We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and lovely facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #116 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff and lovely facilities”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I travel to San Diego often on business and finally settled on the Sheraton Marina as my home base when in the city. The staff has always treated me well and I look forward to my visits as this has become something of a second home for me. I could stay at another Sheraton in the downtown area, but I really like coming out onto the balcony and either looking out over the marina, or the city lights, depending on which side of the hotel I am on. The standard king size rooms are more spacious than a number of the other San Diego hotels I have stayed at and the beds are quite comfy. I feel more like I am on vacation, not working, when I walk into the room.

Although the restaurant doesn't ever seem to crowded I really like the food; the pork loin, ahi stack and scallops are my favorite.

Room Tip: Sometimes the airport can be pretty noisy when planes start taking off at 6am. Usually, this has on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pulawai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,120
    1,288
    701
    375
    222
See reviews for
799
878
183
1,308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We are from the San Diego area and It was our wedding weekend. I decided to book a suite for me and my husband along with 2 additional rooms for my friends due to the location of where we were having our wedding. When we checked in we were advised that we were entitled to a $50 per day food and beverage credit that could be used in any of their restaurants and the mini bar in our room due to the package that we had booked. I had ten reverified with the representative at the front desk that it did included the mini bar in our room and she said yes. When I received our bill via e-mail, I found that we were billed for using the mini bar. I then contacted the front desk at the hotel directly and I was advised that they could not make any adjustments and I would have to contact their accounting department the next day because they were closed. I then had asked the front desk representative if I had checked out face to face and had looked at the bill prior to leaving and had seen the charges, would she had corrected the bill at that time? She said yes they would have but because the bill had already been sent via e-mail she could not credit the account. Just a note. During our entire conversation not once did she apologize. Ridiculous! The next day I contacted their accounting department and was advised that the girl at the front desk should not have advised me of that because the mini bars where owned by an outside company. Huh? At the end of that conversation the accounting department agreed to credit my card.

Another issue during our stay there was the hotel had young adults staying there which we heard were from some fraternities. The first night of our stay they played music but ended because we figured they had gone out somewhere else to party. The second night which was the day of our wedding, we arrived in our room at around 11:45 p.m. only to hear loud partying going on above us. My husband then when out on our balcony and looked up to their balcony and asked politely to hold it down because it was almost midnight and then were other guests in the hotel. The group then gave him some back talk so he advised he was going to make a call. He then contacted the front desk and advised them of the loud noises. They told him they would check into to it. He then told the front desk he did not want it checked into but that he wanted it taken care of. Some time then passed and the noise seemed to be getting louder. My husband then contacted the front desk again and advised them if it was not taken care of that he would just contact the police by dialing 911 and that the hotel could just deal with the police when they got there. He was then told no, don't do that and said they could transfer him to the hotel manager which they did only to have him remain on hold listening to music. He then hung up and dialed an outside line and called 911 since there was absolutely no urgency on the hotels part to assist us. After my husband dialed 911 and received their recording he hung up and figured the police would just call the hotel back. Immediately after he hung up the phone rang and some gentleman said that he was coming up to our room. We then let him and a security person in the room so they could come on and hear the noise we were encountering. They went out to the balcony and then the loud noise began again. I told the gentlemen that is what we have been dealing with . Then one of the gentlemen made the most ridiculous comment. He said it was a fraternity. I said what does that have to do with it as if because it was a fraternity they could make all the noise they wanted to. They then said they would go up there and after they did the noise had stopped.

This hotel has no concern for their guests and no concern at all for customer service. We could not believe we had to go through all of this during our wedding weekend. We travel often and have stayed at many, many hotels but this is the worst experience we have ever been through. I do have to say this hotel does have great views of the bay and downtown but if you are looking for views and not customer service and concerns for their guests, then go ahead and take your chances by having a terrible experience at this hotel. We would never stay here again and never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Susan C,
Please accept my apologies for a terribly disappointing recent stay with us. Clearly we fell short on several levels, and truly regret the experience you had while staying with us. I would like to personally speak with you and attempt to make things right. If possible would you call me so that we may have a chance to speak?
Kind regards,
Daniela Delgado
(619)692-2281
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Fullerton, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We called on Saturday a.m. to see if there was any way we could check in at noon since we were finishing a 200 mile relay race and were looking forward to showering. The person who answered the phone was very rude and said, "you booked through Priceline, so we won't do any special favors for you." I wasn't aware booking through Priceline made you a second class citizen! The fun continued when we realized the hotel had booked hundreds of college students who ran up and down the halls at all hours of the night. The guys were urinating off the balcony into the pool below, and throwing cups of beer. I also found our bathroom was not clean, and the hotel was dated. The location is nice (view of Marina), but I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leahm07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear leahm07,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We value all of our guests regardless of how they book their room, and please accept our sincere apologies as the response you mentioned is unacceptable and certainly not what we want to convey to our guests. If you have a moment, please contact me at your earliest convenience at Daniela.Delgado@Sheraton.com so we may learn more details of your stay and follow up with a training opportunity for our team. Please note that our security team has been made aware of the noise and activity that occurred and is in the process of an investigation.Thank you again for your feedback and we are looking forward to hearing from you.
Warm Regards,
Daniela Delgado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our room was very nice. We enjoyed the balcony overlooking San Diego Bay. We stayed in the Bay Tower versus the Marina Tower. We didn't realize they were two separate buildings when we booked. We looked forward to the Starbucks in the lobby of the hotel but it was in the Marina tower building about half a mile down the road. There was Starbucks in the rooms with the coffee pot - single cup brewer. They offered an option to go green, not get fresh towels etc. everyday and we received a $5.00 coupon for use in the hotel restaurants and Starbucks. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

Very easy access to lots of attractions: Old Town, down town area, Balboa park. There is a great trolley service that runs all through the city around $35 for the day. You can get on and off all day long. Well worth the price.

Room Tip: We liked the Bay view room. We could see the cruise ships and other boats going out to sea and we a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamH881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I just returned from staying at this hotel with a friend for one night. The hotel itself is very nice and the rooms are quite large with very comfortable beds. We did not use any of the hotels amenities such as wi-fi or the pool, so I can't say anything about that. The only area that should be pointed out to those looking at staying here is that it is very close to the airport. When the airport starts operating about 6:30 am you can really hear the jets taking off and landing. So if you are a light sleeper or want to sleep late, you may want to consider another option.

Room Tip: To help avoid airplane noise, I would request a room on the southern most wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flair4GoldBranin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#121 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Property: The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,949 - ₹ 28,354
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing