We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience”

The Trinity Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 81 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We booked at this hotel for the middle of a long trip expecting dinner. We arrived one minute after 9 p.m. and they refused to serve us anything but a cold sandwich. We were then taken outside and up a fire escape to our room. Room was OK, but no coffee. We went down for breakfast and were told we were 'too early' since it was Sunday, and brunch was not till 9 a.m. After all this it was very expensive indeed. We do not recommend at all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

We have several problems with your review 1. We don't rent to locals ..you list as from Carlsbad New Mexico 2.We have items to serve guests checking in after closing..often putting them in your room for you. We would not have anything that even resembled a "cold sandwich". 3.We open at 8a.m. for brunch on Sundays and often serve room guests earlier on request. 4. We have only 9 rooms, making it easy to search check- in times ..going back several weeks finding no guests checking in at 9:01on any Saturday night..We are unsure what prompted such a misleading review but we believe in the faith,hope and hard work of this business and the Trinity family and wish you nothing but the best for your future. janie Balzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Having seen that Trinity Hotel Restaurant was the highest rated in the Carlsbad area I expected better. We were seated in the first floor bar area and found it to be very noisy. It was frustrating as it was difficult to follow the conversation in this location.
We ordered a house and Caesar salad, each of which were fine. Our entrees were chicken parmesan, pork chops, and spaghetti with meatballs. Each diner rated the meal as good, but not great— agin, just fine. For dessert we shared the generous portion of tiramisu. While the taste was good, the ladyfingers were dry and required chewing.
The waitstaff was attentive and very nice. We will try another restaurant next time

Thank Stephandfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We appreciate your review and have shared your comments with our staff.We regret that the original tin ceiling from the 1800s does tend to make a busy bar noisy .Thank for your patronage and your review we hope to be of service to you in the future. Blessings janie Balzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Finding a place like the Trinity Restaurant makes a good trip even better.
Recommended by several people, we decided to give them a try for dinner and were not disappointed.
A quick visit to the bar while we waited for our table gave the chance to taste several NM wines, giving us a good choice for our dinner.
Our waiter, Jason, was fabulous! His recommendations were perfect and his attentiveness was just right. The special was a filet with some green chile strips and a blend of cheddar cheese. Then some cheesecake to top iit off.
An amazing evening!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JCD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Trinity experience. We appreciate your patronage and your review we hope to be of service to you in the future. Blessings janie Balzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Very disappointed after reading good reviews. Slow service - no one greeted us after we were seated for 10 min. Only beer and wine, not a full bar, so we ordered iced tea and that came quickly. Goat cheese and crackers, small portion for $10, came reasonably quickly, but then our entrees didn't come for an hour. The waitress put in my order for the wrong cut of steak, so when we finally got our meals I had to wait another 20 min. while she reordered. Even with a "rush", it still took 20 min. to cook a thin filet mignon medium well? To her credit, she admitted her mistake immediately and took the meal off the bill; but after she had talked me into ordering medium rare, I was surprised that the steak came with a medium well indicator. It was still tender but the preparation, a special which sounded good enough, was no more than a steak on top of a few portobello slices and smothered with a thick layer of tasteless cheddar. Not an inspired prep. Husband's pork chop had more bone and fat than meat. Accompaniments were okay, not exceptional. Not expecting a Cordon Bleu-trained chef in Carlsbad, but after the TA reviews, I was expecting more than we got.

I am marking the restaurant "expensive", not because it was really expensive but because it was pretending to be an upscale establishment with much higher prices than it warranted. And it is the first time I have ever marked service as "terrible".

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tripsforwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We deeply apologize for your poor experience at the Trinity. We have spoken with staff and in particular the single mother of toddler twins who waited on you(Two reviews ago she was Elizabeth Rocks!) We have also shared your lengthy description of your distasteful food with our Excuitive Chef Samantha Smith who is by the way a Cordon-bleu chef . We should have comped your entire ticket and would have gladly done so had you asked the owner who comped your meal.We work each and everyday to provide excellent service and delicious food we are extremely disappointed when we fail to accomplish our goals.Again our apologizes. janie Balzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent food and service. Will return this evening.We enjoyed very much. Great job is updating old building.

Thank Marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

We hope you enjoyed the entire experience.We thank you for your patronage and your review we hope to be of service to you in the future. Blessings, janie Balzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Trinity Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Trinity Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing