We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most eclectic unique hotel in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greenwich Hotel
Ranked #78 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most eclectic unique hotel in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Selecting a hotel in NYC can be a true quest. The options are endless. So where do you start? How do you pick your temporary pied-à-terre? Well, look at the immense possibilities as an advantage and choose a hotel that reflects your personality. That is exactly how we chose The Greenwich Hotel in Tribeca.

How can I describe this masterpiece in one sentence? Simply impossible because this eclectic haven is so close to perfection. So only an elaborate appraisal will do The Greenwich Hotel justice. Let me guide you through our exquisite trip and it starts at the latent but grand entrance. From the moment you enter the Greenwich it is like walking through a gate to another world. A vintage world where time stood still. The antique mood makes you feel calm, relaxed and safe. You just want to get lost in this ancient villa. But actually this is not completely possible because the elevators will only give you access to your floor and the spa.

After a brief walk through the corridors you step into your room via a heavy hardwood door. It is like opening a vault and let me warn you: you will find a treasure. My eclectic genes went ballistic after seeing this dreamily decorated chamber. Don’t you love it when a collection of perfect single details becomes one? It is as if the Greenwich is forcing you to enjoy those little delights in life. The basket filled with sweet goodies and the champage emphasize that policy.

But there was one more secret waiting for me: the Drawing Room. My words will never capture the ambience of the private room, but I will give it a try. Imagine old vintage oversized sofas, small assorted side tables, exotic carpets, rich velvet drapes and a majestic fireplace. You absolutely know that the world outside is still spinning. But when you are in the Drawing Room, you don't care. You just want to enjoy the impeccable food of Locanda Verde, a glass of champagne or just a cappuccino. It is up to you.

All in all The Greenwich hotel is an absolute match for my eclectic personality in every single way. Is there any other hotel in nyc like the Greenwich, I don't think so! This unique place is a true gem, one that you will have to cherish.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knickerbockerforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    54
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
61
263
42
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Greenwich Hotel is a beautiful hotel in Soho NYC. Staff were lovely and friendly particularly doormen and the staff in the lounge bar which had great service and a lovely roaring fire. Amenities included a wonderful pool which feels spa like and calming in a very relaxing atmosphere. The whole of the Greenwich is a relaxing place to stay particularly compared to uptown hotels and feels very discreet. The only comment I would make is that if you don't know Manhattan very well you may find the location not entirely suitable but we chose it as we know the city quite well and wanted to stay in Soho this trip and we found it a perfect stay. We booked a deluxe room and as this was for 5 nights we thought that we would have a bath included and although the shower is amazing a tip would be to request a bath if thats important to you as not all deluxe rooms have them and if we went for a return stay which we would definitely like to do, we would really like to have a bath included, although we were advised that we could move to a room with bath for the last two nights but we didn't want the inconvenience. The bed is extremely comfortable and we experienced very low noise levels An added nice touch in the room is that soft drinks and snacks are included. We now consdier the Greenwich our favourite hotel in New York and we have stayed in quite a few, admitedly its not a cheap hotel but but you definitely get value for money.

Room Tip: if a bath is important to you request one when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

This hotel was perfect in so many ways. The staff was excellent and very helpful. Our room was incredible! The bed and shower were so comfortable and relaxing. All of the little details made this hotel seem very cozy and a wonderful place to stay. Lastly, if you get a chance you have to try the pool it is amazing! I would definitely go back to this hotel if I was to visit NY again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antigua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

had a fabulous weekend in a very cold new york, great service, best shower ever, huge bath, roarind fires, comfortable beds, very quiet and also very vey cool - thoroughly recommend to all

Room Tip: room 203 had great balcony, althougha bit chilly now would be great in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zola99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We booked a deluxe room for 2 nights through Amex Fine Hotels and Resorts. It was pricey -$700 a night. The room was gorgeous though (Room 312), full of character with beautiful linens, interesting rugs, and a great couch. We had a street view and had no noise issues. We slept great! The free soft drinks, juice, candy, etc. is a great touch. The bathroom was large and very elegant with white marble (no tub though). The private guests only lobby was a real treat. The fire was always roaring and the service in there was fantastic. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NVRam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#255 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#239 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Property: Greenwich Hotel
Address: 377 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-2338
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#62 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#122 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 44,150 - ₹ 59,082
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing