We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
343
23
10
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
343
23
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room owners and staff east lake the outer banks fries french toast bed and breakfast my husband and i virginia dare b bs gracious hosts old house other guests year anniversary each morning exceeded our expectations common areas
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

The White Doe Inn is gorgeous! The grounds are sprawling with swings and lounge chairs all over just asking you to 'come on and relax!' Our room, The Garret, was huge and wonderful. But the best thing we can say about the White Doe Inn is the staff. From the moment we were greeted at the front door, we felt at home. Pam made us feel like family as she led us around and showed us all the "good" places...where we got cookies or brownies or pie in the afternoon. where the beer and wine was and where the coffee machine stood ready for use at any time.
Carol made scrumptious 4 course breakfasts every morning. Who ever eats dessert after breakfast? We did!
Rachel was a sweet server always ready with ideas about what to do for the day.
A special treat was getting to meet and talk with Bebe, the owner of the White Doe Inn. She is such a lovely lady and a joy to talk to.
Pam and her little dog Peanut were such fun. We got in lots of dog pets and some great conversations with Pam. When we had to leave I felt like I left a friend.
We would love to go back to The Outer Banks just to stay at the White Doe Inn.
We loved it!

Room Tip: King sized beds on first and third floors. Second floor has queen beds
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank merriment2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedoeinn, Manager at The White Doe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We,too, felt like we were saying goodbye to friends when you checked out but we know you will be back and we can't wait! I'm so glad you got to spend time with the owner Bebe as she knows so much of the local history; I think we should start a weekly 'coffee talk' session for our guests so they can hear all their stories! Stay in touch and we look forward to seeing again you soon!

Pam (Peanut sends his love too...)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Our trip to a beach in Southeastern NC was canceled due to Hurricane Florence, so we decided to explore options at the Outer Banks. We had not been to there in 30+ years but read about the White Doe Inn B&B online and wanted to give it a try. It was a great decision! We loved our room, the innkeeper and staff, the breakfast, the fact that it was walking distance to the waterfront shops and restaurants in downtown Manteo, and that it was only a 10 minute drive to the beach. The inn provides bicycles as well as another way to explore the island. There's also the NC Aquarium, the Elizabethan Gardens, the Lost Colony close by, as well as the Outer Banks lighthouses and many beaches. So much to do in the area! We definitely want to go back and would definitely want to stay again at the White Doe Inn!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedoeinn, Manager at The White Doe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

I'mm so glad it all worked out and that you were able to get your vacation on the Outer Banks! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your next trip.

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

My fiancé surprised me with a 2 night stay at this delightful, beautiful and lovely B&B as an early birthday gift and I fell instantly in love! The house, service and location are all lovely. We loved the room we had with the wonderful fireplace, balcony and amazing tub in the bathroom. We booked a spa service & had a couples 90 min Swedish massages and we LOVED it! Relaxed us so much! Loved the breakfast we had on the outside deck in the morning. Food was delicious and the ambience memorable. Wonderful staff at this B&B! And the staff & guests are all so friendly! And the location is great with so many awesome things you can do! Few things we did: Rum Tour, Hatteras Lighthouse, Corolla Wild Horse Tour and visited the Elizabeth Gardens. We loved this B&B and everything we got to do in just a couple days. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DianaMichael2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedoeinn, Manager at The White Doe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

We LOVED you both and are so excited that you found each other! Please come back to visit us soon!

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Our friends Debbie & Pappy insisted that we stay at the White Doe Inn because of Pam’s over-the-top hospitality. So glad we did. Pam made us feel right at home and so did Peanut - the cute little dickens. Accommodations were lovely. Enjoyed sitting outback in gardens. The best b&b I have ever stayed at. Great establishment. We will be back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank wcrabtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedoeinn, Manager at The White Doe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Thank you so much for your review! It was great to meet you both and to see Debbie and Pappy again and we look forward to your next visit!

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We arrived at the White Doe Inn for our anniversary on a Friday for a stay of 2 nights at this beautiful house. The house is quite breathtaking, with rich detail and history at every turn. The veranda and grounds are lush with vibrant landscaping that gives a soothing and tranquil feeling. The White Doe provides relaxation at its best, and great company through ought the house with its many guests; of course there is plenty of privacy as well with many nooks and seating areas everywhere. The in room massages were an excellent way to unwind and Tina did a fabulous job in melting away our stresses. Pam is quite literally one of the best inn keepers we have experienced, she welcomed us very warmly and attended to our every need doing everything to ensure we enjoyed our stay. We cannot say enough good things about her! On Saturday night we had the staff prepare dinner for us with steak and local seafood which we enjoyed with another couple at the house, and it of course was fantastic as well! The BEST weekend we have had staying at a B&B hands down! Well done White Doe!

Room Tip: Get a room with a two person soaking tub!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank servemebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedoeinn, Manager at The White Doe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We LOVED having you here and can't wait till your next visit! New Years Eve???

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews