We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for quiet family get-away”
Review of Roanoke Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roanoke Island Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot for quiet family get-away”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Just completed another fantastic stay at The Roanoke Island Inn. I visited for the second sprig break in a row with my two elementary school age kids. "Dee"'and Sarah welcomed us back and in many ways we felt as if we had never left. The Bungalow looked fabulous. It is tough to imagine the disaster of the hurricane just last August. In addition to the Roamoke Island Inn, we enjoyed ice cream every day at the Coffee Shop, more sandwiches than we can count from Poor Richards, an afternoon at the Elizabethan Garden, a trip to the aquarium (they have great lectures that my kids love) and of course kite flying in KDH. We'll certainly be back. It's more of a question of how many times between now and next Spring. Thanks for a great holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obxgirl1, Manager at Roanoke Island Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
We loved having you here again this spring and hope to see you later this summer-
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
178
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We had the pleasure of discovering Manteo while attending the wedding of our friend. Although we had been to the outer banks, we had not been to Manteo before. The Roanoke Island Inn was a great home base to easily walk around Manteo to restaurants and we liked that a lot.
The innkeeper we met upon arrival was very friendly and gave us some great dinner suggestions.
We booked the Bungalow for our stay, as we had another person with us for part of the trip. It was very charming. One of the drawbacks to the Bungalow however were the beds. They were quite firm so you must like that kind of mattress to be comfortable.
Also, the Bungalow was difficult to keep cool.
The other drawback was the rocking chairs at the Bungalow were in disrepair and could not be used.
We enjoyed using the bikes provided by the inn to bike around town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank iHeartTravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obxgirl1, Manager at Roanoke Island Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for writing! New mattresses are in the bungalow this season and since you were here after Hurricane Irene last August, there were many things to attend to. The bungalow was first on our extensive list. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Manteo and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The weather was poor during our 2-night stay so we couldn't really enjoy The Outer Banks. But we were glad we stayed in Manteo, which was sheltered from the worst of the weather, and the Roanake Island Inn was a good place to be. We had a corner room on the second floor, which was nicely furnished with a nice view of the water. We enjoyed the main house, with a lovely lounge and a kitchen well-stocked with drinks and snacks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My family has been staying at Roanoke Island Inn for many years. We love the bungalow, because our dogs are very welcomed there. This year was especially fun because of the help D', the inn keeper was able to give us. We love Roanoke Island, with the beautiful scenery, shopping and restaurants within walking distance of the inn. It is such a nice, happy place for our dogs to travel with us. We'll be going back soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We've been visiting the Roanoke for approaching 20 years. D' is an outstanding host, and I appreciate her helpful attitude and interest in our comfort. Her staff is professional and non-invasive.

The Roanoke is one of the few inns around that you can have *total* privacy if you wish. The inn was designed with privacy in mind, yet you can interact with other guests if you wish on the breeze way or in the large living room. The continental breakfast has always been a high point for me, in that I can schedule eating when and where I want, as opposed to a sit down baon and eggs meal. I can recommend Sam and Omies across the bridge if you want a phenominal meat and eggs breakfast.

It's one of our favorites, and we will be back again and again !!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 km away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
6.9 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
6.3 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
21.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roanoke Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roanoke Island Inn

Property: Roanoke Island Inn
Address: 305 Fernando St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,845 - ₹ 10,981
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Bed and Breakfast offers 8 rooms , a private Bungalow- and a fully furnished historic home called the "Croatan Cottage". All of our Inn rooms offer private entrances, private baths, tv, ac,wifi.charging stations, beautifully appointed. 5 of our rooms will sleep 2 with King beds. 3 rooms will sleep 3-4 guests. Bungalow sleeps 2-4 and is also dog friendly. The fully furnished and loaded 1920's "Croatan House " sleeps max 6 and is also dog friendly. The Inn rooms offer a beautiful common pantry area which all guests enjoy the use of our microwave, toaster oven, mini fridge, ice machine, soda machine, sink, dishwasher and this common area is where our "self-serve continental" breakfast is available daily from 8-11 am. All guests have access to our 10 rocking chair breezeway upstairs on the second level offering breathtaking views of the Manteo waterfront and iconic Marshes Lighthouse building, our fabulous common lobby area with a library of books and comfy chairs, plus all guests have use of our complimentary bikes, gorgeous back yard garden and koi pond area equipped with multiple chairs and gazebo to just relax with a good book or day dream. Daily housekeeping available and attentive staff keep this gem a must stay when visiting Roanoke Island and the Outerbanks area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roanoke Island Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing