We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“So cool at night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire State Building

Empire State Building
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 34.00*
and up
Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets
Ranked #11 of 1,059 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
222 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“So cool at night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Walked out of dinner, saw the building on a beautiful cloudless night, figured 'why not'...neither of us had been to the observation deck at night... wow, was that cool... just amazing views in all directions. Took us about an hour since entrance of the lobby until we were standing on the observation deck... wish we would've known we could've purchased tickets on line and avoided at least the first ~35mins of waiting in line to get past security...still plenty of lines (to get your picture taken, not once (with skyline backdrop photo) but twice (with a guy in an ape suit) before getting to the first of 2 elevator rides you have to take. But still was a great experience...we got lucky withe the weather and glad we did it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pmmnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Hi pmmnc- We are happy to hear you enjoyed the 360-degree views from the Observatory. Besides purchasing your tickets in advance, you can save time in line by visiting during our off-peak hours (8 a.m. and 3 p.m.), when the lines tend to be shorter in general. Nevertheless, we're glad you made a spontaneous trip to the Observatory, and we thank you for your visit. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

51,787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31,703
    13,298
    4,387
    1,447
    952
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another tick on the bucket list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Great attraction historically, mechanically and generally. I might have been lucky with a Bueatiful day and very little crowds. Well Organised attraction though.

Helpful?
Thank KarlosPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Hi KarlosPerth- We're glad you had a beautiful day for your visit! We appreciate your compliment about the organization of the attraction. Thank you for your visit and your review. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We went to the observation at night and it was mesmerizing. NYC is often said to be the city that never sleeps and it is definitely true when you are up there at night. This is the best view of the south end of the island.

Tip: buy your tickets online. You have to go through security just buy tickets. Easier and faster if you already have them!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tlbdpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Hi tlbdpt- We're glad you enjoyed the evening views during your visit! Your tip to purchase tickets online is a great one, as doing so will save visitors time in line. Thank you for your visit and your review. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We ordered tickets online (must do!) & saved some time standing in line. Employees were pretty nice & joked around about "loosing my husband" In the lines. View is spectacular! Keep on mind that it's windy and a little chilly at the top & bring a jacket or sweater. The earlier you go, the shorter the lines!

Helpful?
Thank Ivangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Hi Ivangela- We are happy you enjoyed your experience and the views. Buying tickets in advance online and arriving early in the morning are both great tips that will save visitors time in line. Besides 8 a.m. when we open, our other off-peak time is around 3 p.m. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent view, buy express ticket!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I bought the express tickets for me and my mum, and it was great. We skipped all the lines, any time an attendant saw our ticket they just parted the line to escort us through. Definitely the way to go. It paid for itself with the 2 for 1 cocktails voucher in the empire lounge afterwards, which were also great. Two lovely cocktails made our walk back to the hotel fly by!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Hi Becky B- We are delighted to hear how much you and your mother enjoyed the views, and we're glad you had a pleasant experience with the Express Pass. Thank you for your visit. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing