We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, friendly and clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #42 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient, friendly and clean!”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stay here frequently when traveling from out of town to visit my daughter who is attending SDSU. It is very convenient to the university and provides good value compared to the other hotels located off of I-8. The staff welcomes me back each time I return and have been very helpful with directions to Costco and places to eat nearby. The rooms are more than adequate to meet my needs and CLEAN. I have already booked a room in May to help my daughter move home for the summer!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLM055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Customer Service Agent at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Lamplighter Inn at SDSU. We appreciate your feedback. It is always very helpful to know what pleases our guests so that we can continue to provide the service that you expect. On behalf of the staff, we are grateful and honored that you continue to choose us when coming to San Diego. We take pride in saying that when it comes to customer service, our entire team is ready to serve and happy to help our guests plan their day or answer any questions. We have put together a guide called the “Inn-siders Guide” with suggestions picked by our staff of some places to visit, restaurants to try, and things to do that we especially like. Feel free to pick one up when you visit in May.

Again, thank you for choosing the Lamplighter, and we will see you soon!

Sincerely,
Alex- Customer Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    319
    81
    20
    10
See reviews for
466
238
59
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Cordial, helpful, considerate staff. Clean & accommodating -- Needed help with amenities following surgery -- all HC-accessible rooms already booked, so management provided step-stool to access tall beds, and provided a sturdy shower-chair for tub.
Only downside: no refrigerator in downstairs QQ rooms, cannot safely install in downstairs rooms.

Breakfast room remodel is planned, and that's good because this 1st timer was a bit confused. I expected one long buffet counter-top, and I didn't see the items were at 3 different walls. Once I caught-on, I realized had more people been there the separation of categories cut self-service wait-time.
Kitchen attendant, front-desk-clerk, and the hotel manager kept eyes on area’s cleanliness, but some of the guests needed lessons in “Self-Maid” manners.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anaheim_Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Anaheim_Marilyn,

We are pleased you took the time to write a review on your stay. We strive to make each and every guest feel comfortable, no matter what the situation. I apologize there not being refrigerators in the downstairs double queen rooms. Hopefully on your next visit to San Diego you will give us another try and we will be able to offer you an accessible room, as these do have small refrigerators.

From all of our staff, Thank You for choosing the Lamplighter.

Sincerely, Len Regan/Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Looking forward to good nights rest, guess what, desk attendant calls 12:30 am to advise me they undercharged me for the room an additional .05 was needed? What^ are you kidding me I was sleeping. Next morning manager was unapologetic and very arrogant. Add insult to injury, the breakfast nook was filthy dirty.

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MsMinnie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Owner at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear MsMinnie2 - Are you sure you stayed at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU in San Diego? I ask because what you describe is just not us. Our night staff has been with us for many years, are highly trained, and on their own, have good judgment and common sense. They would never call a guest after midnight, let alone to charge them .05 cents. We don’t even process charges until the guest checks-out. That has been our policy for over 50 years!

Our front desk staff is welcoming, reliable, dedicated and they go out of their way for our guests. Never would they be described as unapologetic and arrogant! One of the major reasons we rate highly on TripAdvisor IS because of the consistent, excellent customer service we provide.

In addition, we rate very highly with our guests on TripAdvisor, Yelp, and on our Best Western inspections because our property is clean! Our housekeeping and maintenance staff works hard to maintain our breakfast room, guestrooms, and grounds spotless.

I really feel that you may have reviewed the wrong hotel. Please contact me if you wish to discuss this further. I would love the opportunity to talk.

John Lyon
Proud Owner
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband and I have stayed here many times over the past 5 years when we visit our family in the area, and we really like this place. The rooms are extremely clean. If it's available we try to get the mini-suite, which is comfortable and spacious with sofa, comfy chairs, microwave and fridge, and an excellent wi-fi connection. Overall, the place is quiet and well taken care of, with pretty flowers and a super-clean heated pool, and the staff is always extremely helpful and nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear Ruth,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your loyalty, and many kind words about us are very much appreciated by myself and our staff. Our team is dedicated to providing superior customer service, and being recognized for this is just a wonderful added bonus. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely, Len Regan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed here for three nights. Overall, it was a pretty good hotel. I wouldn't recommend staying here without a car though (free parking!) as it is one mile from the nearest tram stop. The continental breakfast has pretty standard food, but there's lots of variety. Lots of recycling here, which is also nice.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmarynowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank You for taking the time to write this review about your stay. I completely agree that a car makes it much easier to get around San Diego. And since we are conveniently located between two major freeways you can be downtown or at Sea World & Zoo within 15 to 20 minutes. We are currently in the process of upgrading our breakfast & lobby. So for the time being our breakfast items are prepackaged. However, all the same items we had in the past are still being served, except for the waffles. If you make a return trip to San Diego, we hope to see you again.

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#108 of 278 in San Diego
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Property: Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,522 - ₹ 18,082
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing