We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally comfortable and hip at same time”
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #219 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Been here twice in two weeks. First time had corner suite w balcony. Great rain forest shower heads. Second time had regular king, still spacious with window that opens. Hardwood floors, great down comforters and flat screen TV. Awesome deck on 7th, and bar on 16th floors. Room service prompt, staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gbrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 837 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed there only one night.
I checked into my room and ordered dinner to the room service: it never arrived.
The morning after I ordered a latte: the room service was not able to provide sweetener, so I had to go to the restaurant.
I had to wait for a purchase I had made to be delivered to finish packing. I impatiently tracked the courier, and the delivery had been made in my name at the hotel at 9.30 AM. I had to call the concierge three times: they finally brought it to my room at 1 PM.
When I complained at checkout I was told that, as an apology, they would not charge me the extras (the minibar which had been my dinner since the real one had not been delivered).
Days after, my card was charged for a random amount, which could have been the «we won't charge you as an apology» extras or the «we won't charge you since it is our fault» late checkout.
I emailed the hotel to ask at least for an invoice for whatever it was they had pretended not to want me to pay. They never replied.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Guia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed over Easter weekend. First, the highlights: great location, cool, modern decor, and I can't say enough about the front door and bell staff, who did things like run ahead of us and punch the elevator floors for us (the elevator requires a room key inserted, which is a hassle if you have your hands full). Our tiny room had huge windows and a great view of lower Manhattan and a few buildings to the north if we stood in the corner. Shower was good and they were prompt if we called for any service item. Overall, it felt like this was a brand new hotel and they still had some kinks and inconsistencies to work out.

The lowlights: twice during our stay they forgot to give us enough towels (just the basics, we don't need a ton of towels) and we had to call down for more. The pillows were so uncomfortable that I am $200 into massage therapy to fix my neck since I returned home. And when we arrived, the shower drain was full of brown hair (neither of us is a brunette). Also, the street can be loud, even from the upper floors you can hear horns honking and trucks lumbering by.

The weirdest service problem of all: we asked someone at the front desk to make a brunch reservation for us - no one was at the concierge desk, so we slid down and asked a front desk clerk. He took down our info and began making some inquiries by phone. We left him to it, and came back 15 minutes later - this time there was a woman at the concierge stand. We explained someone was working on a brunch reservation and she told us that was not possible, she was the only concierge on duty. We described the person we had spoken with as a blond front desk guy and she was absolutely insistent that the hotel has no blond male employees. (Of course he was nowhere to be found at that moment.) She would not let it go until we admitted that we had spoken to the wrong person, and until we said he was clearly not a hotel employee. I guess the implication here was that this was some nut jobber who had just wandered behind the desk in a full hotel uniform and helped people with brunch reservations? She was pretty adamant that we agree this was our mistake and that no such employee existed. And then she asked us to start all over on the brunch reservation with her since that desk clerk would not have made any reservations on our behalf, with him not being a hotel employee and whatnot. It was totally odd, her absolute no-argument stance that this guy was not on the staff and would not have helped us. The kicker is that of course, that blond front desk guy (Sebastian, I made sure to get his name the next time I saw him) was on duty behind the front desk on and off for the remainder of our stay - he clearly works there. So either we have a concierge having a really craptastic customer service moment with us or they frequently allow Sebastian the non-employee behind their front desk to interact with guests and then chastise the guests for it. This was an isolated issue with that concierge team member, the rest of the concierge staff was great with printing boarding passes, directions, recommendations, etc. but that's unfortunately the story we'll tell about this hotel when we talk about the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SFSpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We travel a great deal around the world and have experienced many good hotels. Sadly this was not one to add to that list. Great location.
Room small, unclean and poorly maintained. Staff were not clued up on the hotel services - telling us bars were open when they were not AND telling us restaurants were closed when they were open.
Delays in room service and my car being left for hours on the street instead of being garaged by valet typified the one night stay.
Very over-rated

Room Tip: Consider another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RoamingBrit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear RoamingBrit007,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience here at the Thompson LES. I am disappointed to learn of our shortcomings during your visit. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the confusions about our food and beverage outlets. Our restaurant just underwent a major renovation and was not fully operating while you were here. This is no excuse though to the lack of information of our team. Rest assured, we have addressed in details and retrained our team members.
The service lapses you experienced are not only unacceptable but contrary to the high standards we strive to achieve on a daily basis. I would personally welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further with you, and invite you to contact me directly.
Thank you very much.

Tania Getzova
General Manager
Thompson LES

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I really couldn't fault the staff at this hotel - they were incredibly helpful and polite but not too 'in your face'.

The rooms are really big by NY standard and location is great for Broadway and the LES. I didn't go in the pool but that's a big bonus for summer.

I personally had a room with an adjoining door to another room and I could hear everything from the next room which I found a bit annoying. Everything from their shower to what they were talking about.

The rooms feel a bit dark and the space could be better laid out I think. Everything felt a bit dated compared to the other Thompson hotels I've stayed in.

Overall really good but not amazing! The staff made up for what the room lacked.

Room Tip: Pick high-up and not a room with an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#74 of 470 in New York City
721 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#76 of 470 in New York City
687 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#163 of 470 in New York City
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#89 of 470 in New York City
1,012 reviews
Lower East Side
Sago Hotel
Sago Hotel
#304 of 470 in New York City
98 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#222 of 470 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#62 Green Hotel in New York City
#158 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 14,137 - ₹ 73,333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing