We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
10
7
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
7
1
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We staged here before and after our trip into the wilderness. The rooms were large and comfy. Kitchen facilities complete. We were able to eat our breakfasts and cook our lunches and dinners and saved some money (Alaska is expensive). We got an orientation and suggestions for restaurants and walks. This is a small place and you can walk anywhere without needing a taxi.

Room Tip: Make sure you have what you need in the kitchen near your room and make sure you have a table that seats the number in your party
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank trevans625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We visited Kotzebue to travel by bush plane to Kobuk Valley and Gates of the Arctic National Parks. We stayed two nights at Bibber's BNB (we paid $125 per night using the offered cash discount) and had a very relaxing stay. Since weather worked out and we completed our plane tour the first day we arrived, we had the rest of the time to hang out at the BNB.

We found the bedroom to be comfy, the free wifi to be adequate, the kitchen to be very convenient, and the other entertainment options -- cable TV, puzzles, books, and Jean's recommendations -- to be added bonuses.

We'd recommend bringing your own food. Groceries and restaurants are very expensive, and the kitchen has plenty of pots and pans to use.

The place is a bit old-fashioned and we had a few issues with getting a hold of Jean for questions and to check out, but other than that, it's a great option if you are staying in Kotzebue.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Jean is very helpful. We were in a room that shares a kitchen & bath. Our room had 2 beds, was spacious, and had a tv. No a/c or fan, beds not all that comfortable. Bathroom fine but wait for the hot water to get there. Kitchen was nice to have but not enough basic supplies to make our breakfast. Garbage cans in all areas overflowing when we arrived and never emptied. Wish we had only stayed for the day but you cannot count on the weather.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SueMC_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Bibber's before & after an Arctic canoe trip, as I prefer to avoid large hotels. Based on experience of others in our group, though, I'd chose the hotel next time as it was reported to be clean, pleasant, well run, & not busy. Jean, the B&B proprietor, does not live on the property but was available by phone...sometimes. Our room was reasonably clean, & we were fortunate to be sharing bathroom & kitchen with another member of our canoe party. Breakfast was self-made, with very limited supplies (cold cereal or pancake mix) but a pleasant kitchen; we went to the local grocery & prepared our own food. Washer was broken & no other laundry facilities in Kotzebue except at hotel so had to handwash essentials after trip. This was more like a basic hostel than a B&B.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Jean was extremely helpful and accommodating. My husband flew in as a surprise to me, and Jean immediately welcomed him and changed my reservation for two. We had a very clean, quiet room. We had access to a kitchen and living room area that was private and clean. We shared a bathroom with one man, and it was kept very clean by staff. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to our family. Best deal in town and so grateful we met Jean. Very close to restaurants, bank, etc. even in 10 degree weather, we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11111saras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews