We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bahia Resort - Okay not Great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #27 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
182 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bahia Resort - Okay not Great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The resort is in Mission Beach and also and inlet area that is nice to picnic or lay in the sun. the waters are calm and warm.
The website is alittle misleading. We stayed in the building across the parking lot. It was okay - Definetly need some cleaning and TLC. We had to move to the one story rooms for one night - Oh my!. They are not very nice or clean. These rooms need to be totally refinished. The bathrooms were .............. There are other choices. Do your research.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljmscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling CA, General Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
We regret you were not able to experience one of our new rooms wile visiting us. Most of our rooms are now new or renovated and we would hope you would revisit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,027
    968
    371
    173
    153
See reviews for
1,440
919
86
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach
Level Contributor
318 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We were with a conference that was held at the resort so we were stuck with going there. The suite was $199 a night. So not cheap. And the room had ANTS! So I reported the problem to the office and they said they would send someone to spray and take care of it. If they did spray, it did NOT take care of it. We had ANTS in the bed!!! I had an ant on me when I went to get dressed in the bathroom. We were careful to not leave out any food. Nevertheless we had ants on the table, countertop, in the shower, on the desk. Yes, you get the idea. They have a real ANT problem.
The place has a nice view but the furniture is old and tired. My friend was in a room with a phone that was out of service so we could not call her. They would not tell us what room she was in. We could not reach her! (She does not unfortunately have a cell phone.)
There are a lot of other hotels to choose from. If we were not locked in by the conference, we would have gone elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room recently remodeled -- maybe that would be better. Not sure they have any such thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley0415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
I am very sorry to hear you experienced an ant problem with your room. We do have a strict pest control program and this is not something our guest should experience. We do not expect any of our guests to have issues with any of the equipment including the phones in our rooms. They are all the latest technology so I must apologize if there were issues with your friends phone as this is not something that happens often and we will address the lack of assistance you experienced in contacting your friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I like this place. It is on its own peninsula a short walk from Mission Beach. Large park across street. Sit on the lawn and watch the evening fireworks at Seaworld. Large pool (one of my must haves) and hot tub. Good small kids pool area roped off. First visit, stayed on fourth floor of large building north end of property. View to north of Mission Bay was great. Small kitchenette was great to make b'fast and coffee. Next visit we wanted to stay in one of the small studios with private lawn area. I was in SD about a month before scheduled family vacation at Bahia. Drove over, picked exact studio I wanted. Made reservation with specific instructions. Called a few days before to confirm. A ok. Called morning of departure to confirm specific request. "No problem" from hotel. Arrived after seven hour drive and my requested (and several times confirmed) studio rented out a half hour earlier. Having stayed in many, many hotels on business trips, I just backed up and asked how we could resolve the problem. Manager showed me two other available units. One smaller studio behind their marina, one studio directly downwind from trash dumpsters. Both not ok. Asked again what we could do to resolve non-availability of much confirmed studio. End result: five days in Presidential Suite. Top Floor, facing Seaworld. Welcoming wiine and fruit basket. This time wine and fireworks from private balcony every night. That's what I call making a screw up right! I still may return to try the studio out.

Room Tip: Large building at very north of property has great views, but not of Seaworld fireworks from balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank downtheroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 days and 4 nights in March for a conference. Conference center was really nice. The hotel is very old, mid 1960s? We stayed in the renovated area closet to the bay. Room was ok and pretty clean. My biggest complaint was that the room was so far away from everything. Much nicer hotels in the area at comprable rates. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigmanu56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I took my 5 year old to meet up with another friend & stayed for 5 days in september, I'm a Hotel lover but this one lacked a lot if you have children...it's really spread out & the only amenities are at the lobby which can be a long way for a bucket of ice. The staff were helpful with any questions, the room was fairly large, room service reasonable & good. Maybe if they put a little area for the kids to play & a wading pool or something for little kids to do it would be a fun place to hang out. My advice...if you came for the Ocean, stay at the Beach Cottages right on the boardwalk, you can see the ocean from your room, you can hear the waves & smell the ocean, it's got great rates & very clean & kid friendly!

Room Tip: maybe ask for a room close to the lobby so not so far to walk for a bucket of ice??
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freedom2fly247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling CA, Guest Relations Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
The Bahia is a family friendly resort. We offer complementary tennis, shuffle board and have a full video arcade room off our pool area. I regret that you were not able to find the sand jungle gym playground equipment on our private beach as that would have been a wonderful spot to enjoy a beverage in one of our many complementary beach loungers and watch your children play on the swings and slides. We must have missed the mark at pointing out all our ice machines because we have several around the resort all within a few steps of all the rooms, including one at the far end of the resort. If you do give us another try a great activity that kids love is “feeding the seals” in our seal rescue enclosure at the front of the resort. It makes for a great family photo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Property: Bahia Resort Hotel
Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,762 - ₹ 23,328
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing