We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, excellent location, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Inn and Suites
Ranked #187 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
London
1 review
“Friendly service, excellent location, clean rooms”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Marina in December 2011 for a couple of nights. The young gent who runs the place was extremely helpful and polite. The location is great, just by Little Italy station so accessible to all sights and downtown San Diego. The noise level wasn't as bad as some people have stated, I had no cause for complaint and slept through both nights without problem. The rooms were very clean, no idiots messing around outside like in some hotels I've stayed in. In general a safe part of town. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: The internet connection on ground floor room seems to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JH2012London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thank you for your review, we’re glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one. It’s always good to know that a guest has left our hotel satisfied with our staff and room quality. Our location was chosen with that purpose in mind, convenient and accessible to all sights.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    173
    95
    31
    55
See reviews for
87
154
48
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. It's not the Ritz, but it's clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. It's in a convenient location within a few minutes' walk of Little Italy, and about half an hour's walk to the Gaslamp Quarter. It's also very close to the airport. The staff are super-helpful. Breakfast is included: it's OK but not amazing. There's a trolley line close by which creates a bit of noise, but it wasn't noisy enough to disturb my sleep. Overall I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff always strives to help and give outstanding customer service. And we aim to have reasonable prices. Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again in your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, (before and after our cruise). We could not have been happier. The rooms were great, clean, and a decent size. The staff was wonderful, even accomodating us for an early check in when we got off the ship. Being one of the few hotels in San Diego where you can get a smoking room, it was a fantastic choice. If we ever go back to San Diego we will stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hllindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
We are so happy to hear that you had an amazing experience at our hotel. We strive to maintain an outstanding cleanness in our rooms, great customer service, being helpful and accommodating.

Thank you for writing your review and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Our college rugby team recently booked 8 rooms for two nights at the Marina Inn & Suites in San Diego for a tournament. The hotel staff at the front desk were really great to work with and accomodated our late arrival and early departure each morning by setting up the breakfast early for us. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the price was reasonable. It is only a two block walk to Little Italy and lots of great restaurants and a $7 cab ride to the Gas Lamp Dist. A great place to stay for the price!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to know that you and your college rugby team had a great stay with us. It is with great pleasure that we go out of our way to please our guests and make your experience with us, incredible.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you and your team again sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The rooms were very neat and clean. The bathrooms could have been a bit bigger. The service was excellent. The people at the front desk were very friendly and extremely helpful. Well definitely stay there again when in San Diego.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is glad to provide you with amazing and helpful customer service. As well as providing a clean and neat room.

We look forward to seeing you again in your trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#178 of 278 in San Diego
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#136 of 278 in San Diego
652 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#69 of 278 in San Diego
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Property: Marina Inn and Suites
Address: 1943 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2217
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,840 - ₹ 17,969
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marina Inn and Suites, conveniently located next to the San Diego Int'l Airport, Lindbergh Field. Only 300 yards from the beautiful bay of San Diego, our phenomenal location and customer service is exceptionally outstanding! Just two blocks from little Italy rich with restaurants and beauty, and a few short miles from the Gaslamp District,which features an abundance of restaurants, night clubs, shopping and museums. If you are a sports lover you will be just minutes from PETCO PARK home of the San Diego Padres. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Microwave and Refrigerator available upon request, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing