We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but we preferred Top of the Rock” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire State Building

Empire State Building
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 34.00*
and up
Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets
Ranked #10 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Somerset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good but we preferred Top of the Rock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

You HAVE to go, but be prepared to queue and for crowds at the top. Best to go early to beat the crowds. Even late evening it gets packed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shiftworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Hi banga1- Thanks for your visit and for sharing your thoughts here. We're happy to hear that you feel visiting the Empire State Building is a must-do experience, and we agree that early mornings (we open at 8am) are a prime time to visit to avoid the crowds. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

53,735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33,044
    13,714
    4,515
    1,492
    970
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“360 Degree view of NY City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We bought two tickets each for $38 and used the fast track mode to reach the 86th floor. Went through the same procedure of security check as in the airport. The view was spectacular on that clear sky day. If you are visiting for the first time, would recommend the audio system sold for $10, this explains the history and the details of each sight from window 2 to 7.
This building, tops out to 1250 feet, and there are 2,85,0000 rentable square feet making it the largest office buildings in the world. The tower surpasses the height of Chrysler building.
A visit to Empire State building is a must.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CMENON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“be patient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

great views but get used to waiting in line and it's not one line. There are at least four queues that you can't avoid. Some move fast and some are slow but the view from the 86th floor observatory is great and for an extra cost you can go to the 102nd floor.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank banga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thanks for visiting the Empire State Building and posting a review here. Happy to hear you enjoyed the view! As one of the most popular landmarks the Empire State Building attracts a large number of visitors. For those pressed for time we suggest purchasing tickets online and visiting during the less crowded times, generally 8AM and 3PM. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“vonny212”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Loved it, if you go to new york put it on your list as places to go.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank vonny212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for your visit and for posting a review here. Thrilled to hear you recommend it being on visitors’ list of places to go while here in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

This is a "must go" place in NY. You'll have a full impressive 360 deg view of city. At the 86th floor the wind can be very cold. The lines are huge, be patient or buy an express ticket.

Helpful?
1 Thank apomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for visiting the Empire State Building and writing a response here. Very happy to hear you consider this to be a “must go” place in NY! The Empire State Building does attract a large number of visitors, especially during the summer months, so for those pressed for time we offer our Express Pass ticket option, as well as purchasing your tickets online and printing them prior to arriving. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing