We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This is a conference center...not a typical resort.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town and Country San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #200 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Quinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This is a conference center...not a typical resort.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Think of a colllege campus on steroids -- there are multiple hotel towers and separate wings. All room access is exterior corridor style. LOTS of walking, with two major conference center buildings and numerous meeting buildings. I never did find the Spa or bar. Rooms are very clean and real maintained, but design tends to be more formal...many of our attendees referred to expecting to see the Rat Pack. However, the gardens are fabulous and the staff is superb. Wait staff supported formal dinner functions flawlessly, and no matter where you went, someone was offering to be of assistance. AV support was excellent, lighting was good, and support of a large food show was very good. One hint: Sinks in bathrooms are REALLY low; I'm only 5'2" and had to bend to brush my teeth, so if you're tall, expect to do a LOT of bending over! :-) Plenty of hot water however. The pillows are awful - think ancient and hard!

Room Tip: There are stairs everywhere on this property so if you need accessibility, let staff know before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJPVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoHotel, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
First of all, thank you for the wonderful comments on the staff, gardens, your dinner functions and the audiovisual team. We appreciate your kind comments. Regarding the rooms, there are two high-rise towers and two story garden bungalows, some of which open directly outside versus an inside corridor. We have a couple of bars on property and the Bella Tosca Day Spa is really somewhere to visit. Due to the size of the property we do have signs throughout and any of our employees would be more than happy to assist you with directions. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate all your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    867
    726
    480
    457
See reviews for
667
408
181
1,703
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yokosuka, Japan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel is obviously an outdated resort, but the rooms and grounds were still very clean and well kept, just looked like the rooms were out of the 80s. I would rather have that than a dirty room. The hotel staff was nice. My only complaint is that this hotel has a terrible parking situation. It shares parking with the convention center, so be prepared to drive around looking for a spot when there is an event. It was also a very confusing layout. These are my reasons it got a 4 star rather than a 5. Parking should be free if you are a hotel guest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the convention center, they are closer to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IRoseA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoHotel, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding our cleanliness and hotel staff. Regarding the parking, we apologize that there was not enough during your stay with us. We do not normally have a parking situation as there is parking all around the property, and even under the convention center. Due to the size of the property, it is spread out, which is why we have the bellmen driving the bell carts to assist guests in getting to their sleeping or meeting rooms. Again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed here during a conference and was excited about staying at a place that was going to be so nice. The webpage does not look like its webpage at all. The rooms are old and the hotel grounds are very large and confusing. The 1950's never left this hotel, the 1950's floral and gold chandeliers are in need of a great deal of upgrading. There are tents in the back parking lot that hold the "old broken" furniture and mattresses that the hotel owners will not let the hotel get rid of. It is like having a garbage dump right in your face during your time at the hotel. The staff is great though and attempted to make up for the shabby hotel. They offered discounted attraction tickets and even drove us to the store for free.

Room Tip: choose a room at the different hotel. The curtains in the rooms are not light blocking and you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyAlaxParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoHotel, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
We apologize that you were not satisfied with your visit to the Town and Country. We have various types of rooms and regret that you were not put into one our more newly renovated rooms. Thank you for your comments on our staff and yes, the concierge, does provide discounted attraction tickets and can also provide preferred tee times to the neighboring golf course. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

e stayed at the Town and Country for three days, and the room was adequate. It was clean and the beds were made regularly, but there was little or no hot water in the bathroom sink. Plenty in the shower, but washing up was cold.

We ate at the cafe three three times out of necessity, but ate elsewhere after that. The cafe was loud, understaffed, and overpriced, but the manager Anna was all over herself willing to try to make up for the terrible food and service we received. Unfortunately, we were too burned to return and try again. The deli served Starbucks coffee and was open until 10PM each night. Good.

My biggest surprise? When my husband developed a severe toothache in the middle of the night, they had NOTHING at the front desk - no aspirin, tylenol, Advil...nothing. We had to crawl out at 2:30 A.M. and drive to an AM/PM to buy ibuprofen. I have never stayed at a hotel that didn't have a stock of basics available - even for a price.

All that said, I might try it again in future. Maybe.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoHotel, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your Tripadvisor review. I would like to apologize for the lack of hot water in your restroom sink and for the obvious understaffing in the restaurant. These items are not acceptable and will be addressed with both our maintenance staff and our food and beverage manager. Unfortunately, it is hotel policy not to provide any type of medication. There would be liability if something happened to our guests, such as an illergic reaction. We do have 2 gift shops on property, however they were closed when you needed the medication. We are so very sorry that you and and your husband had to drive to the neighboring store in the middle of the night. We do hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I always stay at Town & Country for business; however I can't wait to bring my family for vacation! The staff is always friendly and professional. The resort is centrally located in San Diego with Downtown, Old Town, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo and beach cities all within about a 10 minute drive! Fashion Valley, an upscale - open air shopping mall, is within walking distance as well a Riverwalk Golf Course. The pools at Town & Country are clean, inviting and relaxing. The property is large and beautifully landscaped. It's like a secret resort getaway in the heart of San Diego. The rooms are always well kept with great views and the food is always OUTSTANDING. Whether you order room service, dine at Kelly's Steakhouse or have an afternoon lunch at Trellises, the service and food is always top notch. I will be back soon, next time hopefully the family is with me!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieVanPelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoHotel, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We look forward to hosting you and your family on your next visit to San Diego. It was our pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#101 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#144 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Property: Town and Country San Diego
Address: 500 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,058 - ₹ 16,304
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a spa, fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing