We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waterside Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #45 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waterside Resort”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed at the Dana recently for a seminar that was held on site. The hotel has a shuttle from the airport for a reasonable fee making a rental car unnecessary for me which was a plus. Because of it's location, you will need to use the city shuttle to head downtown or to other locations although it is walking distance from Sea World. The rooms are very comfortable and homey and the staff was very responsive. I ate at one of the restaurants and the food was very good!

Room Tip: I stayed in the older part of the hotel near the pools, with a garden view. If you want a Bay view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revmom1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    685
    272
    145
    82
See reviews for
1,004
580
66
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My family and I were looking for a hotel that was close enough to Seaworld (and everything else) and decided to stay at the Dana, Seaworld's "official hotel." We got a great deal, 50% off ($130 a night).

We got a marina view room and it was lovely! We originally had a room in the 600 building, but our neighbors were so incredibly loud, we asked to be switched. We were switched to the 800 building, which still faces the marina, but was more quiet and quaint. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. The hotel/rooms are "bungalow" style. 

Room is kinda small, but still nice. Beds aren't the best, but not bad either. The rooms have nice shutters and windows that open so you get a nice breeze. Basic amenities: fridge, coffee maker, microwave, etc. They contract with the Wavehouse Gym down by the beach and they offer daily and weekly rates. ($30 a week) My husband loved working out with a view of the beach!

Perks of this hotel: shuttle to Seaworld and airport. So close to the beach. Tons of eateries around. Target and Ralph's close by. 5-7 minutes to downtown (Zoo) and there is a walkway along the marina for evening strolls! 

Overall, my family and I were very comfy and happy with our hotel choice. I would definitely stay here again if I got another deal, but not sure if I would pay over $200 a night (for 5 nights). Oh, and parking was steep, $18 a night but since we were staying for so long, the clerk cut our parking to $9 upon check-in.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMuffet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Our family stayed there for the San Diego Birding Festival. We were pleased with the very friendly staff, clean rooms and good rate. The only negative thing I would have to say is that in the late evening a few people were rather "very noisy" at the swimming pool and the jacuzz . We phoned the front desk and they immediately took care of the problem.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WyomingTrogon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Booked this hotel via hotwire for just under $100. This hotel has 2 areas, one of them is 3 stories with views of Mission Bay and the other which have garden views. The garden view rooms are the ones we got but we were on the ground floor with a nice patio. These rooms are like motel style rooms in which you enter the room from an outside walkway. The actual rooms are very nice and clean. The A/C unit is very loud but I used to sleeping with white noise so it did not bother me at all. The location was excellent, next door to Sea World and a 20 minute walk to Mission Beach. Just know that parking is $18 per night but almost every hotel in San Diego charges. Would definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have patio in garden section but second floor does not have any patio at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a series of muddy brown, two story square buildings built around a garden and pool area. It is located on the mission bay lagoon but not on mission beach. Restaurant choices within walking distance are limited and no stores nearby. Bus to mission beach and old town every 20/30 minutes. Parking is $18.
When we landed at the airport we had to take a cab because the advertised hotel shuttle did not operate after 8 pm. We checked in and noticed the room was cold. There was an AC remote but it did not work. We had a really cold night. Next day we found out you had to crawl under the side table and manually turn on the unit. The wifi did not work.
I think the room had been smoked in or the building must be fairly old - it has the "musty old hotel room" odor.
Rooms are nicely furnished, gardens are lovely, staff friendly.
Overallj an OK hotel but I'd probably look elsewhere if I was to return to San Diego

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Skelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#149 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,168 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly The Dana On Mission Bay, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#43 Family Hotel in San Diego
#69 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,079 - ₹ 25,128
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront resort enveloped by tropical landscaping, The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection delivers an exceptional lodging experience in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Rest comfortably in a well-appointed guestroom or two-room suite overlooking Mission Bay. Delight in such quality amenities as two outdoor, heated swimming pools, fitness center, private marina, and watersport and bicycle rentals on site. Our location is both family- and business-friendly. The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection is less than one mile to Mission Beach and Belmont Park. We're the closest hotel to SeaWorld San Diego and a short drive to the San Diego Zoo. And the San Diego Convention Center is equally convenient. In short, the only thing we overlook is the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing