forbes 5 start (and 4 star) properties with bedbug reports but thankfully not the Peninsula! I can be a bit obsessive. We stayed in a Grand Luxe room and enjoyed a nice, open (unrestricted), view. I am not a "city girl" (went for my husband's birthday) but surprisingly enjoyed the sunrise and sunset view from our room. The only issue we had was with the food. Sorry Peninsula - we just didn't enjoy it (food was bland/tasteless). We were exhausted the first night so we ordered room service; however, we then ate all other meals outside of the hotel. Its hard for me to pay for something or enjoy something that I feel that I prepare much better or improve upon at home. However, I've experienced this with a lot (but not all) of hotels. All and all I can't wait to return but will just skip the room service next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Mela A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. While I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, particularly the great Fifth Avenue views from our Grand Luxe Rooms, I am disappointed to learn that our in-room dining menu did not live up to your expectations. The food quality you experienced is not acceptable and I would personally welcome the opportunity to discuss the details further with you. I invite you to contact me directly at jcrook@peninsula.com.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Peninsula New York.

Yours sincerely,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We booked an extended long weekend through Expedia which included a 3-night stay at The Peninsula on Fifth. It felt like an older hotel with the grand centre entrance and the dark wood, but the rooms were thoroughly modern. The location of this hotel is great - close enough to all the action but in a tony part of town. Best of al the service - rooms were always clean, we wanted for nothing. Frederick at the concierge desk made some great recommendations for dinner/entertainment. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Mishamee,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Peninsula New York. I am delighted to hear that Frederick, our Chef Concierge, exceeded your expectations. He is truly a positive and exemplary reflection of our hotel. I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to New York soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We have stayed at the Peninsula since selling our home in NYC. It is a great hotel. We spent a night there last week on a quick trip to NYC and the experience keeps getting better. Reception is friendly and professional and you are made to feel welcomed - not the routine mindless chit chat at other hotels. The rooms are superb especially the suites with two views of Fifth Avenue. This is an pre-war building and there is neither any sound from other rooms nor traffic. Our room was not ready upon arrival so our bags were checked and then placed in our suite prior to our return. There was no churning for tips. With the availability of restaurants in NYC; our only food experience is breakfast and it is first rate. Housekeeping is perfect with the suite sparkling upon arrival. You never see a housekeeper and I do not know how they do it. Valet parking is outstanding and your car is there when you need it. This a a very secure hotel and perfect for my wife's shopping trips to NYC - it is important to have that peace of mind. Similar to the flagship in Hong Kong; you could not ask for any more from a hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bankruptcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Bankruptcy,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I'm delighted that your NYC getaway was an enjoyable one and that members of our staff played such an instrumental role in your stay. We pride ourselves in the standard of service and accommodations our guests have come to expect from all Peninsula Hotels.

Thank you again for such a thoughtful review. We hope to welcome you back again very soon for another shopping trip!

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I spent five nights last October at the Peninsula New York City. On prior visits to NY I've had the good fortune to have stayed at The Pierre, the Ritz Carlton and the Four Seasons. Other then the location at 5th and 55th there is nothing special about this property. The public spaces as well as the rooms need to be overhauled and brought into the 21st century. The furniture in my room was nicked and scratched and the wall safe was so difficult to access that it made using it a hazard. For what this hotel charges per night, and the reputation that it has in Asia as a premier luxury property I expected more.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MelBNolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Mr Nolan,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula New York. We appreciate your comments regarding the general condition and details of your room as it is always helpful for us to improve the quality of our product provided to our guests. I would personally welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further with you, and invite you to contact me directly at jcrook@peninsula.com.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Peninsula New York.

Sincerely,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#42 of 468 in New York City
727 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#26 of 468 in New York City
405 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#54 of 468 in New York City
1,473 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 468 in New York City
1,461 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#68 of 468 in New York City
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 40,666 - ₹ 1,07,221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This magnificently restored 23-story, 1905 landmark building is ideally located, just steps away from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. ACCOMMODATION: Each of the 185 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites at The Peninsula New York meet The Peninsula Hotels standards for luxury, guest comfort and technology. Rooms are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, luxurious goose down duvets, flat screen televisions, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and signature Peninsula bathtub televisions. For the ultimate convenience, bedside electronic control panels regulate temperature, lighting and entertainment systems. WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. This sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and "experience" shower, men's and women's private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience. DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing