We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Property! Elegant!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #48 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property! Elegant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Let me start by staying, I did not stay in the sleeping room here. But I did do all the negotiating for my colleagues stay during our conference closeby. I did visit the hotel and view the public areas.

Beautiful elegant hotel -- Very nice art gallery and dining on lobby level. Nice meeting rooms downstairs.

Was so happy to get the Fed. Gov't rate for my colleagues to stay at this superb hotel - when we could no longer get the rate at the Westin Gaslamp around the corner. It was an easy walk to the conference and they had a beautiful hotel to come back to in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvenueFoch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    624
    217
    73
    61
See reviews for
404
945
144
635
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I spent a few days at the US Grant and had a blast.
Quick check-in, staff used my name every time, food was probably the highlight of my stay.
Kids n wife loved the food.
Staff provides excellent service.
Great location for gas lamp.
Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yousouf j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

After my fiance and I left another hotel that had misrepresented itself on-line, we decided to drive around San Diego a bit to see what was available. We recognized the U.S. Grant from an on-line review and decided to walk in. And thank God we did!!!! The service was simply sensational. When we walked toward the check in counter and met Raymond Morales we knew we were in good hands. Raymond said there was nothing available but he was able to work some magic and immediately was able to accommodate us. He (as well as the other staff members) could not be more helpful. The rooms were lovely and spacious, the hotel was impeccable. So helpful and friendly they all were that we decided to have dinner at the hotel even after Joseph the concierge had given us many options to choose from. Excellent choice. Their restaurant (I forget the name) was fantastic, Sergio (the waiter) was knowledgeable, provided excellent service. Dinner was amazing. I could not recommend this hotel more than what I am doing right now. If you are a young couple looking for a classy, beautiful yet affordable hotel in the middle of the hip and happening area of San Diego yet want to feel you want to be transported to another era where service, class and beauty rank much higher than anywhere else in a big city, this is the place for you. If I could give it 10 stars I would.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review on your recent stay!

We are all overjoyed to share this wonderful review of your experience in the historic US GRANT, A Luxury Collection Hotel. It appears that you received the full treatment from the Front Desk to the room to the acclaimed Grant Grill Restaurant and Lounge. Each of the people mentioned that made a memorable impact will be celebrated for their achievement!

Please do come visit us again soon and congratulations on your engagement! It appears that you have a lifetime of memories in the making and we were happy to be there for this brief sojourn.

Sincerely,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Wonderful palace with large impeccably decorated and furnished rooms. We booked a superior room (top floor, jacuzzi) - the bath tub was really big! All members of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Great cocktails at the bar and appetizers. Breakfast is à la carte and is very good. The hotel is perfectly positioned for all downtown attractions.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eggegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Number 1 in the long list of things I liked - the bed! The bed was ridiculously comfortable and I had the most comfortable sleep ever there. There was a little street noise but it couldn't penetrate the lovely sleep experience. You could just nestle between soft white sheets and top that off with a puffy crispy-white duvet.
My second favorite feature was the downtown location. Tons of restaurants and shopping are within an easy walk.
Throughout the hotel has the elegance of times gone by, but it is a preserved and comfortable elegance. Everything looks fresh and works well, probably due to the $80 million dollar renovation in the 1980's. Outside the intricate facade of hotel is appealing in ways newer hotels aren't. It has so many pretty details that say "come inside". The lobby is inviting - I loved the checkered floors leading into the main lobby where comfy blue velvet chairs rest on cushy carpets under a spectacular row of large crystal chandeliers. We spend a fair amount of time just hanging out in this grand lobby.
The Concierge answered my multitude of questions with thoroughness and grace.
The stay in this hotel was a very pleasant experience all round.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#67 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,800 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,280 - ₹ 44,347
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing