We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, terrible airport noise and bad service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #118 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great view, terrible airport noise and bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This is definitely a case of the good, bad and the ugly. One one hand, the hotel is located immediately adjacent to the airport, which creates a really terrible situation for many rooms which are subjected to ongoing jet noise. The side of the hotel which faces the airport and the eastern most wing is close to the point of takeoff on the main runway ..so the jet noise starts very early in the morning (6-7AM) and continues to late at night (11-12pm). If you really want peace and quiet, don't choose this hotel!!! I have stayed at airport hotels in other parts of the world, and this is the worst example I know of. The one saving grace for this location may be a view, if you happen to have a room facing the bay, you can enjoy a nice view of the marina and downtown San Diego skyline.
There are numerous other service issues which plague this hotel, ranging from inadequate attention to staffing at the front desk (particularly for Starwood Preferred guests) which lead to overly long waits for handling any issue, problems with daily room service for upkeep of rooms, and problems with card key access to the rooms. It turned out that I needed to get my room key cards reissued every day, since almost every day they stopped working for unknown reasons.
Security finally decided to change the entire lock on the door to solve the problem! Most of the staff are in need of additional training. For club level guests, morning food service is monotonous and only of average quality.

Room Tip: request bay view and western most wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drwizardsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear drwizardsea,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to learn of the drawbacks you experienced while staying with us. Being located in close proximity to the San Diego Airport makes for an easy commute in our complimentary shuttle, but unfortunately does make for some airport related noise that can normally be avoided by closing the balcony doors in the guestrooms. We are interested in connecting with you to learn more details of the service challenges you mentioned and your room number to research the noise levels you experienced. If you have a moment, please email me at Daniela.Delgado@Sheraton.com. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to hear from you soon.
Warm Regards,
Daniela Delgado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,097
    1,270
    689
    367
    219
See reviews for
785
859
183
1,279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is a very nice property close to the airport and by a marina in lovely San Diego.
My husband and I have stayed here on previous occasions - usually overnighting before a cruise.
This trip we spent 7 days at the hotel with a room overlooking the marina. Previous reviewers are correct that there are two distinct properties so advised to check which one is most suitable.
As it is a little out of the downtown area - you either need to rent a car (but be forewarned overnight on site parking is $22.00 per night) or take the shuttle to the airport which runs frequently and is 7 minutes away and then catch the 992 city bus which takes you by the cruise ships and then turns to downtown and the trolley connections. Its fun if you don't mind public transportation and for $5.00 you can purchase a day pass which you can even use to get to Sea World/the wonderful Zoo or Mission Beach.
The service at the hotel is very good - the front desk personnel were always friendly.
If you have a breakfast package you do get a breakfast buffet daily. The staff there varies and the service isn't great. But for OJ, coffee and a croissant its fine.
The main hotel has a beautiful pool and complete fitness centre. The other hotel has a pool
but the fitness centre is undergoing renovations and will be reopening in the future.
All in all this is a great spot for visiting San Diego and area. If you can get a reasonable rate and are staying long enough to get the special breakfast buffet its a good deal for the area.

Room Tip: There was some noise as there are lots of groups staying there and they come and go. But overall th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karlowsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear karlowsj,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us during your San Diego getaway. Taking our complimentary shuttle to the airport to catch the city bus is a great way to explore the city so we are glad you took this option. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will visit us again for a future stay.
Warm Regards,
Daniela Delgado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I work for Sheraton Hotel myself, and I absolutely loved this hotel..its in a such a beautiful location, the view from my room and plus from the entire hotel was amazing! I was upgraded to 12th floor with the club lounge access which was fantastic with a great breakfast every morning. Elsa, from the club lounge was so friendly and nice. The service was outstanding. Helpful staff and very accommodating. Mark (i believe his name was) from the front desk was very friendly, had good sense of humor and extremely helpful. I will definitely come back if I ever visit San Diego again.

Room Tip: Marina tower, higher floor is a plus. However, view is amazing from any location of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Pinar B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, including out location, Club Lounge, and friendly associates. Thank you for mentioning Mark and Elsa. We will share your kind comments with them and they will be very pleased to know they made your stay special. Thank you again for your recommendation and we are looking forward to your future visits.
Warm Regards,
Daniela Delgado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I travel to San Diego often on business and finally settled on the Sheraton Marina as my home base when in the city. The staff has always treated me well and I look forward to my visits as this has become something of a second home for me. I could stay at another Sheraton in the downtown area, but I really like coming out onto the balcony and either looking out over the marina, or the city lights, depending on which side of the hotel I am on. The standard king size rooms are more spacious than a number of the other San Diego hotels I have stayed at and the beds are quite comfy. I feel more like I am on vacation, not working, when I walk into the room.

Although the restaurant doesn't ever seem to crowded I really like the food; the pork loin, ahi stack and scallops are my favorite.

Room Tip: Sometimes the airport can be pretty noisy when planes start taking off at 6am. Usually, this has on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pulawai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We are from the San Diego area and It was our wedding weekend. I decided to book a suite for me and my husband along with 2 additional rooms for my friends due to the location of where we were having our wedding. When we checked in we were advised that we were entitled to a $50 per day food and beverage credit that could be used in any of their restaurants and the mini bar in our room due to the package that we had booked. I had ten reverified with the representative at the front desk that it did included the mini bar in our room and she said yes. When I received our bill via e-mail, I found that we were billed for using the mini bar. I then contacted the front desk at the hotel directly and I was advised that they could not make any adjustments and I would have to contact their accounting department the next day because they were closed. I then had asked the front desk representative if I had checked out face to face and had looked at the bill prior to leaving and had seen the charges, would she had corrected the bill at that time? She said yes they would have but because the bill had already been sent via e-mail she could not credit the account. Just a note. During our entire conversation not once did she apologize. Ridiculous! The next day I contacted their accounting department and was advised that the girl at the front desk should not have advised me of that because the mini bars where owned by an outside company. Huh? At the end of that conversation the accounting department agreed to credit my card.

Another issue during our stay there was the hotel had young adults staying there which we heard were from some fraternities. The first night of our stay they played music but ended because we figured they had gone out somewhere else to party. The second night which was the day of our wedding, we arrived in our room at around 11:45 p.m. only to hear loud partying going on above us. My husband then when out on our balcony and looked up to their balcony and asked politely to hold it down because it was almost midnight and then were other guests in the hotel. The group then gave him some back talk so he advised he was going to make a call. He then contacted the front desk and advised them of the loud noises. They told him they would check into to it. He then told the front desk he did not want it checked into but that he wanted it taken care of. Some time then passed and the noise seemed to be getting louder. My husband then contacted the front desk again and advised them if it was not taken care of that he would just contact the police by dialing 911 and that the hotel could just deal with the police when they got there. He was then told no, don't do that and said they could transfer him to the hotel manager which they did only to have him remain on hold listening to music. He then hung up and dialed an outside line and called 911 since there was absolutely no urgency on the hotels part to assist us. After my husband dialed 911 and received their recording he hung up and figured the police would just call the hotel back. Immediately after he hung up the phone rang and some gentleman said that he was coming up to our room. We then let him and a security person in the room so they could come on and hear the noise we were encountering. They went out to the balcony and then the loud noise began again. I told the gentlemen that is what we have been dealing with . Then one of the gentlemen made the most ridiculous comment. He said it was a fraternity. I said what does that have to do with it as if because it was a fraternity they could make all the noise they wanted to. They then said they would go up there and after they did the noise had stopped.

This hotel has no concern for their guests and no concern at all for customer service. We could not believe we had to go through all of this during our wedding weekend. We travel often and have stayed at many, many hotels but this is the worst experience we have ever been through. I do have to say this hotel does have great views of the bay and downtown but if you are looking for views and not customer service and concerns for their guests, then go ahead and take your chances by having a terrible experience at this hotel. We would never stay here again and never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Susan C,
Please accept my apologies for a terribly disappointing recent stay with us. Clearly we fell short on several levels, and truly regret the experience you had while staying with us. I would like to personally speak with you and attempt to make things right. If possible would you call me so that we may have a chance to speak?
Kind regards,
Daniela Delgado
(619)692-2281
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#57 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#119 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Property: The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,542 - ₹ 35,686
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing