We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #153 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I really don't know how the Thompson LES has only received 4 circles out of 5 as it might have been my best hotel stay ever.

For starters, the staff is beyond accommodating and really adept at providing service... but in this really smooth, background manner. For example:

1) I had cabbed it in from JFK, and after settling the fare with the cabby, went to remove my luggage from the trunk. Except it wasn't there. I hadn't noticed this as it was occurring, but apparently as I was settling my fare, the doorman/bellhop had already taken it out and brought it into the lobby where it was waiting for me.

2) I'd met up with a large group of friends for lunch, and we decided to bring the group back to the hotel to enjoy the view from my terrace and get some sun. So, impromptu party... which required ice. When I phoned room service asking for some, I was expecting one of those little chrome ice buckets that are standard. Instead, I went back inside, the bottled alcohol we'd had out, along with some beers, had been placed into these large sized ice containers, on a nice tray, with stacks of more glassware. Without me noticing (I'd been on the terrace outside), someone had set this up, and now my coffee table literally looked like bottle service at the club.

In addition to the staff, the view from my 15th floor terrace was jaw-dropping. I was just in the city to see NYC friends, and everyone I had over was gushing about the view. And this was after having (rooftop) bar-hopped the previous night, so you'd think they'd be desensitized to it, but no. Granted, I paid out the nose for a terrace suite, but it was worth it.

Initially, the LES location seemed far removed from all that is Midtown, but Midtown's only a $10-$15 cab ride away, and every night, we somehow ended up back in the LES anyway so the hotel's location ended up being perfect. Plus, it was cool to walk around the neighborhood and see a more authentic part of the city rather than all of the tourist-oriented, chain stuff in Midtown.

Room Tip: Terrace suites are expensive, but the views and vibe are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmatthewsinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    316
    125
    64
    37
See reviews for
171
397
100
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I checked into the thompson les hotel mid week. Linda at the front desk is the most helpful person I have ever met. She helped make my friends birthday very special. She helped suggest restaurants and was very patient with directions. All and all the thompson is great. I will stay here again and recommend you do the same if ever in NYC

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montrealfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Arrived at this hotel,located opposite building SITE,was not impressed!!!
Rooms are very small,for the money.It does not deliver.

Justina,was very PUSHY<insisted 4 times ,i give her my credit card details,before viewing the room.One night was already pre-paid!I I said not until i have seen the room.She got very argumentative at this point,even more rude and insulting.In the lift,when on the way to view the room. ,When i questioned her aggressive pushy manner,she said,"im not pushy.Are you well"??Is this how you speak to customers in the hospitality industry that relies on re-trade!!!??My friend says she was scared to answer her back!!!Her behaviour and attitide did not sit well with me,told her that!!We left the hotel ,after 1 night,the lack of polite service was the reason,not to stay!!!




The room was poor standard,the restaurant ,after 2 hours,vomitted the meal up.I have not been sick by food for at least ten years.BE weary of this.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Had to book a place last minute for work and found the Thompson LES by accident. Ended up being a great decision -- they upgraded my room (to the Penthouse) and provided excellent service. Will definitely head back there the next time I have business in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBone614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel last week on Wednesday night. Almost every hotel in NY was sold out by the time I made my reservation, and what was left were being offered at absurd prices, even for NY (eg - the Sheraton TriBeCa for $995/night).

I was able to book one of the last rooms at Thompson LES for $450, which was very reasonable. I booked a room with a queen size bed - at check in I was told that I was upgraded to a much bigger double room. The front desk staff last Wednesday night were extremely courteous and helpful, as was Dake, who was there when I checked out Thursday morning. The two bellman working Thursday morning were also extremely nice, and worked very hard to get me a taxi.

Pros: beautiful rooms, cool vibe, great sushi restaurant, really cool outdoor pool and bar, and extremely nice staff.

Cons: very difficult to get a cab in rush hour, the minibar pricing and room service pricing was ridiculous ($10 for a bottle of water).

I would definitely stay there again and have already suggested it to some of my colleagues.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliess31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#87 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Property: SIXTY LES
Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#126 Family Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,268 - ₹ 38,085
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing