We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of Front Desk.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stevens Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Stevens Inn
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware of Front Desk.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed here on a trip to see the Caverns, and It was ok, but we had enough problems to give it a negative review. The room was clean... once the maids got to it. We first arrived, and the front desk had given us a room that hadn't been cleaned yet. We didn't want to leave our stuff in the truck, so we had to wait for almost an hour before the room was cleaned, The second problem we had was with billing. They billed us twice for the room. We called them when we were already out of town and they said they'd reimburse us. It took a few weeks for us to get the funds back in out account. After it was all said and done, they reimbursed us everything but about a dollar and change. we still haven't got that dollar and change back and probably never will. On the upside, the breakfast included with your stay is great. The biscuits and gravy on the buffet are to die for. The restaurant is pretty good, but kinda pricey. The amenities are plentiful, and the rooms, spacious. It's a nice place to stay, just beware of the front desk people. They will overcharge you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    163
    141
    76
    63
See reviews for
215
151
23
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Big Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

there are NO fancy hotels in Carlsbad, NM. However, we are there on business quite a bit. The staff at the Stevens are always accommodating, the rooms are clean, the onsite restaurant serves homemade chicken fried steak (a fav with the guys, and they can get a cold beer or a cocktail). The plumbing is old so they use see-through tp; sometimes some of the lights are on the blink but the staff is quick to respond. I am not rating this as a four star hotel, but definitely preferable to the "average" new hotels popping up everywhere. The front desk personnel are hands down better than anywhere else we have stayed in Carlsbad, NM, Pecos, TX or Monahans, TX

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed here at this hotel, and while I was there I ate at the restaurant. One of the waitresses took an additional $50.00 on a $30.00 ticket. She waited until I left and then added more money to the ticket. They have not been very accommodating to our problem and keep refusing to fix the situation to make it right. I suggest to everyone staying there to KEEP UP WITH YOUR TICKETS, if you are going to eat at there restaurant!!!! I will NEVER eat there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Calgary
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

A large motel (over 200 rooms - many ground level), the Best Western Stevens could offer a lot.

We had a very large room but there was not enough furniture (lack of seating choices). It was very pleasant, though, sitting outside in the early evening with our nightly drink. None of the ice machines on the property worked and I had to go into the bar to get some ice. Staff was friendly at the front desk but had insufficient training to handle room payment through a Best Western Travel Card.

The nicest part of the stay was the lovely pool area -- refreshing on a hot day and a reason to return to the Best Western Stevens.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2DogsCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Great, clean, large w/handicap accessable bath.
Good breakfatst buffet.
Would highly reccommend staying there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
5.9 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.1 km away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#5 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.8 km away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevens Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevens Inn

Property: Stevens Inn
Address: 1829 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517
Region: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,126 - ₹ 14,202
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stevens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally know as Best Western Stevens Inn we are now Independent and are doing business as Stevens Inn Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Stevens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stevens Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western
Best Western Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing