We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #302 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Montreal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, but dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We wanted to stay in a hotel in Manhattan, and found this hotel online - offering 2 queen beds, and only 5 minutes on the subway to Times Square.

The hotel room was dated (artwork and bedding) but very clean and the staff was helpful. The neighbourhood was great and it was near the reservoir in Central Park - which made for a nice walk.

My biggest complaint was that despite some obvious updating, the room had a VERY loud window mounted air conditioner. We were forced to sleep with the AC unit running, or else the room was too hot (since you could not open the window because of the AC unit), and it made for a disturbing sleep. For that reason alone I would not recommend the hotel, and would not return. Should they install newer, quiet units in the future I would definitely stay there again.
Also - an in-room safe would be a nice addition.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
I thank you for your comments and regarding the A/C, we are now doing a sweep of the entire property and any A/C found to be noisy above the regular noise that one will emit is being switched so I thank you for your comments

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    732
    244
    67
    48
See reviews for
379
445
119
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frösön
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here for six nights, two adult and two kids. The room was very nice (we got upgraded to a Deluxe Double bed room). It was kept very clean by the staff. The TV and refridgerator worked well. The fridge didn't even make much noise. The hotel is in good shape and gives a very proper impression. It is certainly worth its money, I was expecting much less.

The best part of this hotel is the staff. We got a lot of help from them with choosing where to go and hints on when was the best time and so on. As soon as we had a question they had an answer. When we flew out we were leaving late in the evening but there was no problem to keep our safety deposit box for a few more hours so we didn't have to carry around passports and tickets etc.

Room Tip: Broadway is noisy so the higher up in the hotel you get the better,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for your comments and I agree, our staff is one of our best assets!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Revenue and Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. We chose this hotel as a good balance between location and price.
Very nice location with many local choices to eat and drink. Would recommend the diner next door for breakfast and the asian restaurent for dinner.
There are a couple of Starbuck nearby including one in the Barnes and Noble book shop with all have free wi fi if you want to stay on online
We had a free upgrade to a junior suite which has 2 large beds and a wetroom bathroom plus a mini kitched with a frdge and microwave.
Very clean and tidy hotel ina great location and close to the 96th st subway station and on line 1 which goes right the way downtown.
Also we used GoAirlink to take us back to the airport and we booked before we went online. Good service and you get a free tour of NYC as you go and pick up people up from various hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ay_derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed here for nine days in April 2012 and enjoyed it. The Newton provides good value for money, it's clean and the staff were generally very helpful. The only minor drawback is that there's only one lift, which is slow at times. There's a subway station right outside and plenty of places to eat nearby. We'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
I thank you for your review and look forward to your return to us soon.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This was our third stay at the Newton, which is our hotel of choice in NYC. Here are my pros/cons/advise:

Pros: Immaculate hotel – they have a great housekeeping staff. This is as clean a hotel as I have ever been in. Friendly front desk (I will single out Charles and Jan). Wonderfully comfortable bed (they are firm). Location, Location, Location. The 96th Street subway has express trains downtown (2 and 3), which are real timesavers. If you don’t like the subway, the M104 or M5 bus will get you just about anywhere you want to go. The M96 crosstown bus makes getting to/from the eastside a breeze. The upper westside is very safe and has a great neighborhood feel.

Cons: Our window unit air conditioner was old and loud. Since it is a window unit, there is no closing the blackout drape. Consequently, our room was flooded with daylight by 6:30am.

Advise: Do NOT buy a ticket from the front desk for a ride to the airport on the Airlink shuttle. I was told by the front desk that the Newton was the last stop before going to the airport. It was the first stop and we spent an hour bouncing around Manhattan in an Econoline van going to 4 or 5 other hotels. I’m sure they get a commission selling tickets for this, but to lie about how the service operates left an unpleasant taste in my mouth after a wonderful stay. The Manhattan diner next door is good, but you can save a few bucks at breakfast by going to the very good Corner Café at the SE corner of 94th/Broadway. Gotham Wines & Liquors is right across the street and has a nice selection at fair prices.

The Newton is not a 5-star hotel and does not pretend to be. You will get a clean, comfortable room in an excellent location. The staff makes every effort to please. If you are courteous and pleasant to the staff, they will go out of their way to help. You get a lot of “bang for your buck” at the Hotel Newton.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rlbintegrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
I thank you for your recent comments and let me begin by apologizing if it seems that our staff was deceptive in any way. We normally never say whether it is a last stop unless we are specifically told by the company when booking. there is a chance that we were the last stop and after booking, the company added other stops but we never guarantee yes or no and if it seems as we did, again, I offer my sincere apologies. It looks like all else seemed well and we surely look forward to your return to us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#385 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#424 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Property: Hotel Newton
Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,445 - ₹ 22,994
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing