We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location & staff; resort fees questionable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westgate Hotel
Ranked #28 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location & staff; resort fees questionable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This ornately decorated hotel is in a great location - we walked to Gaslamp Quarter as well as down to the waterfront ,and there is a trolley stop right beside the hotel if this is too much walking for some. Bed was firm and comfortable, shower pressure was awesome, lovely bathroom area, mini-fridge handy, and room quiet. Any staff we spoke to were pleasant, and the room was nicely cleaned and decorated (not our normal taste, but lavish style in keeping with the hotel's theme and fun for a change), with chocolates delivered in the early evening. Yes, we heard some low-level city noise, but, well, it's in the middle of the city, so....no trouble for us. No view from our room, but we were out too much to worry about that.

Big perk: We arrived early in the day and were allowed early check-in by helpful front desk / concierge--- much appreciated (and not expected)! We did not use room service, but the prices seemed quite reasonable. We saw some guests enjoying an afternoon tea complete with harpist.

I was originally not going to recommend this hotel because of the $15 daily resort fees. I am not clear what these fees paid for, exactly.... We were told this covered things like the spa, coffee, wifi, etc.--- yet most of these are normally included in the regular daily rate of hotels 2 star and up (in my experience). I didn't see a particularly luxurious spa area (correct me if I am wrong...) that could justify the fee. Coffee in room was barely passable with normal artificial creamers, etc., although herbal tea was nice touch. It would be better, in my opinion, just to inflate the daily rate so guests were clear from the onset what they were paying per day. Alternatively, the hotel could add more to justify this fee. (I'm not certain if this resort fee applies to all hotel guests or just those who had reduced rates - we booked through Hotwire..)

We likely would not return as we do like a pool/jacuzzi area, and I don't understand what the $15 fee per day pays for. It reads as a bit of a cash grab...

If pool/jacuzzi not important to you, the fee is a non-issue, and you appreciate a lavish decorating style (French, 18th century, I think?) this hotel is recommended for location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojofliessouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    285
    85
    37
    19
See reviews for
141
307
66
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Spent three days in January on an upper floor room, facing East. Since our lower level room was not clean at check in we were upgraded. Nicely appointed, good bed, relaxing furniture. Nice view. Bath, particularly the shower, needed to be updated, with new overhead faucet needed. Interesting how two rooms are reached via foyer room from the hallway. Lots of noise when people across from us opened/closed door. Noisy from street noise and sirens in the night. We ate in the restaurant on Friday night. Surprisingly good. Very expensive daily parking. The hotel was built in the 70's and was opulant in its days.

Room Tip: Hold out for an upper floor room. Save money by parking in a lot across the street. Try the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burkeohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I was on business at the Westgate and was pleased with the distance to the convention center; not close, but not so far that it was a problem. The lobby is beautiful and reeks of a long ago Europe; most of the staff was interning from hotel school and it showed.
My room was large, the bathroom was gorgeous and there was actually a bench to sit on in the bath area to apply makeup. The entryway from the room to the outside hall buffered hall noise and was much appreciated.
All of the above would make the Westgate a lovely hotel and a "hope I get to stay here again" type of place.
HOWEVER......what made the Westgate not only special but superior in my mind is the fact that the staff takes the second step.
I had asked for a wake up call ( that is delivered by a human voice with a delightful german accent ) but got up prior and hopped in the shower. Didn't even think twice.
I didn't hear the phone ring and carried on with my toilette until the door knocked somewhat firmly. Grousing to myself for being interupted, I cracked the door and it was a desk attendant that had COME TO THE ROOM TO SEE IF I WAS OK,,,,,,,,What??? you mean someone thought...gosh....is she on the floor? is she oversleeping etc?

Major kudos to the Westgate.......top that Marriott....Westin...Hilton.....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethTulsa_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

The Westgate is the finest hotel I have ever had the privilege of staying in. It by far exceeded all of my expectations!! The employees were all very polite and accommodating.
Walking distance to the Gaslamp area and PETCO Park.
We had room service for Breakfast and it was very good!
Valet Parking.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I'm in my early thirties, single and travelling alone to San Diego for a vacation. I booked this 4-star hotel through Priceline for $80, which was an excellent deal. However, upon doing some research I realized there was a $15 resort fee, which includes free bottles of water in the room, wifi and use of their gym. Though I was surprised to hear they didn't have a pool, which I think is unfortunate. I mean which "resort" doesn't have a pool? Parking is also an additional $35, which is on the steeper end.

Overall, I enjoyed very much my stay at the Westgate Hotel. I had a room on the 14th floor and away from the elevators as other reviewers had suggested. The rooms were quite, large and felt very spacious, as was the washroom. Some people commented negatively on their beds, but I found them comfortable and they didn't bother me at all. Their nightly "turn-down" service was a nice, classy touch. Besides checking in and out, I didn't have many dealings with their staff but overall their service was friendly, polite and prompt. And finally, the location of the hotel was phenomenal, approximately 2 minute walk away from the Gaslamp district. I would certainly stay here again if I were in San Diego again.

Room Tip: As with any hotel, you can't go wrong with a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#51 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#50 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,685 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Property: The Westgate Hotel
Address: 1055 2nd Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4811
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,385 - ₹ 28,591
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing