We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Would go back every time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Upper Yorkville Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Upper Yorkville Suites
Ranked #33 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Regina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would go back every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

I stayed at Upper Yorkville in November of last year. Been to the city many, many times before, but never stayed in this area before. El Barrio (the neighbourhood) is fantastic - amazing food, about 4 blocks to Central Park.....spectacular setting. Upper Yorkville Suites was by the far the best accomodations I've ever had the pleasure of staying in whilst in NYC...I was in the Lexington suite, which was enormous and very spacious, with every amenity you could think of. It is a bit of a hike up the stairs to the 3rd floor, but they were kind enough to help me up....a friend flew down from Toronto to join me on the weekend, and she was just as impressed. Very trendy studio - so perfectly appointed! Subway just around the corner! Downtown in 15-20 mins via subway. Best place to enjoy the locals - if you're not a touristy Times Square traveller - go to Upper Yorkville Suites!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rothcarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    18
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
11
25
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

We stayed in the Lexington suite for 5 days over Christmas and were really pleased with our apartment. The pictures on the website were accurate and in fact we were pleasantly surprised that it was bigger than we expected. We were greeted by the housekeeper who helped us with our bags and showed us around. We had a full kitchen with fridge/over/hobs/etc and a good sized bathroom

We had a great lounge area, with very comfy couch and LCD tv. The bedroom area was big enough and comfortable. However, the bedroom area was streetside and a bit noisy at certain times in the morning. The central heating is also loud when it comes on - the pipes rattle a little. The building is next to a McDonalds which meant relatively loud deliveries/collections early in the morning. Having said that, we were prepared for a noisy stay - it is New York! Also, if you are making the most of your time in New York you will be so tired by the end of the day you will sleep soundly anyway! The subway station is 2 minutes walk away and we had no problems whatsoever with the area in general.

The room was cleaned to a perfect standard everyday and we were well stocked with cereals, biscottis, tea and coffee.

Overall we were delighted with our stay. We are a couple in our late twenties so it was perfect for us as we spent most of the time out and about. This was the perfect base to come home to.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterBeth77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

We booked one of their serviced apartments almost by chance but we do not regret. We stayed in the Lexington Suite for a week and had a great time. Clean and user-friendly, this flat has all you need to cook and some breakfast food included in the price. You get daily cleaning service and the pieces of furniture are new (there is also a flatscreen tv-set).
Perfect for 2, you can sleep up to 4 persons thanks to the sofa-bed.
The agency is run by two very friendly and efficient brothers (David and Bob) who also manage the neighbouring hardware shop and can help you finding restaurants and services you may need in the neighbourhood (including a laundry and a taylor). Do not be impressed by the fact that the area might not be so posh as the rest of the Upper East Side: it is anyway quite safe and you can walk around with no problems.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela1974Milan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

.Had my reservation cancelled twice! They have a policy which makes you pay the full amount prior to arrival. I spoke to the owner on the phone and explained my student credit card would not be able to take the full amount. Therefore my reservation was cancelled.

I booked it again and explained to someone else I was paying cash and had made travel arrangements guaranteeing I would be there. One week past, no word of cancellation. I spent a day on the train travelling and tried and tried to contact the owner for a period of 5 hours prior to arrival but couldn’t reach him.

When I arrived I didn’t know if I had a booking! I then found out it was cancelled. JOE (owner) sent me an EMAIL (no phone call) while on the train. It was pure luck the apartment was still available.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy--Jenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Lexington Suite in the Upper Yorkville Suites location from June 30th to July 7th, 2008. The suite itself (essentially a 500 sq ft condo unit) was very nicely appointed with exposed brick walls, private bath, hardwood floors, an LCD TV with DVD player, and a fully equipped kitchen. The suite both met and exceeded our expectations as the suite was extremely clean, all appliances worked (new appliances) and staff were exceptionally friendly. The building was also very quiet with an excellent security system in front of the building. We gave the staff a courtesy call from the airport when we arrived and they waited curbside for us as we pulled up in a taxi. The only thing that marks the place is a very nice, out-of-place, glass door that is the next door north of the Macdonalds entrance (hence, this place can be easily missed if your not looking close).As there is no elevator in this older (but renovated) building, the owners were more than eager to help us carry up some of our luggage on arrival. Upon arrival they gave us a plethora of information on different details of the suite, security information, and highly recommended local eating establishments. The restaurants in the neighbourhood are wonderful and in particular there is a Spanish restaurant that is one block west of the place (on Lexington and 104th) that is fabulous. This restaurant is a highly recommended first stop if your hungry after a long plane ride.
Now, anyone thinking of staying here should know that this building is located in Harlem (Spanish Harlem). There are project-like buildings in the neighbourhood, although I was informed that this area is an "up and coming" neighbourhoood. This should NOT detract you from staying here if you are coming to NYC and eager to experience a little culture. This area is really cool to walk around during the daytime. In my humble opinion - Time Square and 5th avenue sleeping establishments do not adequately reflect real NYC culture. If you are caucasion, expect to be a minority in this neighbourhood, although you will quickly adapt and learn to enjoy the experience. People here and NYC in general were exceptionally friendly (*thankyou NYC*). Coming from Canada, my only thoughts to leave others is that I likely wouldn't recommend walking around after 10 PM in this area. The street lights tend to be quite distant from each other leaving side streets a little too dim for my comfort. The only thing I recommend for the owners of this building is to watch their prices. We stayed in the Lexington Suite for $175 a night and they are now at $225. Considering there are other places in Manhattan that are in this price range (and perhaps in neighbourhoods that are somewhat more secure), these suites may be over-priced for the Harlem district. Another little nuisance was the coffee maker. We eventually figured it out, but was disappointed with the diluted coffee it made (makes good tea though). Coffee-drinkers don't panic because there is a Dunkin Donuts and Macdonalds just out the front door:) The subway is one block west which is super convenient and a grocery store about two blocks south. Central Park is also a very easy walk from here. If I came back to New York I would stay here again as long as prices do not exceed what they are currently listed at. There is an absence of reviews on this place as it is a newer business. Don't worry as they run a very legitimate and professional establishment:) Hope this helps someone else! Photos available at their website.

  • Liked — It was a sparkling condo unit with kitchen, and was very close to all main attractions
  • Disliked — Didn't feel comfortable walking after 10PM in the neighbourhood.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank geminiRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#294 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#243 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#359 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#263 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#9 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#3 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Yorkville Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Yorkville Suites

Property: Upper Yorkville Suites
Address: 1876 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,018 - ₹ 18,090
Hotel Class:3 star — Upper Yorkville Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Upper Yorkville Suites, conveniently located at 1876 3rd Avenue, between 103rd & 104th Street on the East Side of Manhattan. Each suite has its own full kitchen, full bathroom, and air conditioning, flat panel TV w/cable, free WIFI and much more! Many of our suites can comfortably accommodate a family as large as five. We are only one or two blocks away from major public transportation (Bus and Train) and private car service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Upper Yorkville Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upper Yorkville Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing