We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient location for a nice, hospitable hotel”
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel
Ranked #74 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
708 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“A convenient location for a nice, hospitable hotel”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

A friendly staff welcomes you to the Bristol which is located just at the edge the Gaslamp
district and very close to the Mall. The room was very clean and a nice size. We ate
dinner at the hotel and enjoyed it. It was a blustery evening in San Diego and the warmth
of the restaurant tempted us to stay in. We ordered the Thursday night special prime rib and it was delicious. You won't go wrong at the Bristol. This is very convenient to the cruise ship
dock if you are embarking on a cruise. they offer free nuse of a computer in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larrchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    441
    115
    48
    40
See reviews for
168
416
73
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We found the hotel on google maps because we were looking for something that was central. We happened on this hotel, and what a find this was. The location is amazing - the transit store is next door so you can get the information you need and buy a pass. We opted for the 4 day pass (15$) because that was the number of days we were staying because we thought that would be easiest even if we didn't get full use of it. Well, the hotel is next to at least ten bus routes and two trolley lines which will take you directly to most tourist sites including Balboa park and the Zoo. You could easily easily walk to the gaslamp district and down to the harbor. We got our money's worth in that pass.
The hotel itself was clean, quiet and friendly. The rooms were of a good size with a little seating area. The décor is black and white with a touch of red which is a welcome change from the usual blandness of hotel chains. It actually lent itself to a bit of a home feel.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - from the time we arrived to the time we left they made us feel as if our satisfaction was really of concern to them. This was really one of the nicest hotel stays we have ever had.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annick58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed with our 3 kids here and loved it. Fantastic staff, clean rooms and a great location. The associate who checked us in was kind and helpful. Totally recommend!

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room......3rd floor........great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyStarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel was in a good location, close to bus and transit, within walking distance to numerous resturants and a seven eleven with liquor was right outside, the mall wasnt too far and depending how far you would like to walk, you can walk all the way to the water. The hotel was beautiful, marble floors and nice lounging area in lobby with free computer which was nice. didnt use the resturant which seemed to always be empty. the room itself was very clean and cozy.. a little small but it was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. the HOTEL itself was excellant. the only reason I am giving this hotel a decent rating is because of an incident that happened to me (that may not even happen to you) we visited some friends in CA and when they visited the hotel they used to valet and came up to our room and somehow i found out that they didnt pay for the valet, they actually just charged it to the room. i felt that was extremely rude considering if my friends didnt tell me they charged it.. i would have been stuck paying the valet fee of $30!!!!!!!!! it wasnt my car and i didnt even know they had came to the hotel and i didnt tell them or authorize anyone to charge anything to MY room. i felt that was very horrendous that just anyone could place a charge on your room that you are stuck with.. does that also mean that you can just pull up to valet for the evening in DT san diego and park for free at the hotel and just "charge it" to someone elses room without even knowing them and no one would ever know. i didnt like that AT ALL. other than that i would return, but because of that, i dont know if i would without checking out other hotels first?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Ktina0126,

Thank you your valued comments concerning your excellent impressions of our hotel, I will pass these along to our Executive Housekeeper and her staff. It is extremely “heartwarming” to receive favorable comments especially when our team works so hard to provide you with the best possible comforts and services. We sincerely appreciate that acknowledgement.

Concerning your valet experience, I sincerely apologize. I assure you that this incident is the exception and not our rule. I am sure that there may have been unusual circumstances that prompted this and as of this writing I am looking into this matter with our parking valet company and we will safeguard against any reoccurring incidents of this nature. Thank you for bring this to my attention.

We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to San Diego.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Gregory Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I happened upon the Bristol in an online search, and was happy with the price point. When I arrived, I was extremely impressed with the entire property. The room was perfect, exactly what I was hoping for, tasteful and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Turns out it is one block from the county courthouse, which was where I had to be. Horton Plaza (shopping center) is also within walking distance. I've already booked my return trip here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouffard69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 279 in San Diego
1,367 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 279 in San Diego
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel
Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4890
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,513 - ₹ 18,447
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel, a premier boutique hotel in downtown San Diego, offers extreme comfort and friendly service whether your travel is for business or leisure. The Bristol Hotel is a fresh take on modern style - our sophisticated atmosphere awaits you in our contemporary lobby and throughout our eclectically styled San Diego hotel rooms. This modern flair continues throughout the lounge and banquet facilities and is sure to be a perfect choice for business, leisure, group functions, meetings and special events. This downtown hotel’s superb location is within blocks of the Gaslamp Quarter, fine dining, world-class shopping at Horton Plaza, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Convention Center, Petco Park, Theatre District, East Village, Little Italy, San Diego Concourse and the San Diego Bay. This pet-friendly San Diego hotel is only a short drive to any of the many sunny beaches, the San Diego Zoo, and SeaWorld. The Bristol Hotel is one of only seven hotels in San Diego to receive the Green Eco-Leaf Rating and is also a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing